1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Silmarillion

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario League' started by Nicheal, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. techumseh

    techumseh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,246
    Location:
    in the frozen north
    @Aggie, weather is warm and sunny in the west as well. Check your PMs.
     
  2. Arthedain

    Arthedain - Celestial Being - SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    I finally installed Civ2 on my new laptop and I want to try this scenario out. It crashes on startup though. Guess I DON'T have civ2 unlimited. Where can I get it?

    EDIT: Nevermind, just realized I already had it ;)

    EDIT 2: Scenario still crashes after I've choisen faction.
     
  3. Takhisis

    Takhisis is it fall yet

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    43,814
    Location:
    up yours!
    Steam, which eats the souls of little gamers. Try an online shop.

    Wow, Arthedain playing a Tolkien game. Ironic.
     
  4. Arthedain

    Arthedain - Celestial Being - SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    :mischief:
     
  5. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    @Arthedain

    Hm. The CIV2Unlimited .EXE and .DLL Files i gave within my Silmarillion Folder.
    These two Files have only to be copied into the Main Directory Test of Time
    as it stands in my README i think. But that cant be the Reason why the Scenario crashes.
    You could play that whole Thing without CIV2Unlimited, that would cause that many
    of the Events.txt Units of the Dagor Aglareb would not be cheated, but it would be playable.

    If that would be an Events.txt Error, this Error would cause two Things after
    Loading the .SCN: A complete and fast Crash with a short Message of Outrating,
    or a Test of Time Pop Up with a Message. That it crashes after choosing the Faction
    is a Problem i dont know, perhaps your new Laptop has Windows 7 and therefor you
    would need a Windows 7 Crack like that older XP Crack, can you play normal Games Test of Time?

    I cant help you. I know nothing about -other Windows Versions and -English Versions,
    i got never any Hints by other Users. Yeah Guys! Tell me if there is a bad Failure!
    Hope you will be able to play that Stuff enjoying it!!!

     
  6. Hans99

    Hans99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Kingdom Württemberg
    @ Arthedain

    64 Bit system ?
     
  7. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    Cardiff
    @Arthedain

    The scenario works fine for me using Windows Vista. As Nicheal said, the scenario should run with normal ToT but at some point you will get the "Too many units" text and event spawned units will be blocked. The main purpose of Civ2Unlimited is to increase the 2048 (aprox) unit limit to around 32,000!

    I take it you have copied the Civ2Unlimited files (Civ2UnLimited.exe and Civ2UnLimited.ini) into your main directory and then double clicked on the Civ2Unlimited.exe to launch ToT. Do not delete any of the files already in the main directory, such as civ2.exe as these are still used to run the game.

    Out of interest, can you start up my Fortress Europe scenario which also requires Civ2Unlimited or does that crash too?

    Hope you get it working!

    @Nichael
    I had a look at the scenario yesterday. The map is epic! The units look great and it looks like a great deal of effort has gone into this project.

    I'm not trying to provoke an argument here but this is my opinion. I have never read the Silmarilion and my knowledge of the story is almost non existent. I have to agree with Techumseh when he says a scenario needs some kind of objectives and a read me to clearly explain to the player the situation he is in and what is expected of him. I see what you are saying about the scenario being free, much like the original Civ2 game, but upon first inspection I didn't have a clue where to begin, what I should be doing etc...

    That's not to say I won't try the game, but I can see how faced with a massive 400 turn game, which will probably take months to play, people could be put off starting. I think a more thorough read me and some sort of objectives would enhance this scenario. You could make the objectives optional so if players just wanted to explore and build empires they can, and if they wan't to go for the throat and achieve the scenario goals as quickly as possible they can do that instead. This way everyone's happy! Just a friendly suggestion.
     
  8. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    Cardiff
  9. Arthedain

    Arthedain - Celestial Being - SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    @Hans99: 64 bit indeed. I guess I have much to lern now (like how to get bat-files to function properly).

    @all: I already had civ2unlimited so it works properly (both with and without the civ2 unlimited). I've no deleted any files. ALL scenarios except this one works. I can however load the Scenario.SAV but not start a the scenario.
     
