1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Weird red terrain blotches, no antialiasing?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Valdyr, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. photophor

    photophor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    My splodge looks like the top of a wonder: The porcelain tower came to mind.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Swede

    The Swede Viking

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Borås, Sverige
  3. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I also confirm that patch didn't fix this for me either, even though the change log states that it was fixed:

    I edited the Bug List to point this out.
     
  4. Ighten

    Ighten Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    I think its two different issues.. Theres the not very discernable glowing red orbs which seem to form corners of a square and dissapear whn you zoom in(these appear to have been fixed)

    Then theres the red lava flow that appears on tundra .. These are still a prob
     
  5. Licinia Eudoxia

    Licinia Eudoxia Empress

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    See, I wasn't sure if those were bugs or just lava or cave paintings or something.

    I really couldn't tell, but then I saw this thread title.

    I was fine with it, haha, but now that I know it's a bug, it's bugging me. :(
     
  6. Perkus

    Perkus Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same thing, expected this to be fixed according to the .62 patch notes, and it was still happening - red blobs.
     
  7. Xicivilian

    Xicivilian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Still got the red dots. Have Win 7 x64, but play on laptop, so use DirectX9 gameplay otherwise low graphics settings and slow play on DirectX11.
    Got the latest patch.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. The Swede

    The Swede Viking

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Borås, Sverige
    But you don't have the latest drivers for your Nvidiacard...
    Install and try again... ;)
     
  9. Beef Hammer

    Beef Hammer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    So since the latest patch I'm still seeing the odd red spots on random tiles, anyone else still getting this? Any fix yet?
     
  10. The_Tyrant

    The_Tyrant Values Guardian

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    No fix yet
     
  11. Kamamura

    Kamamura Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Still seeing it after .275 patch (latest drivers, NVidia 650Ti)
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks for noticing :). List is at this part already up to date, because it's related to another graphical bug.
     
  13. Rundstedt

    Rundstedt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    It's very rare, but I'm getting the red splotches, too. ATI Radeon 5970 black edition, six-core Athlon rig. Probably not a display adapter or driver issue; my splotches look just like everyone else's. They don't seem to hurt anything, though.
     
  14. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    I get these all the time. I thought they were lava.
     
  15. Pep

    Pep King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Spain
    This graphic issue is still present in patch 1.0.1.348.

    My computer specs: Nvidia GTX 580 with latest driver (275.33), running DirectX 11 with max details and 4x antialiasing. Windows 7 64 bits.

    EDIT: Removed the savegame because I'm near the quota limit
     

    Attached Files:

  16. DagHammarskjol

    DagHammarskjol Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    This appears to still be happening! I'm playing Civ V, DX9, Radeon 5750M. I get the red dots in random places on the map.

    Have we had any updates about this?
     
  17. ImAPaladin

    ImAPaladin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    This is STILL happening!! Saving and reloading doesn't fix it. It seems once these blotches load into the game, they stick, most likely indicating some error when loading. It's not that big a deal but damn...they just stand out so much lol.
     
  18. grilledcheezz

    grilledcheezz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I propose this is not a graphical bug at all but a programming oversight. Could they be possible city start locations? My memory is a bit vague here but they seem similar to the random start location icons from Civ3's map editor. If you notice, they're usually located in desirable locations - even the ones in the middle of ice have fish/whales/deer nearby. Some of the red dots appear larger than others - these have more bonus resources nearby indicating a heavier preference for these locations. Perhaps the programmers forgot to have these red dot start locations disappear after launching the game. Any modders have any insight into this?
     
  19. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    They appear when the right blend between different tiles cannot be found.
     
  20. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    Here I've got a better example of what's going on:



    The affected tiles are both marsh tiles. They couldn't be blended in for some reason, so a red and white checkerboard gets drawn. This checkerboard is just there to prevent the game from crashing, but the initial problem is a blend problem.
     

Share This Page