1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Mod Development

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by Robert Surcouf, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    No one commented this part:
    :dunno:
     
  2. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    I thought that the mills will be buildings of the cities, no improvements?
     
  3. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Yes, I have already finished it.
    (Just uploaded it to SVN.)

    And I have implemented them as buildings.
    (It is nothing more than a nice small addition, with no problems at all to be expected.)

    I thought that was ok for everybody. :confused:
     
  4. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Well. Not really. :confused:
    That's why I posted my reply. :dunno:
    So what shall we do?
     
  5. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Could we please leave it like this for Release 1.3 ?

    I really don't want to have any risks messing up AI balancing for building improvements at the moment.
     
  6. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Well I guess it's the easiest solution...
    But, I would still like the opinion of the team on the problem I related. There are still very few options on some hill plots. Do you agree or not?
     
  7. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    Currently we have the problem that the animation of the graphic will not work inside the city since in vanilla civ4 it is an improvement and needs a settler on its field....
     
  8. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    Should we also add a Russian orthodox priest for Russia?
     
  9. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    For the moment I have just renamed "Catholic Priest" to "Devout Priest".
    That would be ok for me. :dunno:
     
  10. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    Is this a special unit for Russia or did you rename the catholic priest for all?
     
  11. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It is the same Unit for France, Spain, Portugal and Russia.
    I just renamed it to "Devout Priest" so it fits for all of them.
     
  12. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Still no comment... :(

    I've got some help from Aeterna with the French translation.:king: I'll update the new files soon...
    We'll add him to the credit list.;) Thank you Aeterna! :goodjob:
     
  13. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I had already told my personal opinion about adding further improvements. :dunno:

    Please update to the newest revision first. :thumbsup:
    (There have been quite some changes in XMLs related to text.)

    Sure. :)
    Could you take care of the Credits in XML then ?
    I would take care of the Credits in the posts.
     
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @team:

    After playing a bit (for testing) I think I would rather have Road and Plastered Road requiring to be built one after the other. :think:

    Meaning, you first have to build Roads before you can build Plastered Roads on a Plot.
    (Basically Plastered Roads being an upgrade of Roads.)

    Currently you can build both right away.
    (So it is just a question of which investment you want to make.)

    Feedback ? :)

    Edit:
    I would have the code already ready.
     
  15. colonialfan

    colonialfan Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Sounds good to me.
     
  16. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    Sounds good.

    Can the KI handle it?
     
  17. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Yes. :)
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @team:

    New revision available in SVN. :)

    1. Improvements to Map Generation considering Placement of Natives.
    2. Some small general code improvements
    3. Changes to Plastered Roads as mentioned here.

    ------

    I suggest all team members get the new revision and start a new game, when playing / testing. :thumbsup:
    Otherwise, enjoy the vacation. :)

    Edit:
    During the next week I will do some relaxed testing and finetuning of things I notice.
     
  19. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    Great!

    By the way: Do the Russians start at the west coast of the New World?

    I'm currently not at home and cannot test it...
     
  20. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    No, currently they start on the east coast like all others.

    Having them start on the west coast:
    • Would have them automatically fulfill the Quest "Discover the Pacific". So it other Europeans never have a chance to fulfill that Quest.
    • Would not work on some scenarios anyways, if they are created to have only East Coast.
    • Would be a quite a bit of implementation effort due to the new "Randomized European Staring Locations" I had implemented for TAC.

    So maybe it might be implemented at some other point of time. :dunno:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page