1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions and Requests

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,526
    Very few Great Spies are being generated in any given game, perhaps we could tweak something to add up Great Spy points faster, say, 2 points per successful mission, not per the experience gained by the spy?
     
  2. BaneFire

    BaneFire Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    What do we think about this:
    "Your capital city counts towards your core population, even if it is not in your core territory"
    This would incentivise you to move your capital more often. The main examples I can think of are like:
    * Mongols moving capital to Beijing/other Chinese city
    * Turks moving capital into Persia
    * Greeks/Persians/Arabs moving capital to Babylon
    * Portugal moving capital to Brazil
    * Rome to Constantinople?
    * Already happens with Phoenicians to Carthage
    But there also some bad examples maybe:
    * Romans moving capital to Egypt/Babylon
    * English moving capital to New York/Toronto
    * Japanese to China
     
    Enyavar likes this.
  3. Orbii

    Orbii Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I'm almost certain this used to be a thing, and it was removed because it incentivized ALWAYS moving your capital out of your core.
     
    Enyavar, BaneFire and Leoreth like this.
  4. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,672
    Capital moves should probably be incentivized on a case by case basis with the new period system as opposed to a blanket bonus for all Civs.
     
  5. BaneFire

    BaneFire Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    When running despotism (or really always), some sort of notification in the log like:
    "Konya is no longer suffering temporary unhappiness effects!"
    Currently you get a notification that you *can* whip, but this would make it a bit easier to check when I can safely whip again.
     
    black213 and Leoreth like this.
  6. BaneFire

    BaneFire Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Here's a spitball:
    What if the first civ to research/adopt nationalism got an event where they get a decent stack of units, and their neighbours (w/out defensive pacts/vassal status, I guess) declare war on them.
    Same for first civ to research/adopt Totalitarianism/Revolutionism.
    To represent Napoleon and Hitler's Europe conquests. Ideally there would also be a notification in the log, something like "Louis XV has mustered a revolutionary army!", and there could even be a dynamic name like Revolutionary France.
     
  7. phoenixfire7

    phoenixfire7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    I'm not sure how viable this is but I think it would be cool if different leaders had different effects like in normal civ 4 but slightly different. The effects could be minor bonuses like a free specialist in the capital or a tiny increase in commerce from trade routes or corporations or something like 1 extra production in all cities or 5% reduction of production cost on military units
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2020
  8. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    That alone would instantly be in the top 3 of Vanilla traits.
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  9. phoenixfire7

    phoenixfire7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    I edited it to be 1 instead
     
  10. Caesar Augustus

    Caesar Augustus Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    376
    So I was playing Russia recently and, despite having around 30 cities, I noticed that only two or three of them weren't on rivers (and those had been built by the AI or pre-placed on the map), and hence they all built hydroelectric plants as soon as the tech was unlocked. Obviously this was great for me, but it didn't strike me as particularly historically accurate. Like, this is the same column that unlocks the Manhattan Project, Bombers, the Pentagon, and Graceland, and here I am instantly adopting a fully green energy grid. It also has some suspect gameplay effects. It essentially obsoleted Nuclear Power before I even unlocked it (let alone solar), made my newly built Public Transportation useless in all but Moscow itself (and my other cities weren't tiny either, mostly around 20 size in my core and 12-15 outside of it), and makes the Itaipu Dam kind of redundant (if most of your cities can build a hydro plant in 2 or 3 turns, why spend 20 in a major city for the same effect to kick in way slower?). And this is not limited to Russia; nearly every city in China, SE Asia, and India is on a river, as well as most good city sites worldwide.

    Now, I'm not going to suggest eliminating hydroelectric altogether (it was one of the first big sources of power, and remains by far the largest source of green energy in the world), but I think tweaking its availability so that it's not supplying 80% of the world's power is reasonable. As a band-aid I suggest making it so that either A) Hydro plants require the city to be on a hill, or B) Hydro plants require a peak in the city radius. This represents the elevation change required for efficient hydroelectric generation, and gets rid of the most egregiously problematic locations (like Alexandria and Amsterdam, for example) As a permanent solution, I'd suggest, within the context of the map remake, creating a new type of river (named the Gorge, perhaps), which is required for hydro plants.
     
  11. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I agree that hydro power is too easy to get in most places, but I'm not sure about the best way to remedy this. The use of terrain for elevation makes sense, but may have unintended effects. For instance, the place I live in, Quebec, produces something like 97% of its electric power from hydro, but it has virtually no mountains; its got plenty of hilly terrain though. I'm guessing mountains are relevant for a place like Norway. And then a place like Aswan has neither hills nor mountain, but the Aswan dam is super important. The problem is that terrain elevation is not quite well captured by the map engine.