  10. Hans99

    Hans99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Kingdom Württemberg
    @ Arthedain

    Is there any specific error message ?

    Does it went black as soon as it tries to start the scenario ?
     
  11. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    @McMonkey

    I gave the CIV2Unlimited .EXE and .DLL File within the Silmarillion Folder, like your
    ´Fortress Europe´ Firefox Document/README shows. Do i need further Files for?

    Yes, i understand. Therefor i would like to know how it works to create a Firefox
    Document/README, basically. Opened that by NotePad Editor and saw, that it seems
    like a Website by Source Code and Links for the Pictures in Folder.
    Yes, i understand quite well, that some Guys would need Objectives. I never did any,
    but my Game.txt -i think- or another .txt shows me the Way to do them...
    but i would need some Kind of Flags?, and my Events.txt is damned full by 90.4 and 90.6 kb!
    Furthermore, it is unlogical to get the Victory by conquering any stupid Towns,
    even if you conquered Angband the War is not over. Angband causes a bad bad bad
    Injuring of the Orcish Empire, such a bad they will never get the old Powers, but the
    Game can be still be played along. One of my favorite Games is ´Fantasy General´ or
    ´Star General´, a completely unknown sweet little 1.0 Bug Game, but i hate that,
    if the Game says ´o, bad, your 20 Turns are over you have lost´ while my damned
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarmies are huge. To only conquer some Objectives
    to defeat Morgoth or to END a whole World, that is unlogical and Morgoth laughs at you.
    You NEED to conquer ANGBAND!!!!!!!!!!!! Point.

    I will try to write a better README.txt, and perhaps to create a sweet looking Firefox Document,
    that would be awesome to see! And such a so-called Master Piece should -perhaps- include one.

    techumseh did many, and spent -it seems- much Time to create his ones,
    and i understand that quite well, but to critizise by Theory should have been serious and fair,
    and to critizise by playing i welcome. It seemed to me there was jealous Flaming
    of a silly and arrogant, annoying Market Crier (me!!!).

    if there would be any Need to understand the History, therefor i wrote a Short History in the Silmarillion Title.txt.
    The Problem at the Game is, that in Theory only one Enemy exists -Morgoth- which cannot be defeated.
    That is a Major Problem in my Mind, that you dont know what to do while you cannot fight anything.
    But, i played the Game ~100 Turns, and found out that i can do everything, even
    defeat Morgoth. There is -like in Fortress Europe- the Possibility to hold on long enough,
    until the smooth Tecs are built like Catapult to beat every Town.

    There is a Need in Supporting the Noldors Battle of Frontiers, if you play the Noldor
    you have to hold on til Death, and if you play the others, you have to support the Noldor
    to hold on til Death, until the united Research Powers were diplomatic used to reach
    the Main Targets of Research: Upper Class Siege Machines and the Elven Elite Armies.
    I had the suuuuperb Idea to give every of the Factions its own Armies:
    Orcs, Noldor, Gondolins, Nargothronds, Sindar, Edain and Dwarves.
    But as the so-called Sindar or -i think- Grey Elves and their King Thingol of the Sindar
    or Elu Thingol of Doriath, are the People of Beleriand, the four Elven Empires will get
    only Grey Elven Armies at the Beginning, and by Researching the Holy Empire they will
    be able to create their own Elven Elite Armies of the Red Noldor, the Blue Gondolins,
    the Brown Nargothronds and the Green Sindar of Doriath, and this Decision was great -i think.

    I will write all this in a new done Firefox Document, if i will be able to do, so that
    Guys like techumseh will be taken by the Hand to get their Satisfaction and to see,
    the Crown of the Master Piece... :D


    @Arthedain

    Yeah, i thought: Wow an Old Fanatic like that Mod not knowing CIV2Unlimited,
    was there a Comunication Error between McMonkey and Arthedain? :D

    I used a Thing called CivTweak to force the Barbarian Tribe. More Money, Monarchy
    as Government -High Empire in the Silmarillion and then that ´High King´ the Barbarian
    Leader already had- and then more Production by less Revolting People. A Matter of Perfection.

