1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions about new nations

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod' started by asioasioasio, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
    It's great news but I think that with so many nations Phase Two will be much slower.
     
  2. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    It would depend on scenarios - more nations - more new scenarious could appear :) If scenariow ould have for example five countries it won't slow down game much

    About South American Countries / Commonwealth - i make it this way mostly for needs of the 1933 scenario :)
     
  3. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Most of the scenario's are on a European map. We are planning to add at least 1 more scenario for sure, maybe up to 3 more.

    And yes, some nations might be very small and should be (in my opinion) non-playable, but I think it is important that they are represented in the mod, because some of them did play a vital role in WW2. :)

    Most of the scenario's will have about the same requirements (slightly higher) than normal warlords, but let it be known, do not even attempt to play the huge map without at least 2GB RAM and 2.8 Ghz processor.
     
  4. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
  5. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
    I would like to play this mod as Abyssinia and destroy "mighty" Italian Empire :D
     
  6. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Thx for suggestions for the gunship - yes we want to replace this unit - the lack of model for now, but they are on the list.

    About abissynia - i thought about it but for now there's no scenario for it - so it's more than probable that they won't appear in next update.

    In couple days i'll show almost closed (almost in case for not planned civilization) list of nations that'll appear in phase two.
     
  7. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
  8. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Yup it might be fun :)
    If someone would like to make it :rolleyes: i would make Abbisynia for mod
     
  9. JediPimp

    JediPimp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Montreal
    Is japan going to be made in depth units and all?
     
  10. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Yup it will have all units unique :) like oother mayor countries - own air units tanks etc
     
  11. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    All nations that will appear in next version of mod.

    ARGENTINA
    AUSTRALIA
    BELGIUM
    BRAZIL
    BULGARIA
    CANADA
    CHINA_COMMUNIST
    CHINA_NATIONALIST
    CZECHOSLOVAKIA
    DENMARK
    EGYPT
    ESTONIA
    FINLAND
    FRANCE
    FRANCE_VICHY
    GREAT_BRITAIN
    GREECE
    HOLLAND
    HUNGARY
    INDIA
    IRAQ
    ITALY
    JAPAN
    LEAGUE_OF_NATIONS
    LATVIA
    LITHUANIA
    MEXICO
    NORWAY
    PERSIA
    POLAND
    PORTUGAL
    REICH
    ROMANIA
    SAUDI_ARABIA
    SLOVAKIA
    SOUTH_AFRICA
    SOVIET_UNION
    SPANISH_NATIONALIST
    SPANISH_REPUBLIC
    SWEDEN
    THAILAND
    TURKEY
    UNITED_STATES_OF_AMERICA
    YUGOSLAVIA

    It gives 44 nations - more than Civ4 with all expansions has :).

    USA, France, Australia and Germany would have 2 leaders instead 1.
     
  12. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
    And there is Poland too :p Personally I think that most scenarios have to have small number of nations because of loading times but still that many nations in one mod is wonderful!
     
  13. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    :) Yeah - luckly most of moders puts poland to theire mods :)

    I agree - some nations would appear only in certain scenarios - i don't see the point to put lithuania estonia and latvia into world scenario even on extra huge map - it would be also performance insane.

    But making scenario focusing on certain parts of world - for sure new countries would be useful
     
  14. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Have you ever considered making WW2 1939 modular? so for example if your loading up one of the europe scenario's it would only load up the nations and graphics that are necessary. Not sure if that method would work easily but if it did, it would probably cut load times in half, and also lower the strain on memory very much.

    Great work :)
     
  15. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Yup
    BTS work like that :)
    And thx for .xml-ing - it's much easier now to add just couple other o****ries :)
     
  16. Ace of Gold

    Ace of Gold MAKE WAY FOR THE BAD GUY

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,628
    Location:
    California, USA
    Didn't Britain controll india in world war 2
     
  17. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Yup that's true - but i think it's good to make india - they already appear in scenarios - making them vassals in scenario is good idea.
     
  18. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
    India should be a vassal only in biggest scenarios- the less civs means faster game. BTW: in BTS India can be released as a vassal, or not?
     
  19. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Yup it could be released as vassal in scenarios :)
    and i agree - it should depend on scenario size :)
     
  20. Nolan08

    Nolan08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Bend
    I'm not sure if I'd like to add any "new" civs to the mix, but I would like to see a more active participation in the scenarios from the Free French Forces led by Charles de Gaulle.

    The Free French Forces had the third highest amount of troops fighting in the European Theater, and also had some forces fighting the Vichy French in the Asian Theater.

    Yet, for some reason, the Free French Forces haven't been emphasized as strongly as the Vichy French. I don't know why this is, but it would be nice touch of realism to see the Free French more involved.
     

Share This Page