1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Time to go into 'Steam Offline' mode.....

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Sherlock, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Sherlock

    Sherlock Just one more turn...

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Eagle, Idaho
    There's got to be a patch coming to fix the slow turn problem and maybe for some other fine tuning.

    Going on past experience it will likely break save games.

    I've gone into 'Steam offline' mode so I can finish my game before patching.
     
  2. Barghaest

    Barghaest King

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    You can just disable patching in the Steam Library until you're ready. Offline mode won't alway prevent patching (sometimes does it in background). Only way to guarantee no patch is too unplug your internet after launching the game or disable patching in the Library.
     
  3. l4d2bob

    l4d2bob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Seattle
    Patching won't break save games unless there is something with your PC.
    The patches fix stuff, and I'd recommend backing it up.
     
  4. TravisATWA

    TravisATWA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    kentucky
    Really? You must not have seen the Gandhi of America threads then ...
     
  5. Greasy Dave

    Greasy Dave Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    And FAther Christmas really does live in the North POle, I've met him!:lol:
     
  6. Vidszhite

    Vidszhite Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Gender:
    Male
    Hahaha... there was a patch before the release of GaK that turned my game as Mongolia into my game as Babylon. All my Keshiks had turned into great generals, and my one great general, Genghis Khan, had turned into a regular horseman. My happiness and gold was all screwed up.

    Patches break games all the time in Civ V. In fact, in some other games, even fixing a minor issue will completely ruin your savegames and make them unloadable. I don't know where you got this idea that patches will leave your saved games alone unless there's something wrong with your PC of all things.
     
  7. BobDole

    BobDole American Leader in Civ VI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Most patches haven't broken saved games (the last one did, but it was a pretty major patch), so it's probably not necessary.
     
  8. Barghaest

    Barghaest King

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Yeah, found that out from modding core files. If you add a new unit/line it messes up everything after it in save games.

    So when I was dinking around with adding a combat engineer I had to stick him at the end of the list cause if I stuck him right after settler all my workers became swordsmen and my swordmen became spahis and other hijinx ensued...

    When they patch they tend to add stuff to the files and not always at the end which can make savegames FUBAR.
     
  9. eris

    eris King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    On this forum
    Going on my past experience with patches, one and only one game got affected out of the several patches that have been issued and the hundreds of games played. So, based on that experience, there is little reason to do anything out of the ordinary. I've blown many more games than that all on my own for any number of reasons.

    Maybe we have different experiences. How many games have you had clobbered because of patches?

    If it makes you feel better do it. But it seems somewhat of an over-reaction to me.
     
  10. Barghaest

    Barghaest King

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Considering I dink with the core files, all of my save games get clobbered when they patch. Heh... but that's my own fault because I don't like the pace of the standard game...
     
  11. Saqe

    Saqe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Is there any news about when this slowness during turn change is going to be patched? After installing G&K my game went from slow to nearly unplayable :( I don´t understand why really since the game is still the same.
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,582
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Please try this here, might fix your problem.
     
  13. fenwayb

    fenwayb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    where did you hear about this patch?
     

Share This Page