    Perhaps that caused an Error, Arthedain, i dont know. Its the Punishment of a great God
    to sanction my arrogant Speeches... :lol: sry that he makes YOU suffering too... ;)

    The iron Rule of Computer Games and Mods is: Try to make that damned Thing function,
    the Dumps will rest in Peace. Thats why the CIV2 Source Code is missing... :D

    Oooooooooo! Perhaps... the Map is too great, and that means: too huuuge...
    perhaps you could check in CIV2Unlimited the Max Map Surface 32.767...

    Hm. But funny Thing that the .SAV is working and the .SCN not.
    That .SAV is my Zero.SAV where i can work fine by only make some Clicks to .SCN that.
    They are ONE, these great Brothers. Seems like a sad Malfunction, but ask techumseh,
    he will appease you much saying: Dont try anymore, that Game is too bad anyway!

    :D


    Here is the current 1.2 Version of the CIV2 Test of Time GAME ´The Silmarillion´
    (For the five Downloaders: I took that Version from Page 2 to right here! It is the same 1.2!)

    I hope you enjoy

     

    Attached Files:

  12. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    Cardiff
    @Niceal

    You use the in game cheat menu to set cities as objectives (Cheat>Edit City>Toggle City Objective 1pt. (1). I think in ToT you can only set cities as Objectives, not Major Objectives. To set the victory conditions go to Cheat>Scenario Parameters>Edit Victory Conditions and set the protagonist and the various victory levels. It does not matter if the player fulfils the victory conditions within the 400 turn limit as they can continue to play on. At least it would give the player some measurement for how successful they are, even if total victory is never possible!

    To create a web page style document just use Microsoft Word or equivelent program (I have crappy Microsoft Office Word Processor :(). Copy and paste in any images you want and when you are finished Save As a HTML Document. There are other ways of doing it, but this is the easiest!
     
  13. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    But why have you added all these Images if they are totally IN your Document?
    Dont needs that Document the Source of the Links?

    Edit: O yeah, i saw after deleting that Dok1... that there was created another Folder... ok.
    That was a quite underwhelming Solution... i saw the Stars above! And then it was totally mundane. :)

    Yeah, i already saw these Toggle Objective Things. They got into my Cheat Parameters
    after having another Game.txt i thought. I could toggle Wonders as Objectives, plus
    order, say, twenty Towns as Objectives and order every Faction its Decisive by not
    giving that Game any Time Limits?

     
  14. Arthedain

    Arthedain - Celestial Being - SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    @Hans99: There's just a pop up with "civ2.exe has stopped working" and then I'm only able to click "cancel" (windows is searching for a solution).

    @Nicheal: I've checked the map option in civ2 unlimited. I've never heard of civtweak making civ2 crash. In fact, I've used civtweak many times before in my own creations and it has never caused any problems.

    As Nicheal said, it's weird that the .sav is working but the .scn crashes.
     
  15. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    Thats also sad to me, Dude, i can say!!!
    That McMonkey has no Problems to open that .SCN, and me, for sure, too.
    But a Tolkien Fan like you, Arthedain, it would be quite interesting to me, what you
    would say about my Game. I would say, take this XP Crack ToT.EXE in.

    It is really weird, that everything works, even the .SAV, but ONLY that .SCN not.
    I have never heared about that ´civ2.exe has stopped working´.
    It cannot be a Windows 7, or an Events.txt, or another Problem which i would know.
    Take this XP Crack, and run by CIV2Unlimited, or try to play it on your older Laptops or Computers.
    Perhaps, you could download that damned whole Thing new?

    good to hear. Two Things made me worry: CivTweak and CIV2Unlimited.
    Now there are still two ´Things´: CIV2Unlimited above Turn ~130 and Arthedain... :blush:

    By the Way, @techumseh and @McMonkey: My 1.3 will include a whole new README.
    I actually badger down by NotePad Editor the Source Code... :mad::D

     
  16. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    Cardiff
    @Nicheal
    I made the Fortress Europe read me by editing the raw html text. I did this at a time when I was beginning to learn about web design and wanted to start from the basics up. If you just wan't to produce a read me this is not the quickest or easiest way!!! Stick with an existing program (like Word or Excel). It doesn't really matter what the html code behind it looks like, as long as the read me looks good!

