1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

v 26, and above ALL Bugs/Crashes reporting thread

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by strategyonly, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    v3586 with content from v3587 that was not committed by DH yet.
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yea, and I suggested those changes be made in the first place:blush:
     
  3. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Speaking of performance, have you been able to test how fast C2C runs on Win8 as opposed to Win7?
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I am going to be very interested also, WHEN you run all the test you need to, thx.:)
     
  5. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    No perceptible difference
     
  6. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    How do you like Win8 in general? I'm trying to decide whether or not to upgrade for $15 from my Win7, but I've heard many say that Win8 is/is going to be the new Vista, which would be bad.
     
  7. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    It seems slightly more stable to me than win 7, but it's quite a big change in UI and takes a fair bit of getting used to (no start menu is still catching me out!)

    I'd say, by all means take it on a new machine, but I wouldn't bother upgrading an existing machine unless you need one of the new features (HyperV or disk storage pools primarily).
     
  8. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    So there is no way to get a 'classic' windows interface?:(
     
  9. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Not completely classic, no. You can switch from metro to desktop (I live in desktop basically), but even that has no start menu. It's basically the same apart from that aspect though.
     
  10. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    See SVN thread - I've just fixed a bunch of crashes, bugs, and big performance issues with recent SVNs. HOWEVER, there are still serious issues (which I'll continue to work on), so I don't recommend the current SVN quite yet.

    Outstanding bugs I've found and not yet fixed:
    • Combat seems very screwed up. Units that should win easily are losing attacks again and again (way beyond any reasonable possibility of random chance)
    • Archer bombard seems to work now, but gives a message saying it does 0% damage when it actually does do some damage
    • The promotion line stuff seems to be working ok for the combat I/combat II, ... line (for example). However the following lines are not working - I still have units showing all those promotions separately - flanking, shock, cover, city garrison (might just be that the XML has not been adjusted for these yet though - I haven't checked). Note - this is after a turn is played - you have to play a turn for it to 'convert' the existing promotions to the new promotion-line scheme - that's a small bug in itself - I think it should do that on load at the end of CvUnit::read()
    Obviously the first of these is the urgent one, and I'll work on that one first when I get started on modding tomorrow.

    @TB - if you want to work on (2) and/or (3) let me know and I'll leave those for you as they are less urgent.
     
  11. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    I believe that this may have been around for some time. I had a stack a while back of ten or so units with an 80% chance of victory individually, but 8 of those ten units lost to 80%+ victory odds, which I attributed to my crappy luck. But, an underlying combat issue would explain that.;)
     
  12. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    It was definately fine two days ago, when I was last playing mybgame, so I don't think this is a ling standing issue. Right now as far as I can tell, the attacker loses every combat.
     
  13. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    In SVN 3597 I get these error messages;

    Failed Loading XML file
    modules\The_J\barbar_hunter_CIV4PromotionInfos.xml

    LoadXML call failed for
    modules\The_J\barbar_hunter_CIV4PromotionInfos.ximl.

    Failed Loading XML file
    modules\The_J\barbar_hunter\barbar_hunter_CIV4PromotionInfos.xml.

    LoadXML call failed for
    modules\The_J\barbar_hunter\barbar_hunter_CIV4PromotionInfos.xml.
     
  14. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    That has been fixed on the SVN.
     
  15. shenryyr

    shenryyr serval

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    San Francisco
    v26p1

    shaman temple (deer) gives +5% food, as does shaman invocation hut (deer), shaman temple (seal), and shaman invocation hut (seal) ... basically there are 2 buildings for each animal that both gives 5% food bonus, seems there should only be 1 for each type of animal that gives that bonus
     
  16. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    I found the following bugs in V26 before I hosed up my settings and made C2C unplayable (Messed Up Settings)

    Greek Archers
    1. Greek Archers are graphically displaying as Greek Slingers.
    2. On the build pop-up screen (Greek) Archers have the generic slinger small icon.
    3. On the city screen build options (Greek) Archers show up as generic archers (I'm presuming this is correct).

    Chief Hut
    Chiefs Hut not providing negative crime. (no screen shot due to hosing my settings in an attempt to make multiple screen shots without exiting/reloading the game... much to my sorrow!)
    Size 2 city was showing +3 (or 4?) Crime per turn. City had a Chiefs Hut (-10 Crime) and yes Chiefdom is an active civic.

    Special Stone Workshop
    Special Stone Workshops were not displaying on: Marble & Stone tiles. They were displaying on Obsedian & Fine Clay tiles.
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,680
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    This is DEFINITELY my fault. It's a result of squeezing some less tested adjustments into the push to complete by the end of the weekend. I have a pretty good idea of why the problem exists since I know what I've changed. I will do all I can to resolve my erroneous mathematics this evening - it will take my immediate priority to resolve this. I'll let you know if I seem to have come up with a proper solution.

    I expected some hiccups like that actually... thus why I warned on the SVN thread to keep your save before continuing your games on this update. I needed you guys to help me in finding the problems that may yet exist here.
     
  18. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Originally the temple itself gave 5% for each animal resource you had access to and the invocation hut (monastery) did also. This was wildly OP according to many so I removed it from those buildings and added an altar like building (one for each animal and one for the temple and monastery) that required the animal to be in the vicinity of the city. The monastery version is only available to those running the religion as their state religion.

    Similarly for Druid (grains and potatoes), Ngai (horses and cattle) and Tengrii (horses) and another somewhere. ;)
     
  19. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    V26:

    New games with viewports turned on resulted in units on a completely black field.

    I'm playing on an XP machine and recently ran into the black tiles situation. Though it only occured on new games (existing save came up ok). With the starting units appearing on a completely black field.

    I wound up resolving the issue, simply by turning viewports off (easy to do even on an old computer on the 1st turn of the game), and reloading the autosave. The Terrain suddenly appeared! I saved the game, then turned viewports back on. Reloaded the save and was good.
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Combat system SVN, I can't loose when I defend but even a highly promoted wanderer can't attack a penguin and win.
     

Share This Page