1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

The King of the World Throne Room

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Neal, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. dalamb

    dalamb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    Is there some form of Earth script that gives you 18 or less civs (so we could shadow without mods) but mixes up the leaders a bit? Maybe thin out Europe and put in Korea or Zulu? I think you've hand-edited a games like that but my memory isn't that great.
     
  2. Civman33

    Civman33 Gunship Pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    As said, an AP game would be either interesting or too opposite to the China game. A regular Greece game would be interesting. But if it's on Earth34... oh yeah...
     
  3. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    In case anyone hasn't noticed yet, I've set up a pregame poll for the next game here.
     
  4. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
  5. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    So now that we're through #20, what's next? Another RFC? Take Jaaboo's idea (which I had been toying with myself) and redo KotW #14 in Rhye's, taking every Civ switch available to us? Earth 1000 A.D.? Civ V? Something completely different?
     
  6. The Oz-Man

    The Oz-Man Enter: The VAIKE!

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Earth 1000 is a fun scenario, but I suspect the game would end up being pretty short there, too. Of what you've got up on the poll, I think a modern game as Korea would be the most interesting, but any of what you've described could be a good time.
     
  7. Bei1052

    Bei1052 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    If you want a challenge, try playing RFC on Emperor with the Chinese.
     
  8. CHEESE!

    CHEESE! ROCKETS GONNA GETCHA

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    In the Land where
    In Vanilla RFC, one cannot switch civs more than once. So if you're India and you switch to Greece, that's it. You can't switch, say, to America after that.

    I'm sure this problem could be fixed with a little bit of modding, though.
     
  9. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Well, shoot. I just reread through the KotW #14 thread, and I was all psyched up about the concept. Anyone with better programming chops than I have willing to take a stab at breaking the one-change limit?
     
  10. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
  11. Jaaboo

    Jaaboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Well that's a shame. Still, an Earth 1000 AD would be cool to see as well, I'm eager to read Neal's game there.
     
  12. Ravus_Sol

    Ravus_Sol God-Emperor of Mankind

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,597
    Location:
    Cruithne
    It seems no one ever got back to you on this :blush: I myself assumed someone would so didn't bother looking for the answer (I remembered there was one.) Damn Holiday breaks make everyone lazy.

    Anyway, if you are still interested later this thread has the answer (re-linked from another older thread.)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=426685


    Of course, although I remember spotting this previously I've never actually tried it myself. So I couldn't even comment if it would work or not.

    Anyway I noticed you have another new King of the World out so I guess I'm too late in one regard, but Earth 1000AD is just as interesting in it's own way, I guess I just like some level of enforced balance of powers that these mods have. Always makes the plans for victory seem like you've earned them more from tactics and less from snowballing with good starting moves.
     
  13. Nitrah

    Nitrah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    If your computer is up to the task (will need a 64 bit system) you could try the Realism Invictus mod, which comes default with an earth scenario.
     
  14. whats a navy

    whats a navy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Pangea
    There is an earth evolution 2 map here. It works as a map script so its no mod but it works as a regular script that you can select which your civ and opponents. All civs show up in their correct places on the map, like Egypt on the nile, England on Britain, and so on. The best part though is that the map has balanced starts like a larger europe so euro civs can get about 4 cities with standard civs. Mali has more flood plains but also copper, more food resources, and less jungle.

    A standard civ configuration on this map would be england, france, portugal, germany, vikings, carthage, mali, egypt, ethiopia, arabia, ottomans, persia, russia, india, mongolia, china, khmer, japan. New world is open to colonization to england or anyone else while rome is moved to vikings to free up space in europe and greece is moved to make it a stronger start. The best part is you can always play different games with a full new world while giving asia or europe to one superpower and try to see if you can take it down at the end.
     
  15. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    So the King of the World series is, once again, up for grabs. What do you all want to see? Another stab at E1000? A leader-hopping RFC? Divine Intervention? Something more mundane? I'm itching to get back into the swing of things!
     
  16. The Oz-Man

    The Oz-Man Enter: The VAIKE!

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Yay!

    Shame to see Chuck go, but the game was basically over anyway, so hey.

    RFC leader-hopping would certainly be an interesting one if it can be done. Maybe go back to the standard 18 for a game with one of the starts you haven't done yet, like Russia or Egypt (I don't think you even got to Catherine in the E18-hopping game).

    You hinted at a "modern leaders" game a while back that might be interesting as well. Korea or Russia there, maybe?
     
  17. coanda

    coanda Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,567
    It's not too hard to enable multiple-leader hopping in RFC. You go to ...\Mods\Rhye's and Fall of Civilization\Assets\Python. Open RhyesAndFall.py with a text editor (even notepad if you don't have better). The relevant line is like 1583 or so (I say "or so" because I've tinkered a little bit with my RFC to customize it for my playing preferences, so I might have added a couple lines before that. The specific condition is:

    if (iCurrentTurn == iBirthYear + self.getSpawnDelay(iCiv)) and (gc.getPlayer(iCiv).isAlive()) and (self.getAlreadySwitched() == False) and (iHuman+tDifference[iHuman] < iCiv):

    self.newCivPopup(iCiv)

    If you want to enable multiple switches, you just delete the "and (self.getAlreadySwitched() == False)" from that.
    If you want to enable switching to every civ in order, you might also have to delete the "and (iHuman+tDifference[iHuman] < iCiv)" from that (that's the condition that's supposed to prevent you from being prompted to swap to same-era competitors, like starting as Carthage then swapping to Rome 2 turns later.

    I had a fairly rollicking fun game myself once when I played (in order) Babylon, Persia, Rome, Arabia, and finally Turkey, using scenario knowledge to prep my old empire for a major war just before the emergence of my new empire, then trying to claw my way back to dominance. If I'd thought of it at the time I'd even have taken it further and swapped one last time to America, because its Oil resources UHV condition is often easiest satisfied by conquering or vassalizing that area.
     
  18. Lokki242

    Lokki242 El Secretario

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    776
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Anything RFC has my attention immediately...though its modmods, particularly RFC: Europe and Sword of Islam would be nice to see.
    Also update your RFC version! Or get the Dawn of Civilization modmod!
     
  19. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    Yeah you should definitely try Dawn of Civilization. Try playing as the Mongols and win a conquest victory. :king: Or try Legends of Revolution. It would be something different.
     
  20. Coffee Mug

    Coffee Mug Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    What about an Always Peace game as one of the European powers? There's various gambits one could try: the apostolic palace, culture bombing, beelining astronomy to colonize South America and Australia.
     

Share This Page