1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Avatar: The Last Airbender Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Andreman, Jun 18, 2020.

  1. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    I glad to introduce my Avatar: The Last Airbender mod. Current version (0.1) is about aesthetics, original gameplay of BTS was not changed. At time of writing this I haven’t plans to continue work on mod, so now it has Paused status. However maybe in future I will continue it (I don’t really know). I did this mod just because I wanted to :) and now I want to share it with you, for not let my work into oblivion. Hope it is what you looking for!

    Mod created in English and in Russian. Multiplayer tested.



    Features:

    * 9 Civilizations of Avatar World
    * and appropriate anthems for them
    * In-game Avatar themed music
    * Changed menu and interface color
    * Changed terrain design
    * Huge map of Avatar world


    Screenshots:

    Spoiler :

















    Download (0.1v):

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/a7v9q8eqlxj2dzx/Civ4_AvatarMod_v_0.1.zip/file

    Mod created for BTS 3.19, so it need to be placed into [Civilization 4 Installation directory]\Beyond the Sword\Mods

    Credits:

    * tipsycakes from DeviantArt for Main Menu art
    * Jeremy Zuckerman and Benjamin Wynn for music from AtLA
    * Isaias Garcia for some avatar inspired music tracks
    * NamesAreUseless for original Avatar map
    * tsentom1 and creators of Thomas War mod just as Fall From Heaven team for terrain textures
    * avatar.fandom.com users for larger part of civilizations and leaders civilopedia information
    * Kael and forum for modding tutorials, thanks
    * Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko for creating awesome world
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2020
  2. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,847
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Pictures don't appear.
     
  3. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    Fixed. Thanks for reply!
     
    Zeta Nexus likes this.
  4. Rosie the Riveter

    Rosie the Riveter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    For me, all of the names and descriptions in the mod were messed up, so I tried changing the language. This screwed everything up for the entire application so there is no text at all in the entire menu (all blank but i can still click on buttons). I can't change the language back to english unfortunately. I guess I will have to uninstall and re-install unless you have any ideas on how to fix this.
     
  5. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    Messed up? How it looked like? I once had the same issue (missed interface text). You should change language in options file (one directory up to SAVES directory, CivilizationIV.ini , 115 row
     
  6. Rosie the Riveter

    Rosie the Riveter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Ok I will try that. Thanks! (I attached the image of what the menu looks like rn)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Rosie the Riveter

    Rosie the Riveter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    I changed it back to English. Here is the same problem I was having yesterday. All of the modded text appears like this. Any idea how to fix this on my end?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    Root of the problem is that i did my mod within civilization with russian localization. Original Civ IV not using Unicode, therefore this localization used code CP-1251 to show cyrillic letters. For sure you use another codepage (1252) by OS, by default. I think it will work if you change system region or language to russian (automatic switch to cp1251?.. or manual change?...). Also, in russian localization russian language is first in language list - in international version English in first. So, you may try to use second language in list

    https://serverfault.com/questions/8...ine-the-codepage-and-locale-of-the-current-os
    (answer from mklement)

    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/7432545/change-codepage-in-cmd-permanently
    (answer from Kuroi Mizu)

    My powershell shows this (first image)
    How to change cp to 1251 (second image), region and time settings, then top right corner, top right corner...
    After previous step, result in powershell (third image), cp changed.
    However it may not help, i didn't get same problem in game
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  9. Rosie the Riveter

    Rosie the Riveter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    I switched to second language in the list and it worked. I guess because Russian was first language in XML files my computer was trying to represent the characters with English characters. Thanks for the help.
    This mod is amazing - couldn't be happier.
     
    Andreman likes this.
  10. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    Using second language in list (which lang is it?) - all text in English or in other language except text of mod?
    Thanks for comment!
     
  11. Rosie the Riveter

    Rosie the Riveter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    I switched the English and Russian definitions in the XML files manually so that English was first and Russian second.
     
  12. Andreman

    Andreman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk
    Manually? Wow. Doesn't it a lot of work?
     

Share This Page