1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Blue Marble V3.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by ColdFever, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. Brancaleone

    Brancaleone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Brazil
    I dont play online, so the multiplayer bug dosent bother me. But i cant seem to install this mod for BTS! I have the steam version of BTS, since its installed in a different folder than the Civ IV game.. In the installer, it only gives me the option to look for Civilizaton4.exe, not Civ4BeyondSword.exe, so i cant seem to install it... Am i doing something wrong?

    edit- I installed the bluemarble 3.00 for Civ IV, then moved the Art folder in the Custom Assets from "my docs/my games/civ 4/custom assets" to "my docs/my games/civ 4 BTS/custom assets". Kinda of worked, i think. Everything is pretty in the map now, but the interface/fonts/etc seems to be still the same (except for the sky background). Leaderheds didnt changed, for some reason, and my save game is not compatible anymore, it crashes the game.. ill have to start a new one i guess.

    edit2 - nope it dosent work. I started a new game and it crashed. So i deleted the custom assets folder and now the game works.
     
  2. Lord Neil

    Lord Neil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Ontario
    Nice Mod guys too bad it doesn't work on the Scenarios...

    O well :goodjob:
     
  3. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    Blue Marble works for regular scenarios and mods - except the author explicitly disables CustomAssets, as for example in BtS the WWII mod or Ryhe's mod do.
     
  4. kflorian

    kflorian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Is it possible to install Blue Marble for only single player games and leave BTS unaltered for multi-player games?
     
  5. MusX

    MusX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Poland
    any info about 3.13 blue marble compatibility??
     
  6. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    Yes, BtS patch v3.13 will fix the BtS bug where the game crashes because of CustomAssets in "MP" or "Lock Modified Assets" games. From BtS v3.13 changelist:

    Fixed CustomAssets MP crash
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=243264
     
  7. MusX

    MusX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Poland
    great!! i was waiting for BM all this time :)
     
  8. Lord Neil

    Lord Neil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Ontario
    um...
    In my game there is a square of hills but it appears as grasslands... im not sure if it is this mod or not but I thought id post anyway... id post screenshots if someone tells me how.
     
  9. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    Is it compatible with Multiplayer yet? I haven't been snooping around the mods in a while...
     
  10. MusX

    MusX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Poland
    @dutchking
    not yet but very soon, new patch 3.13 will fix current problem. And it should be released in few days
     
  11. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    Awesome! The only reason why I didn't d/l before was because of the multiplayer problem. :D
     
  12. Lord Neil

    Lord Neil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Ontario
  13. Bast

    Bast Protector of Cats

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,026
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This BTS version is just fantastic. I'm really loving the minor additions like small leader heads and backgrounds.

    Thanks!
     
  14. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    Firaxis fixed this bug with BtS patch V3.13, so with this version Blue Marble can now be used for BtS-Multiplayer. Kudos to lead programmer Alex Mantzaris for his support.
     
  15. Arlborn

    Arlborn Legendary Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,939
    So, blue marble works with 3.13??? Probably a noob question, but well!
     
  16. CivAgamemnon

    CivAgamemnon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Earth. Unfortunately.
    Yes, it does. With Single player and multiplayer as well. :)
     
  17. Arlborn

    Arlborn Legendary Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,939
    Thanks for the answer! :)
     
  18. CivAgamemnon

    CivAgamemnon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Earth. Unfortunately.
    Anytime, Dude. :goodjob:
     
  19. raba.yuugi

    raba.yuugi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    I'm running BTS 3.13 with EthnicArtStyles and Blue Marble 3.0 installed. I first noticed that the icon for Chariots was missing as indicated in the screenshot below. When I click it, Civ IV crashes and takes me back to the desktop. What could be the problem?

    Spoiler :
     
  20. raba.yuugi

    raba.yuugi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Okay, so I completely uninstalled Blue Marble and the problem persists. Sorry, folks. I guess the problem isn't Blue Marble.
     

Share This Page