Version 1.0.1.221a Available

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by AspyrRyan, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  2. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yeah, it just downloaded. Now, will that interfere with my present game?
     
  3. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    omg, what's with the cute "tablecloth" design on the map: red and white squares.....
     
  4. janthony

    janthony Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Works great for me. Free worker! Free great person makes up for losing the library in early game.
     
  5. cf_nz

    cf_nz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'm seeing some graphics improvements as well. The rather bland looking farms of previous versions are more vibrant.
     
  6. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    *gives Ryan a hug*
     
  7. Lancemoody

    Lancemoody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks for the patch--gonna do some playing this weekend!
     
  8. BritishSeaPower

    BritishSeaPower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    Graphics look much better and times between turns has been reduced significantly. Absolutely love this update.
     
  9. Moximus

    Moximus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    odd. I can't find any new patch information on the steam webpage and my copy of CiV hasn't updated. Is this because I'm in Asia?
     
  10. bed42

    bed42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
  11. dwlenkne

    dwlenkne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Just d/l'ed, and getting ready to fire it up.

    +5 to AspyrRyan for the continued good work!

    Thanks!
     
  12. Graven

    Graven Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Ryan, is there any update at all on hotseat availability in the future? I still haven't switched gears from civ 4 to civ 5 since I spend 90% of my playtime doing hotseat with my gf.

    Thanks in advance for any info.
     
  13. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Graven, I have no information on that. Except for Mac specific issues, our patches are based entirely on the PC version of the patch. If Firaxis implements hotseat on PCs, then it won't be too far behind for the Mac.
     
  14. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
  15. Graven

    Graven Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Gotcha...thanks for the quick response.
     
  16. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Thanks. I noticed that it was downloading something as I played this morning before work (WoW Maintenance day don't you know).

    I can't say I see a lot of difference, but that's because I'm at about 1750AD in my current game and Trading Posts now give +2g etc. But I do notice the changes in looking around.

    Thanks for the Patch Aspyr!

    Cheers.
     
  17. Zaimejs

    Zaimejs Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Seems to play quite a bit better. i came here today to complain. I haven't played this game in months... I'm on Spring Break, so I fired it up. Unplayable on the mac side. I booted to Boot Camp, and it played wonderfully. Same system... different OS. So i was going to b-tch about how poorly it played on the Mac. Hopefully, this patch seems to have fixed some of the bugs (knock wood).
     
  18. Zaimejs

    Zaimejs Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Still really slow with any sort of graphics.
     
  19. Muskie

    Muskie Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary AB Canada
    I downloaded the patch and immediately started a new game, as a lot of game balance stuff was early on. I'm Spain for the first time, still no Polynesia, but I haven't played with everyone yet...

    I didn't change my strategy much. One big thing is you now have a reason to build stables. Also Marble went up in value in my opinion as before I didn't know it helped build wonders at all.

    I like Tradition more now obviously too. I opted for a modified National College start I guess. I had my capital and researched mining and eventually stone query so I could use my marble. Work boats have gone up in cost, this is actually a big deal as they are my favourite things to buy as they are basically disposable.

    I founded a second city to cut off the isthmus and build my two libraries, then national college then great library. I still think I was not in the lead technologically. I didn't get to do much exploring but I did find the city of gold, do you get a huge whack of cash when you do that?

    I think I built a scout then a worker but I possibly built a monument first, I also took the new social policy where I got free monuments in my first four cities and then I expanded to four cities and stayed there for a while.

    I'm in second after many turns which is good for a new patch and a civ I never played before. I'm playing King I think which for me is difficult to win at, I've only done it once.

    Oh things seem darker overall graphically, but it runs OK, it is the later turns where it really drags so I'll give it a few more turns during the Canucks game I guess.
     
  20. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Retired Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    I may have missed it, but what does this patch bring the version too? I'd like to be able to compete in the HOF Gauntlets and was hoping this would allow me too. Edit: I assume it brings it to the name of this thread, but want to be sure.
     

Share This Page