1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions about new nations

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod' started by asioasioasio, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. knigh+

    knigh+ .

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Shipless Anchor
    How did that happen?.. Your map didn't look that small in here. I thought you had Athens and Thessaloniki, and I was going to suggest adding Iraklion (which I will anyway).

    Yep, consider adding Iraklion on Crete, as Greeks continued to resist from there for a couple of months after they had lost the mainland.

    Can someone post a screenshot of Turkey in the beginning. I can then indicate exactly which tile had resources, railroads, etc. If you care for such accuracy that is.
     
  2. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Greece should have like 3-4 cities atleast, if they're in as their own country.

    About Sweden, well they are quite big country.. so i dont know. It could be cool if they would be in as their own country, but i dont mind if they are in Neutrals ether. :)


    About Finland i changed my mind about some things:


    Civics should be: Fascism,Nationalization,Mobilization(instead of free speech),Cooperation,Defensive

    Also Finland should have like 4 cities(Helsinki,Turku,Viipuri[vyborg now],Oulu).

    And there should be like population of 5 in helsinki, 4 in turku, 4 in Viipuri and 3 in Oulu. :)




    BTW: I hope the patch 1.1b comes soon :p
     
  3. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
    You left out one of the capitals you have Helsinki and Turku but you don´t have Vaasa there
     
  4. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Capital = Pääkaupunki :D (finnish)

    I think that if there's Oulu(it's bigger than Vaasa) there's no room for another. And Oulu is more northern than Vaasa so if you think it from gamaplay side it's smarter to add Oulu :) But if there will be more room(take my idea from earlier; "take ground from estonia..") Then Vaasa or Tampere should be 5th city or if we get enough room and stuff then all 6 cities: Helsinki,Turku,Oulu,Viipuri,Vaasa,Tampere. :)

    Also there should be some kind of way to move infantry trought northern Finland to norway(would be historially accurate) If there's enough room on map after some fixing that "road" should be added =)
     
  5. VeteranLurker

    VeteranLurker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Great job -- I look forward to trying this!

    Regarding Switzerland, why not do what was done in the old Avalon Hill boardgame: just make Switzerland impassable mountains? Then you don't have to worry about how to stop the AI from invading it.

    Other things I remember from that game, some mentioned above: Spain and Turkey were the key neutrals in terms of size/economy/military. Lumping Latvia/Lithuania/Estonia together makes sense, adding them to Poland does not make sense as their fates were somewhat separate. Lumping Norway with Denmark and/or Sweden isn't historically or strategically accurate. Same for combining anyone with Finland, they had their own unique situation. Lumping Hungary/Rumania/Bulgaria together DOES make a certain amount of sense, I think they all effectively joined the axis as one, they are small, border each other, etc. Greece and Yugoslavia are separate/important. Belgium/Netherlands/Luxemborg because of their size/border makes sense to combine them into one civ.

    Depending upon when the scenario starts, Germany absorbed Austria and Czechoslovakia so they need not be separate states. Italy was able to put troops in Albania so that could also be part of Italy to reduce the number of civs.

    England was dependent upon its overseas colonies for trade, which is what the uboat menace disrupted, so that would be an important dynamic to include, even if it requires making a 'British colony' civ somewhere to allow the trade and give targets for the uboats.
     
  6. Hardner

    Hardner Blitzkrieger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Gender:
    Male
    My list for the '39 scen:

    1. Spain
    2. Norway
    3. Sweden
    4. Finland
    5. Denmark (probably as part of Norway)
    6. Benelux
    7. Baltic States
    8. Bulgaria
    9. Romania as German vassal
    10. Hungaryas German vassal
    11. Greece
    12. Egypt as British vassal
    13. Turkey
    14. Iraque as British vassal
    15. Yugoslawia
    16. Lybia as Italian vassal
    17. Tunesia as French vassal
    18. Algeria as French vassal
    19. Arabia
    20. Palastine as Arabian vassal or French Vassal to represent the free French.
    21. Malta as British vassal
    22. Cyprus as British vassal

    The Vassal states could also be just cities of the major civ...

    As I'm planning to create scens on Trip's huge Europe map and my own, still unfinished, map, these civs would perfectly fit.
     
  7. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    @knigh+ i'll post a screenshot of Turkey tomorrow - lately i was to busy to make it :)

    @ VeteranLurker Thx for ideas - ok so i would start to keep Greece and Turkey as sepearate countries (i rethink this once again and i agree it's not good idea)

    @Hardner I'm glad you'll work on scenario :) more scenarios = more fun :)
    I think tha this vassals should be part of countries - i don't see possibility of making Iraq or Malta or Cyprus in near future
    Maybe making Hungary Romania and Bulgaria as a one country won't be bad - they joined axis in quite the same time.

    But also you can make it as JungleIII made it - just double existing leaderheads before they will be added.

    BTW i want to recreate the scenario wich is for vanilla - this in North Africa :)
     
  8. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    you might find this usefull.... i can find more for pacific theatre if you want.



    here is pacific theatre landings and dates, its not animated, sorry

    you can get more WW2 Facts here than you'll know what to do with

    Also I would go ahead and make it possible to do 36 or 50 players... Just make most of the scenario's with less than that.... That way its available but not required. Why not open up the possiblities?
     
