1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Mod Development

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by Robert Surcouf, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    While having a mill building is interesting, I don't think it is a very good idea for the mill to simply give food to the city (as it doesn't make much sense for mills to create food out of thin air). I suppose a modifier to food production would be better.
     
  2. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Would also be ok for me. :)
    Although food in our mod is also created from Fish, Hunting and Butchering Livestock. :dunno:

    Edit:
    I think the +1 / +2 Food Bonus is less contradictory for Mills than increasing food production on Fishing, Hunting and Butchering.
    It would also guarantee, that the Buildings are only a small addition and don't get too overpowered.
    So I would rather stay with that.
     
  3. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Location:
    Germany
    This is a nice idea, but do we find good graphics for the mills?

    Shall the mills be a cits building? Do we have space enough for one more building in the city screen?
     
  4. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I think I have seen graphics for improvements, which we could use.
    And maybe we will also find normal building graphics from Civ4. :dunno:

    Yes.

    Yes.
    (As long as we don't give the mills working slots, it is no problem.)
     
  5. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Hi Will_Tell. How are you? ;)
    I like the Windmills and Watermills... However, I would rather have them as improvements (build by Pioneers). What do you think :dunno: ?
     
  6. Shoobs

    Shoobs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    How using Granary instead if mill?
     
  7. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I would rather have the mills. :dunno:

    Doing what ? :dunno:

    What use would they have, that other improvements don't already have ?
    Or do you want to do massive coding for them ?
    How would you avoid problems with AI balancing of that improvement ?

    Introducing a new Building as I suggested is simple and almost without risk.
    Introducing a new Improvement can really mess up the mod if done carelessly.
     
  8. drwcody

    drwcody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Splendid idea. And I approve how the bonus is humble and not broken (+1 / +2 )
    Thats how it should be with a building like that ImO. Keep up the good ideas. And also.... MERRY XMAS TO YOU AS WELL CIV FANS!@!! :D
     
  9. drwcody

    drwcody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    However, afting reading Raystutts reply, he makes good sense.

    What use would they have, that other improvements don't already have ?
    Or do you want to do massive coding for them ?
    How would you avoid problems with AI balancing of that improvement ?

    Raystutt has MANY hours into Col modding and is one of the authorities on the subject. He is the man to discuss it with if you wish to pursue further.

    Keep up the ideas though!
     
  10. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    OK! I've added the amount of Cannons in the Revolution Advisor Screen as planned ! ;)
    (See attachments below).
    Is that OK?

    About Mills as improvements. In my opinion some terrains or combination of terrains/features are let's say difficult to exploit. Marsh/Hills, Tundra/Hills, Deserts, Desert/Hill. On those terrains (maybe I've forgotten some), you can easily boost your ore production (building a mine on a hill), but it is sometimes quite impossible to get food, if I'm correct.
    So yes, my idea was to add food (quite logical!) instead of ore on these plots.
    I must agree Ray things are quite balanced now. However there are still plots where you can't build improvements or just one... :dunno:
    Anyway that was the idea.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Willi_Tell

    Willi_Tell praefectus praetorio

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    City of the Bears, Switzerland
    no, it's not just OK - it's superb! :goodjob:

    Merci beaucoup, Monsieur Surcouf! :)
     
  12. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Great. :thumbsup:
     
  13. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Location:
    Germany
    Many thanks to Willi_Tell who has improved the fields for the plantation 1 and 2 - They are now different to the fields of Farm and Farm 2!

    I have implemented them and they will be part of 1.3.
     
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Sounds great. :thumbsup:
     
  15. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Location:
    Germany
    Uploaded to current SVN.
     
  16. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Great. :thumbsup:
    I will check and implement.
     
  17. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hi guys,

    here some first screenshots of Windmill and Watermill.
    (It is not uploaded yet, because I still have to do a few things to finalize, which I will do tomorrow.)

    @Schmiddie:
    Where are the graphics from ?
    Are they both originally improvements from Civ4 ?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. frontiersman

    frontiersman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    raystuttgart outlined the watermill as follows in post #1739:
    Ray, in your graphic for watermill in post #1757 above, you don't list the requirement for a river. Is this something you will be adding?
     
  19. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    The requirement is actually already there.
    It is simply not displayed yet in Colopedia.
    But I will add that. :thumbsup:
     
  20. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, they are both from Civ4, but I changed them a little bit (model is original, painting is new).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page