System requirements...

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by gfeier, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
  2. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    My CPU speed's only a little low. Looks like it will be ABLE to run on my 2009 Macbook. (Not the current Macbooks, but the ones before that)
     
  3. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,374
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
  4. bio_hazard

    bio_hazard Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    esoteri, ca
    Well, this might finally get me on Snow Leopard...
     
  5. Dyeus

    Dyeus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Media Required: DVD-ROM (Physical, boxed copies only)

    Does that mean there will be a digital version available through the Mac App store??? guess no steam support here...
     
  6. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    :confused: Civ V is a Steamworks game, it needs Steam to run
     
  7. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,374
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    No, I think it means you will need a DVD-ROM drive *if* you buy it on physical media. Hardly needed saying really.

    It's sure to be available as a download on GameAgent, and very likely to be available on Steam.
     
  8. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    And possibly on the Mac App Store
     
  9. paulelowey

    paulelowey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Vancouver
    The official twitter @civ5mac confirms that the game is steam. That tidbit was announced about a week ago.
     
  10. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    I'm curious about those of us who already bought it for PC and whether we can use that copy on the Mac side.
     
  11. tcjsavannah

    tcjsavannah Wow, it's been a while...

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    uh, Savannah :)
    Seconded. People keep saying "you should" but I've yet to hear a definitive either way.
     
  12. borad

    borad Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    In any case, the Mac App Store is scheduled for a January launch (i.e. too late for initial availability).
     
  13. Diatsub

    Diatsub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    Someone knows if it will works on Leopard?
     
  14. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,374
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Expected minimum system requirements say you need Snow Leopard. The latest FAQ says they don't recommend buying the game if you don't meet the minimum stated.

    Note that Apple has released several patches to Snow Leopard based on work done with Steam to improve graphics performance, so I would guess you might need those enhancements for this game.

    Is Snow Leopard a problem for you? It's a pretty cheap upgrade.
     
  15. Diatsub

    Diatsub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    It is to know if I need the upgrade. I will buy it.
    Thanks
     
  16. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    There really is no reason to still be using Leopard over Snow Leopard other than the US$29 price. Snow Leopard is faster and more efficient and stable than Leopard in every way, for gaming, for everything. Especially now that 10.6.5 is out which contains some serious graphics performance enhancements and bugfixes.
     
  17. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Thanks for the notification. I didn't realize it was out. It looks like the graphic fixes was due to printer issues while playing games. I'm not sure if that's the only fix, or if there was another graphics fix that I missed.
     
  18. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I don't know the exact details but there were extensive updates and fixes to graphics drivers, especially for the ATI 5000 series of graphics cards. Most of these changes were in response to feedback and reports from Blizzard and Valve. We're still stuck with a OpenGL 2.1/3.0 hybrid and are miles behind OpenGL 4.1 and Direct3D 11 but any improvement is still an improvement. Improvements that Leopard will never get.
     
  19. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    Same here. I like how Apple will use System Update to make OSX work better with some games! Shows they care!
     
  20. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    I imagine Civ V will heavily use Grand Central Dispatch for massive multi-threading
     

Share This Page