1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Screen freezes/stutters when you select idle builders in late game

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by GeraltLee, Mar 3, 2019.

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK
    Huh. That definitely wasn't happening the latest time I tried it. Anyway, there is a slim possibility that the September 2019 patch will actually resolve this.
     
    Premier likes this.
  2. Premier

    Premier Dept of Isthmi & Tombolos

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    This is hopeful and refreshing to hear!
    Do you use Concise UI? I love that mod, but I think it's the culprit for a couple of incompatibilities, in this case, removing the icons after I edit the core lua. Of course, I added a few other mods, but they're mostly Civs.
     
  3. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well I have no evidence to support that view, but they did try to improve the situation with the June patch and the September patch apparently will include further fixes so you never know!

    No I haven't used it. I avoid UI Lua wherever possible because of compatibility issues.
     
    Premier likes this.
  4. Teland793

    Teland793 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Female
    Hi! Is anyone having the late-game lag after the September update? I used the fix Deliverator posted pre-update and it worked like a dream, but now it's lagging all over the place again. Should I try to reuse the old fix? Something else? Thanks for any help you can give.
     
  5. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK
    If you fixed the local Lua file it will have been over-written by the update so you’ll need to re-apply the change.
     
  6. Teland793

    Teland793 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Female
    Thank you! I was hoping it would be that simple a change, but I didn't want to go diving into the lua without asking first.
     
  7. nitedemon

    nitedemon Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    i supposed this fix still hasn’t made it in or the fix doesn’t completely fix the problem ? I am still experiencing the same lag with mods that potentially changes rule set, like civtas expanded city states where a lot of city states provide new improvements . Looking at the code of unitPanel.lua it seems like the same inefficiency is still there.

    Should the result of canStartOperation be cached and only be changed on major events like new tech , new civic , gain/lose suzerainty, and potentially religion change/enhancement, gain/loss wonders ?
     
  8. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK
    Agreed, whatever was done didn't really fix this.

    It definitely feels like some sensible caching is required. Recreating every Requirement and RequirementSet each time I select a Builder is crazy.
     
  9. AmtrakQuebec

    AmtrakQuebec King

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    You know that place by the other place...
    I'm getting this in a major way now since the latest Windows update... might be just a coincidence.

    Any suggestions?>
     
  10. Baradar67

    Baradar67 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    This has been driving me mad for the last week or two, getting worse as I expand on an enormous map. Finally my google-fu came through, I was searching for disable builder suggestions, tested disabling more lenses, etc. In any case, I had to change line 544 (all DLC + NFP). Thanks for finding the fix guys.
     
  11. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK
    You can use this mod that enables/disables the fix with a hotkey:
    https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/filedetails/?id=2040092722
     
  12. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,846
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Deliverator likes this.

Share This Page