1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] The Ottomans Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by bite, Jan 22, 2019.

  1. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,907
    Gender:
    Male
    Have we seen anything to contradict this? If true, that would imply you could build limitless numbers of units, as long as you have the base minimum stockpiled somewhere. In other words, just a more complicated version of the current requirement to have 2 copies of a resource (or 1 if upgrading or in an Encampment).
     
  2. SupremacyKing2

    SupremacyKing2 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm pretty sure building a unit would consume the strategic resource. Otherwise, the whole mechanic would be rather pointless. And the marketing does say "consumable strategic resources" as a new mechanic in GS.
     
    Julia97 likes this.
  3. KayAU

    KayAU King

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    741
    I don't think it makes much sense at all to do it that way. It would just serve as a delay. Hopefully this can be clarified in today's livestream.
     
    Julia97 likes this.
  4. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I realise it'd strange if the latter conclusion were true, I'm just saying what I saw; the Janissary did not consume 20 nitre when it was built, despite saying it required it in the build menu
     
  5. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well they have appearently enough nitre mines to produce 22 nitre maybe? That would increase the nitre resources from 28 to 30 while consuming 20 for the Jannisary unit.
     
  6. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,907
    Gender:
    Male
    We know Uranium, Oil, and Coal are consumable, and used on a per turn basis by Power Plants and certain units.

    I assumed the same rules applied to units that required a certain number of strategic resources to build (Nitre, Iron, Horses). But possibly not. Possibly you just can't build them as soon as you create a mine/pasture: there's a delay until you build up enough, and then you can build units? Which would also mean you need a large enough stockpiling location (Encampment(s)) in order to get to the required amount to start building these units.

    This would also explain the wording on Canada's bonus production to "consumable resources": might only apply to Uranium, Oil, and Coal, not to Nitre, Iron, and Horses.

    Or maybe it works as I expected and building a unit that requires 20 Iron uses up 20 Iron. I was just curious as to whether we've seen from the First Looks clear evidence that a stockpile of Iron/Nitre/Horses is reduced when a unit is built.
     
  7. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    How many mines would that require though? If we assume that it's either 1 or 2 per mine, that requires a minimum of 11 mines, and if we assume we can increase that to 3 or 4 by some means, then 6 minimum, and whilst nitre isn't rare, it's not that common, and their empire doesn't look big enough in the first look video to field that large a number of nitre mines.
     
  8. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Also consider that, on the same turn, they get only 3 iron. What's the likelihood of having an income of 3 iron per turn but 22 nitre per turn? Granted, there could be explanations for that, it seems not implausible, but less plausible
     
  9. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,269
    Well keep in mind that the First Look videos surely aren't pulled from a natural played game state, and are surely set up in a worldbuilder or whatever.

    But I'm having a hard time visualizing all of the new resource components too--might be one of those things where I have to see it personally to "get" it.
     
  10. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    That is true, it was one of the possibilities I had considered. Are there any other instances where we see a unit that requires resources built or upgraded to? There surely is in the other live streams and first looks. That might help us understand, or we could just wait patiently and find out in due time.
     
  11. bbbt

    bbbt Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,060
    If you look at the initial janissary built in the first look - the one that actually pops up the Janissary graphic on the timeline and that they promote - the nitre drops from the 48 to 28. I'd guess that one was likely actually built (or more likely bought) to trigger the timeline, and deducted 20 nitre. The second one just 'appears' - you don't see them select build/buy on the menu - was likely just added with firetuner.
     
    Sostratus and Trav'ling Canuck like this.
  12. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Very true, but that one can be assumed to have been upgraded to, rather than built, since the flash of light is where you can then see the Janissary outside of the city after, and it already has one promotion on top of the free one as a Janissary.
     
    bbbt likes this.
  13. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,897
    True
    3 turns and he can establish himself in enemy cities apparently... so yeah, this does make them very strong... some competition for Magnus
     
  14. blackcatatonic

    blackcatatonic Queen of Meme

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,289
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK
    Apologies if this has been discussed already; I'm too lazy to search the thread.

    Is there a livestream today?
     
    Julia97 likes this.
  15. SupremacyKing2

    SupremacyKing2 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes. Same place, same time.
     
    blackcatatonic likes this.
  16. Sostratus

    Sostratus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,821
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    The tooltip clearly says it needs 20 niter. My best guess based on previous videos is that the resource is taken from the stockpile when the unit is queued. So they had 48, queued the janissary and dropped to 28 (which we didn't see) then hit next turn and got to 30.
     
  17. SmashPig5

    SmashPig5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    That's actually a fair guess, it's quite likely too that it'd deduct the resources when queued to prevent any conflict in building multiple at a time when you only have enough for one, but we can perhaps see more detail in the next livestream to know for sure
     
  18. King Rad

    King Rad Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    We will hopefully find out today; but I don't think he will be able to be established in enemy cities. He has one promotion giving +5 combat strength for units in his territory and one giving +10 for attacking defensible districts within 10 tiles of the city center. It sounds to me like this would be a situation where he has been established [after three turns] in a city you just conquered; making it easier to defend against enemy units still in that city's territory or coming in to try to retake the city and giving you a bonus for attacking other cities and districts in the region, of which there would generally be some within the 10-tile range.
     
  19. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,417
    LOL.

    "Hello, enemy city citizens! I'm Ibrahim! Don't mind me, I'm just going to set up an office over here to facilitate your conquest. Now, I know you might be thinking about pulling a Leonidas on ol' Ibrahim and tossing me down a well to gather a bit of water and soil, but don't bother trying that because you simply can't. Too bad, so sad, but I assure you will all survive and be delighted to accept the Ottoman yoke. Say, anyone know which direction Mecca is?"
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
  20. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,417
    They probably want to avoid the word "consume" because I believe the resources actually aren't gone, just allocated. I thought I recalled them saying that if a swordsman unit is killed or disbanded, you'd get the iron it required back. Could be wrong.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019

Share This Page