RFC Classical World

Discussion in 'RFC mod-mod: Classical World' started by srpt, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,751
    See, the original magic behind Rhye's stability was the fact that you simply collapse if you keep doing counter-intuitive things or govern bad, while you stay stable when you do all the right things. At the beginning Rhye did not even want to disclose how exactly stability is being calculated. With his code Kushans would get -200 in Empire column and soon collapse (to say nothing about far away cities going independent much earlier!)
     
  2. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    524
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    just declare war to them, bring a couple of allies and spread unhappiness in their big cities with your spies, and they will soon abandon their border territories ;)

    tbh I find this stability to be useful and not punishing, and I like it that some civs can overcome their history and re-write a new one!
     
  3. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    Someone knows where they are?
     
  4. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,909
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    They are in the GameCoreDLL.
    CvRhyes.cpp
     
  5. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    Thanks for the information. Updated the CityNameManeger.py file. Removed ALL the inconveniences and added some city names. Here it is:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,127
    Location:
    Canada
    What do you mean by "inconveniences"?

    Anyway, merged in my earlier changes.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    hi folks.

    I was working on Arab and Byzantine conquerors on the weekend but produced a crash I couldn't get out of. tonight I will backtrack and try again.

    here was my idea:

    the conquerors would be triggered by dummy buildings which would be enabled by a hidden tech given to all non-human civs which need conquerors. the AI civs would be induced to build them and when they were finished they would disappear and the conquerors would spawn in an appropriate place.

    I thought of this because I would like the conquerors to be somewhat unpredictable. we don't want the Ostrogoth player to know ahead of time the Justinian will attack at a certain date or even around a certain date. this way it could come at any time but you could actually get a warning through espionage if you took the trouble.

    great generals are also a trigger that I like.

    about stability and weird empires:

    this mod has always been very hard to balance. I originally abandoned Rhye's stability system because I was getting really weird results and I couldn't figure out why. one thing I never do is play civs way past their UHV dates or play later civs from one of the earlier maps, so I rarely see unhistoric things, and this is more or less what I commit myself to attempting to balance. I don't want to try to make this mod autoplay for 500 years and produce a historical result.

    as for the stabilty system in place now, there are two things players should know. one is that every stability check for every civ prints to the PythonDbg file and you can tweak the whole system harder or softer with one number. search RiseAndFall.py for the phrase "calibrate the system here" and uncomment the line "iAdjustment += 2". then you can set the adjustment where ever you want. "iAdjustment -= 3", for example, would make all stability checks much harder to pass.

    I will look into the Judaism/Christianity spreading issues. not sure if I mentioned this before but religion spreading is now all in python so it can be adjusted in more mod-specific ways. there are mechanics causing populations following certain religions to convert to others, f.e. Buddhists to Hinduism in India, Hellenic pagans to Christianity, Zoroastrians to Islam etc.

    hopefully I will post something with Arab and Byzantine conquerors tomorrow.
     
  8. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    And this is a BRILLANT idea. I like it very much !
    Can't wait to test it.

    Did you fix the port blockade bug ? We can't get gold from it... so Vandal UP is useless.

    By the way, did you work on something about missing UP/UU/UB for late civs ?
     
  9. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    I mean "City" names bugs :D (Kamachia, Kashgar, Sarmizegetusa, Buchara, Otrar, Liao-hsi, Sabi...)
     
  10. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    Maybe the Lombard UP should be taken from this:
     
  11. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just want to note that all the recent city name bugs are the result of commas being left out when names were added. a missing comma will cause that entire row of tiles to be wrong. I have put back in many many commas. please be careful to include them when you are adding names.

    thats a good idea for a Lombard UP but the Franks already have it. perhaps we could think of something else for the Franks.

    forgot to look into the blockade bug, will look at it tonight

    the last CityNameManager posted by DC123456789 can be patched in as is
     
  12. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    The 1st Khazar UHV says "Ensure Judaism is present in all your cities", but I had only 4 cities +- 40% of my cities with Judaism and it was completed :confused:
    For the Frank UP you can make their infantry (all) stronger (start with combat I? drill I? shock?)
    And Charax should be 2 N of the current location
     
  13. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    Charax 2N would overcrowded the area, in my opinion. But I don't care, I don't like this city :)
     
  14. knighter999

    knighter999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Illinois
    good update ideas. im looking forward to playing the update:) anyway, is there any news on the rating system? in the civilopedia, all stars that measure trade, culture ect are all at one. when i first played this mod, i was really confused at that. is there any development for that? thanks
     
  15. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,127
    Location:
    Canada
    Just want to bump this.

    Also, I'm sure everyone has noticed this by now, but Xianyang never gets renamed to Chang'an when it gets conquered by the Han. I think it's because Xianyang doesn't actually exist on the CNM- perhaps you could make a Qin "language" with "Chang'an" : "Xianyang", ? As well, when you have the time, could you change the Indochinese province borders? Straight lines just look unnatural, and Annam looks like it extends too far inland. I've also noticed that the Nanyue use the Vietnamese city name map. Wouldn't t be more appropriate for them to use the Chinese one? Though they were clearly more of a melting pot, you've used the Chinese name for the nation and the leader, and it would be more consistent to use the Chinese one.
     
  16. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    Problem with the svn :
     

    Attached Files:

  17. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    @Cetrix: I had the same problem :sad:
    Sabean Archers are big red dots :confused:
     
  18. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    Image
     

    Attached Files:

  19. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,909
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Is it the Spearman of the Archer which art is bugged?
     
  20. DrZomboss

    DrZomboss Brrrainz Gourmet

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Tervuren, Belgium
    The Archer one.
    @Cetrix If Charax was 2N, it could change to Basra with Arabia
     

Share This Page