1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Screenshot analysis!

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Camikaze, May 11, 2016.

  1. Gorbles

    Gorbles Load Balanced

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    UK
    Would be nice if the CiVI image was restored to it's default saturation levels. Otherwise you're not comparing the game as they are.

    Really does show how plain CiV is without the (stellar) UI work on top.
     
  2. poom3619

    poom3619 Ping Pang Poom!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    /r/civ battle royale
    There are swamp in Fall from Heaven. or a modmod (Fall Further). Will that do?
     
  3. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Poland
    Why the borders on those screens looks so blocky? I want it to look like in Civ 5.
     
  4. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Someone made a point to point out that pre-release Civ 5 also had blocky boreders.
     
  5. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Poland
    Hopefully, they can fix it.

    Also, I can see two lines in two different colors. Yellow purple, red white. Why is that?
     
  6. poom3619

    poom3619 Ping Pang Poom!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    /r/civ battle royale
    Well, if the dev think it need to be fixed... :rolleyes:

    About two lines. Civilizations in Civ5 is too many to be clearly color-coded like Civ 4 and earlier game.
     
  7. Westwall

    Westwall Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,336
    At least it's not the horrid hex-aligned borders we saw in BE.
     
  8. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Poland
    I just hope these are pre-alpha shots that will be improved.
     
  9. bison21

    bison21 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    221
    Cheers for the Civ4 version, I edited my original post for the sake of clarity and added it!
    I haven't played Civ4 since G&K came out and I must say I'm quite impressed by how good the graphics look compared to 5 and 6 (given the times it was released).
     
  10. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I didn't mind those borders :x
     
  11. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
  12. Haig

    Haig Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,300
    Location:
    Finland
    Here's one of the first screenshot when Civ V was announced, just for curiosity :)

    Spoiler :


    Now let's hope Firaxis throws us more screenshots to speculate on this week!
     
  13. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,543
    The horses! :eek:
     
  14. pthieu1986

    pthieu1986 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    the graphics look too kiddy and cartoon. This is definitely not what i'm really expecting. :cry:
     
  15. Janskey

    Janskey Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Finland
    Apparently the Great Lighthouse still gives you a free lighthouse, as the Egyptians seem to use the small one instead of the tall one. Maybe the Great Lighthouse could, you know, function as a lighthouse. It is kind of blocking the light from the smaller one anyway.
     
  16. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    I don't think so. The Lighthouse requires Harbor district to be built. Either Great Lighthouse requires one as well (which is unlikely since it's built on separate tile) or it's possible to have Great Lighthouse without a Harbor district.
     
  17. Zyntax

    Zyntax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Stockholm - Sweden
    Hmm i wonder how that oversized graphics ( unless the view is really zoomed in ) will affect the maps. One thing i always disliked with the civ series is the small maps concidering how large the cities are. For example, London taking up half of the british isles. I want larger maps but somehow i feel if things are heading in the same direction as CiV the maps might end up beeing smaller :-/
     
  18. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Poland
  19. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,543
    It IS really zoomed in. They say cities will still have 36 hexes (i.e. 3 rings) exactly like in Civ5, so that gives you a scale to which this is zoomed in. In these screenshots, we see not much more than 6 hexes width and a few more hexes deep.

    Link doesn't work.
     
  20. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Poland

Share This Page