  9. aman2192

    aman2192 Fade To Black

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Here are some new civs that I believe should be included:

    Europe:
    Netherlands
    Hungary
    Romania
    Bulgaria
    Finland
    Albania
    Ireland
    Portugal
    Spain
    Sweden
    Turkey
    Norway
    Yugoslavia
    Croatia
    Denmark
    Sweden

    Africa:
    Free Egypt???
    Liberia

    Asia
    Tannu Tuva
    Japan
    Thailand
    Iraq
    Afghanistan
    Republic of China
    Oman
    Saudi Arabia
    Mongolia
    Iran
    Lebanon

    North America:
    Canada
    Cuba
    Mexico
    Nicaragua

    South America:
    Argentina
    Brazil
    Chile
    Colombia
    Peru
    Venezula

    Australia & Oceania:
    Australia
    New Zealand

    That is it really
     
  10. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Too many countries imo. Max 15 so the game is still playable : ) IMO.
     
  11. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I'll let asioX3 speak for all the ones we are inlcuding, but I'll say that some of those you mentioned are already in phase 2 (unreleased as of now), but all of them wont be used for every scenario. Maybe make 1 or 2 scenario's which will have more civs on a global scale, and other scenario's which focus on a smaller area with less civs (i.e. europe, pacific) :)
     
  12. aman2192

    aman2192 Fade To Black

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I know but just so different scenarios can be made on certain places during the war.
     
  13. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    I'll rise limit of playable in scenarios to 36 (tough it would be insane to play such a scenario - it'll slow down much)

    @ aman2192 - in the list you proposed there's more nation than both warlords and vanilla have :)

    We have now two major problems with adding new nations (the list isn't closed) but i cans say we would go in quantity. And the mayor problems seems in aspect of quality:
    - Leaderheads - missing a lot of new LH - and i'm rather poor in reskining and changing LH (I hope FireHazard would find solution how to create completly new LH - that could be useful)
    - Lack of models for units (i'm only person that works on models right now :() it takes much time (luckly it gives a lot of fun too)

    What do you think of making fake models of LH and units? (firaxis made it - check firaxis' scenarios) So the name would be correct, but the model would be for example of sherman for M3 Grant (of course reskinned in other color - for example desert colors). Some fake models appear even now but they minority. For Hindenburg i would use for example Bismarck.
    Adding so much new nations asap would make the mayority of new units and LH with fakes models. So would you like to wait 2-4 months more and have correct models or split WW2 Mod Phase Two into two releases?
     
  14. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
    why not use a picture insted of lh for now and add real lh later
     
  15. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    I need to discus 2D/3D LH with scenario producers what they think about.

    Meanwhile i got totally crazy and made a lot of flags - 126 (still in production buttons and finishing teamflags):)
    You can easily use other flag in scenario so you can exchange flags (depends what you need for scenario )

    And here it's list (all are historical - if somethings wrong with flags of accuracy (for example i notieced that for canada we have been using to modern flag) or one of the flag is missing - let me know)







    I'll publish soon the list of countries that going to the mod - phase two
     
  16. knigh+

    knigh+ .

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Shipless Anchor
    about pictures vs. leatherheads...

    Why don't you leave that for later and make the mod - phase 2, version 0.9 and put it out. While your fans here playtest and see if there is any major problem, you can do the leatherheads. Then LHs and final touches can go into version 1.
     
  17. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    well... if it comes down to that we might. It really up to Asio, but everything else isn't quite ready yet anyhow. :p

    EDIT: Very nice flags asio!!!

    With my muvee maker i could start working on an .bik movies for anything you might want a movie for.
     
  18. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah very very nice flags = ) I currently have problem's with my PC so i have to re-install windows and empty hard-drive.. So i can't really play anything atm.. It sucks but i hope in 2weeks im able to play again : )
     
  19. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    OK i would suggest this new countries

    This will appear in phase two:
    People's Republic of China
    Spanish Republic
    Australia
    Canada
    Commonwealth Of India
    Japan
    Hungary (or Danube Alliance)
    Spanish Nationalists
    Finland
    Republic Of China
    Yugoslavia
    Kingdom of Greece
    Kingdom of Netherlands (or Benelux Alliance)
    Kingdom of Norway
    Republic of Turkey
    Iran (Persia)
    Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
    Mexico
    Brazil (Latin Alligned Nations)
    Portugal

    This might appear in phase two
    Vichy France
    Bulgaria
    Romania
    Slovakia
    Czechoslovakia
    Prebaltica
    Kingdom Of Danmark
    Kingdom Of Sweden


    I hope it's great news - cause the number of nations will exceed the number of units that are placed @ warlords

    We finally found sollution with Leaderheads - but more info about it soon :)
     
  20. knigh+

    knigh+ .

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Shipless Anchor
    I thought this thing was on a European map. On even a huge world map many of these nations will end up with 1-2 cities.

    If you have a world map, I suggest having all British commonwealth as one civ. That will open up space to separate, for example, Argentina+Chile from rest of SA, because they had better relations with Axis compared to the rest of SA.
     

Share This Page