1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

xUPT

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Valkrionn, May 31, 2010.

?

Should we merge the (optional!) xUPT mechanic?

  1. Yes!

    73.9%
  2. No!

    11.8%
  3. I don't care!

    4.3%
  4. PIE!!!

    9.9%
  1. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    From what he said, it's all in CvUnit.cpp in the DLL. So not python... And python would make it ridiculously slow anyway. :p

    Any rework of absolutely ANY features would be done via optional module. Spells would likely end up being one of those.

    Modifiers based on civ/type of unit would be good, and I'm already considering them, but first we need to get it working. ;)

    A bad pool? What, did the kids pee in it? :mischief:

    And where exactly do you think the hamster's golden eye comes from? :goodjob:

    Nope, sorry. Won't be out till 1.3 is released; Too much of a pain maintaining two separate code bases.

    All good ideas, though I'd have decimals round down.

    Still, need to get it working first.

    Exactly. ;)
     
  2. arcticnightwolf

    arcticnightwolf Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    ... your golden eye comes from pool into which kids pee'd ... ? ... :D
     
  3. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    ......:spank::sniper::deadhorse:


    My old avatar:


    The eye should be rather familiar.
     
  4. arcticnightwolf

    arcticnightwolf Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    lol :D
    I haven't known your old avatar ...
     
  5. lemonjelly

    lemonjelly Modding For Ethne

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    UK
    How old is that avatar? never seen you with it before :lol:
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
  7. Evalis

    Evalis Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    What about spells that affect team units? Like lightning storm and ring of fire? Many of these spells would become unusable. Maybe we could get them changed not to beat the crap out of your own units when this option is selected?
     
  8. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    That would be the 'Optional Module' I was referring to.
     
  9. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yeah, fortunately it seems to work fairly fast, but with a couple hundred units on one tile, it might slow down a little.

    I forgot to mention this, as I have no idea how interested you are, but I have a fully functional fort ZoC system. ;) I've been meaning to give the blockade mission and GG's ZoC too...
     
  10. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    What exactly do you mean by Zone of Control?

    Because our forts already put out culture, which is what I want honestly. ;)
     
  11. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    If a unit is in a fort, and an enemy unit enters a tile adjacent to the fort, it must either retreat and go around the adjacent tiles, or confront the fort.


    Mine too. :p
     
  12. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Ah. To be honest, I don't know that I like that; All forts in RifE have Fort Commanders on them anyway, with special abilities. Having ZoC in addition would likely be overkill.

    And I know yours do, same modcomp that was merged. :lol: That was actually what I thought you were referring to... Though I've done some work on two parts of that improvement upgrade.
    1. The 'range' tag that set minimum range between two improvements has been worked on. Previously, if you stopped a build halfway you could not build the improvement within the range, even though it did not exist. Got it set up to clear that, if you build a new improvement.
    2. Forts/whatever other improvements generate culture generate a certain amount of TRUE culture each turn, in all plots it controls
      • Actual function is ((iStrength + iCenterTileBonus) - iPlotDistance) * iRate)
      • iStrength = CultureControlStrength
      • iCenterTileBonus = CultureCenterBonus
      • iPlotDistance = Distance from the fort
      • iRate = 5 (set by define)
     
  13. Cyrusfan

    Cyrusfan King

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    I don't know about SoC, but it'd be nice if the forts/commanders got a chance to do some free damage as units bypass them (rather currently its entirely possible for our copious barbs to waltz past a fort untouched if they don't happen to end their turn adjacent to one).

    Also, I had a D'tesh FC stick around after his fort (originally a goblin fort) was replaced by a mine, in a hotseat game. I thought that had been addressed (as in I'm sure I tried replacing a fort in singleplayer after you said it had been fixed and it worked then).
     
  14. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    It should have been addressed in the team version.
     
  15. blade117

    blade117 The Unburnt

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Ether
    If you must add it, PLEASE make it optional.
     
  16. lemonjelly

    lemonjelly Modding For Ethne

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    UK
    It will be optional :D
     
  17. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Every single post I've made in this thread has emphasized it being ENTIRELY optional, and that no balancing (outside of modules) would be made for it.
     
  18. xeno_cws

    xeno_cws Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    I like this idea a lot! No more cramming all your units into one gelatinous blob and steam roll everything. With a 5-10 unit limit I'll have to put a lot more thought into what units to buy and where to put them.

    You should make cities be able to hold 3x as much units otherwise it might be too easy to capture.

    Also I don't know if you mentioned this but non combative units like workers should be exempt from the unit cap.

    Looking forward to the next update!
     
  19. arcticnightwolf

    arcticnightwolf Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    hmm ... i'm glad that i have access to rife svn :D
     
  20. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    It is also not in yet, so your access does nothing for this. :p
     

Share This Page