    @Arthedain
    I take it your new laptop is 64-bit Windows 7, right? I seem to remember someone at Civ Webring having some issues. I will try and find out if this is correct and if so how they cured it.
     
  17. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    Too late, McDude... :D

    I wanted to have my Title.gif ´The Silmarillion´ ontop of that README, and therefor
    i copied that Title.gif into my Word Document and saved as HTML Format like you said.
    That HTML Format Save generated automatically a Source Folder, but that Source Folder
    had a german Name called #-Dateien, what means #-Files.
    To change that Name i had to change the Source Code of my README, and i thought
    i could take an already existing Folder to take all these little Things in. Then i thought
    that this Title.gif would be there twice: as Title.gif and as Image001.gif in Folder,
    and i thought to take some Improvements imp.bmps into README, also already existing.

    So i wrote the Source Code down and now i use the existing Title.gif and imp.bmps
    without any Folders. Was a sweet Thing to badger down, and is done already.
    The Silmarillion 1.3 Version will include that new README.

    the damned Problem, McMonkey, is, that Arthedain said, that every other Scenario
    works, the Silmarillion.SAV also... the Silmarillion.SCN ONLY seems to be a Problem...
    and thats quite weird!!!

    Edit:

    There at the ´The Lord of the Silver Skull´ Entry stands ´Nichael´, could that perhaps be changed into ´Nicheal´?

    Perhaps, you should go into the Cheat Menu of the .SAV to .SCN it by yourself?
    As i said, the .SAV is the same old Stuff, .SCN it and it will be the same as my own .SCN.

     
  18. Hans99

    Hans99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Kingdom Württemberg
    @ Arthedain

    you may try this one,
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Hans99

    Hans99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Kingdom Württemberg
    @ Nichael

    started the scen today, is it on purpose that there are no roads ?
     
  20. Nicheal

    Nicheal Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    near Munich


    Yes.
    I understand, for example, techumseh very well.
    These Dudes try to create an ~80 Turn ´Panzer General´ and testplay and testplay,
    until their one playable Empire will be challenged by an exactly done Events.txt.
    They think about, where to build Roads exactly, which Improvements to build exactly,
    where which Units to build exactly, and everything is thought and thought.

    My Kind of Modding is completely different. I want a completely free Game.
    So i dont build any Roads and try to build no Infrastructure except the needed Farming
    for huge Towns. So i build an exact Number and an exact Kind of Improvements in
    every single Town the same, only Difference in -Huge and -Small. The same with Units.
    So i give by a ´Master Plan´ the Zero Infrastructure, Zero Improvements and Zero Units
    to all seven Empires and everything i do is quite a Zero Doing for a totally free Game!

    techumseh asked himself, perhaps, how i can say ´almost finished´ when i played
    not one single complete Testgame... he perhaps thought that Nicheal insane...
    but everything i do is quite a Zero Doing, and so the Events.txt too.
    The Silmarillion is thought to play a totally free Game over ~600 Turns like a normal
    Test of Time Game, where you can do/ and HAVE to do everything by your own.

    My Events.txt uses Schematics for a well done Gameplay while the fewest of my
    Event Files are cheating Turn based Units for an exact Battle. The most Event Files
    attend to a Zero Gameplay... and so you have to build your Streets by your own, Dude.
    Many Modders i saw made a huge Effort to place everything quite customized, every
    single Street, Irrigation, Improvement and Unit is custom placed, i dont make that Effort.
    I place everything Zero and equally by ´Master Plan´, and let the Game play by itself.
    That guarantees, that every single Empire will work the same, by the same Zero Chances,
    and that guarantees a bit of an Assurance, that i CAN know in which Way my proofed
    Events.txt will work, even if i did not testplay, Dudes.

    I would call all that ´general Basics for a free Game´.
    I knew exactly, what i wanted, and all that Failures in Game, might be only Counts of Units,
    and nothing else, theoretical... have Fun! And damned! Use my Skins!

    :crazyeye::)

     

Share This Page