1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Scenario: 1940AD on GEM

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Giant Earth Map Mod' started by Genghis_Kai, May 28, 2008.

  1. armand453

    armand453 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    It begins in January 1940.

    Armand.
     
  2. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That's good. We have also included better AI in GEM.
     
  3. Halt

    Halt Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Creative Constructions is missing its HQ. Used to be in LA now it is gone.

    Have not tried to play much as work is in the way atm, but noticed that right away
     
  4. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ok. I can add it back.
    Is weird. Sometimes the religion or the coporation HQ will disappear after saving in editing mode. I see that happen many times.
     
  5. Lean

    Lean Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    New York
    It might be me, but in the current public release, Judism is missing it's Holy City. It's hard for a Nazi to destroy Judism when there's no Jewish Jerusalem. :)
     
  6. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    Yes, destroying Judaism is harder to accomplish than the Nazis thought. Seeing as Hitler saw Jews everywhere, it worked better the other way around.

    No pun intended.
     
  7. Dazz_G

    Dazz_G Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    I'm not too sure why Russia starts at war with Japan in 1940 :confused:

    I'm playing as Russia and while the AI seems much stronger with Germany, it is terrible with Japan ... I am steamrolling Manchuria / Japan with no real opposition - Japan seems content taking the odd Chinese city and constantly patrolling her fleet of the coast of Thailand instead of meeting my forces.

    Also, I noticed that a Russian fighter starts the game in Yichang (Nat. China).
     
  8. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The Russian was at war with japan in late 1939 in the Mongolian-Manchuria border. The war actually stopped before 1940, but I think having it there could simulate the threat from the north for Japan.

    The Russian fighter in Yichang is deliberate. The Russian gave a lot of aid to China before Barbarossa. There were even Russian air forces helping the Chinese during the battle of Wuhan and Changsha. The one fighter there was to simulate that situation. That's another reason why I need to keep Russia at war with Japan, otherwise, the fighter there wouldn't help.

    By what you describing, it sounds like it is because a human Russia vs AI japan that leads to the fall of Manchuria on the Japan side.
     
  9. Dazz_G

    Dazz_G Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Fair enough ... yet again I show my lack of historical knowledge.

    With regards to the AI, I would at least have expected some Japanese resistance ... I have not tried playing Japan yet but with Fanda's success in the PBEM they must start with some decent forces so for the AI to do absolutely nothing seems a bit weird.

    Guess it just proves that, while the AI is totally useless, this supurb Mod is perfect for the PBEM arena :goodjob:
     
  10. Ikier

    Ikier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi

    Just wanted to share YET another go at this great scenario. Started once more as the Hitler, and have my own good loooong conquest going, but at the same time playing the map rahter peacefully.

    The interesting part happened around 1947. After a succesfull japanese attack against Stalin ("ordered" by me :lol:) taking several cities. The American attacked Japan, as often before. However - within 20 turns the American has captured entire Japanese mainland - but nothing else...

    The interesting part about this, is that the AI taking on that kind of invasion...this is the first time I've experienced that - interesting.

    Note - this time playing on Monarch difficulty...
     
  11. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Yeah. I feel that playing on Monarch difficulty on this scenario could have better experience, i.e. more aggressive AI.
     
  12. Ace of Spades

    Ace of Spades GEM Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    There is one suggestion that I would have for a multi-player version of this scenario: No pre-negotiated arrangements between civilizations. This occurred to me during our recent PBEM, where the in-game diplomacy of the nations in my team is all confused because of this.

    Especially starting with initial "Open Borders" agreements can be a nuisance, since those cannot be canceled for the first ten turns, which is a rather long period of time for a PBEM.

    Best Regards,
    Martin / Ace
     
  13. thatmcawesomegu

    thatmcawesomegu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, there are more civilizations in this game than my screen will allow. Is there a way to turn the side list into a scrollable one?
     
  14. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    I turned the civ (name/score) list off, for that reason. Anyway, with my brandnew PC I was finally able to start up this scenario: looking good, Genghis_Kai!:goodjob:
     
  15. thatmcawesomegu

    thatmcawesomegu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks. I kinda have random question too. I have Civilization IV Vanilla and Beyond the Sword. Can I download mods for Warlords or do I need to get the expansion first?
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    I'd think mods for Warlords would require Warlords, yeah. (And BTW, welcome!);)
     
  17. Register666666

    Register666666 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Hmm, does anyone have any tips on getting this to run smoothly without crashing?

    I thought 3 gigabytes of memory and a dual core t5800 would be enough.
     
  18. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It is. Click the link to the main page, below, and see post 3, which should help by allowing your computer to allocate more of its memory to the game. This should prevent crashes especially as your game progresses. Other than that, turn the graphics to medium. I have a similar spec to yours and this does the trick although you can't do anything about the map not running as quickly as a standard 18civ game.

    The problem is with the civ engine not being kitted out to efficently run the map, probably not really your computer itself. You could have 8gig ram and I'm not sure it'd make any difference. (note the non-technical answer as I'm far from an expert with these things!)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=276594
     
  19. Register666666

    Register666666 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Sweet, thanks man.

    I'm gonna try it now.
     
  20. Register666666

    Register666666 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    This works great, the gaming is using far more than Windows Vista, around 1.2-1.3 gigabytes just upon the start of the scenario.

    Utilizes around a gig and a half when doing something intense.
     

Share This Page