    I seem to recall rivers were too hardcoded into the game to allow for the modding of different river types.
     
  12. MechatronicJazz

    MechatronicJazz Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    This would be a bit clunky, but maybe we could limit hydro dams to a certain number per civ, or 1 per x cities? It would represent the difficulties on cost and terrain that limit use of hydro dams everywhere, without actually limiting which cities could build them. The limit could even be removed at a later tech if that makes sense.
     
  13. trevor

    trevor Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Could power be a numerical value instead of just a simple yes/no? So certain plants would provide more power than others while buildings, pop points & certain specialists would require power themselves? This could also mean that plants would co-exist (which would be realistic) & that their minuses would be duplicative. One would still gain a benefit from building cleaner power plants (more power units produced with less pollution/unhealth) but older plants would still be functional. This would also level the playing field between coal & hydro/nuke/solar as well as allow for new types of power plants like oil/gas, geothermal, waste-to-energy, wind, wave & the like.

    Would this be too much micromanagement?
     
  14. Caesar Augustus

    Caesar Augustus Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    376
    An alternative idea I had was to introduce some sort of drawback to using hydropower. Maybe it could reduce the commerce from river tiles (on the idea that a dammed river is less navigable for trade)? Or food (lots of poorly managed hydro installations have had drastic impacts on wildlife)? A kind of crazy one would be having a random river tile changed into a low-yield reservoir tile, but I can imagine the AI getting screwed over hard by something like that. That said, I would still bet on the unintended effects of reducing access to hydro power being less impactful than the intended, positive effects of doing so. Like, I think a Canada that ends up using a mix of hydro, nuclear, and coal (or makes a run at Itaipu) is a better game experience than one that puts hydro everywhere by default, even if the power distribution isn't entirely accurate geographically. Oh and at least in the current map there are some peaks in southern Egypt that would totally allow Aswan if we went with the peak requirement.

    I also recalled hearing that modding rivers that way was a big ask, but I figured I'd throw it out there as the best solution I could think of.
     
  15. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,797
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I think it would make some sense if city population also consumes power, or at least during the modern era. After the discovery of Electronics (or Computers if Electronics is too early), the power consumption of a city increases by 1 to represent the power consumption of the inhabitants. The power consumption could also be something like 1 power consumed for every 10 population or something along those lines.

    Another idea is that, after the discovery of Electronics or Computers, cities without power get angry if they do not have power. I was thinking of something like half of the population gets angry and "We demand power in the city". I'm not sure if I fully support this idea myself, but let's throw it up anyway.
     
    trevor and Krieger-FS like this.
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I have been thinking about this problem lately, including river differentiation. Not bothered to make a thread about it yet. More to come later.
     
    hnrysml, trevor, 1SDAN and 3 others like this.
  17. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    How about a rework of the Electric Grid Building? Instead of a flat +10% Commerce have it grant +1 Commerce or +1% Commerce for every pop, with power consumption increasing accordingly.
     
    trevor likes this.
  18. Seakin

    Seakin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Some thoughts on Eurasian nomads

    Had an idea, regarding the turks and mongolia, to be able to move there core around in there historical regions by moving the capital, to represent the different succsesion states/Dynasties/countries better.

    e.g. Ghaznavids/Ghurids/Aq Qoyunlu/Qara Qoyunlu
    Golden Horde/Tshagatai/Timurids/Il Khanat/Yuan

    In case of the turks it would also match a bit with there uhv of moving there capital and get their core away from the coming mongols to survive a bit longer in persia/mesopotamia.

    Potentially the mongol move could be acompanied with losing some of the other parts of the empire to represent the fractioning of the empire.

    In general i would like the idea of an nomadic/half nomadic civ that moves a bit around the map. (huns/Xiongnu)
    But it seems hard to implement a civilization without or with moving cities in civ 4.

    Maybe a start outside of your core and than forced to settle or conquere it first(magyars into hungary?) without a flip, would be an option, thouge it seems not to interessting and bit to luck dependent for the begining of your game.l
     
    Cypriot likes this.
  19. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV d'Artagnan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    In Dawn of Civilization there is one minor thing missing (or major depending how you view the game), the CRUSADES are missing! In all the games I played (over 100)
    only once has Germany conquered Sur and Jerusalem in 1180-90 ad, and lost them to the Turks 100 years later. Couldn't there be an Option in the Pope voting that Lead Crusades to Jerusalem or something? Like in RFC Europe if you know that mod.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    The Apostolic Palace should have the option to declare war on the holy city owner if not Christian (both Catholic and Orthodox holy cities). And you have the HRE UHV.
     

Share This Page