1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Reports and Technical Issues

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    - Native Slaves yes, otherwise no. How did you capture then? Defeating barbarians, conquering cities, capturing workers?
    - Intentional, you need to control the holy city.
    - I found out, it's working as intended. I'd like to make this a little less surprising for the player but otherwise it's the best solution for how religion founding currently works.

    They have different names and different art. They represent different historical phenomena and have different requirements. I admit the documentation could be more explicit, but that's why it's the development version.

    However, you're only supposed to be able to trade Native Slaves. Do you have an example of something else happening?
     
  2. Ecthy

    Ecthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    247
    Yeah, when buying slaves off the Inca or the Aztecs, they're regular slaves. Shall look for a relevant savegame.
     
  3. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Regular slaves, converted from regular barbarians. I just double-checked in a China game. While running Caste System I captured barbarian Warriors and a Light Swordsman when they attacked (and lost) to my cities and my units, and when I attacked them. Used them to rush a couple of buildings. I then used World Builder to give myself some tanks and attacked some AIs to see what happened on city capture. I didn't get any slaves that way. Forgot to check on capturing workers.

    BTW, it's a 100% conversion rate, whether you're running Slavery or not. Every barb turns into a slave.

    Gotcha. Just wanted to make sure.

    Just so I'm clear on it, are the following features of Confucianism founding intentional?

    * Confucianism founds in China when a fourth civilization (whether it's China or someone else) discovers Contract.
    * China only gets a Confucian missionary if they are the first to discover Contract.
    * When China does not itself found Confucianism with Contract, the Holy City does not convert its ancestral shrine into a Miao. Instead, it keeps the Shrine (does NOT abandon it), and the city must build a Miao itself.

    And if I understand you correctly, the other religions in the game have similar behavior?
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Okay, that's definitely broken and not intended.

    Sorry, I should have been more clear here. The general rule to found a religion (all of them, not just Confucianism) is that you need to discover the tech and control a city that can become the holy city (i.e. in core area for the religion). If you're second, third etc. but do control such a city, you will found the religion instead. The exception is that if half (not necessarily four) civs have discovered the required tech, it will be founded somewhere in the core area instead. Since missionaries are the reward for founding a religion, they are not assigned in that case.

    The other thing you mentioned is a completely unrelated phenomenon. A lot of extra stuff that happens when a religion spreads (replace pagan temples, other religions disappearing etc.) to a city would only be processed when an existing religion spreads (naturally or via missionary), but not when a city becomes a holy city. I fixed this issue a while ago though.

    Just to be clear, none of this is specific to Confucianism, it's just more likely to come into play there because generally China is the only one who controls a viable holy city, so if it doesn't found the religion at some point this scripted founding comes into play.

    It's not the most elegant solution but right now the best way to ensure that the religion is present when the AI is involved.
     
  5. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    I see, thanks for the explanation. That makes sense. But ...

    Wait, what did you fix? Are Holy Cities supposed to convert pagan temples into religious temples (e.g., Ancestral Shrines into Confucian Miaos)? Or not? Because I'm playing the most recent git build, and I can upload a save where the Confucian Holy City contains an Ancestral Shrine. Is that intended behavior, or not?
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    No, this was intended to be fixed. If you want to show me a save, please give me one from before the holy city is assigned, as opposed to an example where the pagan temple exists in the holy city.
     
  7. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,668
    I just started a new game as Greeks, and by the time I spawned I had already lost the second UHV requirement.

    All I have is the save.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Attached. Just hit "End Turn." Confucianism should found in Haojing, (the Persians, I think, are the ones who break the tripwire), leaving the Ancestor Shrine untouched.

    Lemme guess -- Babylon built the Oracle. I haven't played more than a couple of Greece games, but Babylon always builds a Wonder before Turn 50. Usually it's the Sphinx; sometimes the Pyramids; occasionally the Oracle.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Why am I collapsing as China from unhappiness if all my cities are happy?!
     
  10. Alpaya

    Alpaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Camel resource supposed to use to train Camel Riders or Camel Archers but I can't find this option. There are nothing connected to Camel resource and I can't train any Camel type of troops.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    What's your issue exactly? You have connected a Camel resource but cannot build Camel Archers?
     
  12. Lost King

    Lost King Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    When playing as Babylonia if you discover a tech and your unique ability activates on the same turn that you complete the Oracle, you will not get the 2nd free Oracle tech (it thinks you already received it).
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Does that also apply for the free tech from the Oracle, or only if you naturally research a third tech the same turn?
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  14. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Downloaded new git version, tested it out. Still some Confucian weirdness.

    While playing, I hit Turn 124, discovered Contract, founded Confucianism, converted, got a missionary. "That's odd," I muttered to myself. "I'm certainly not the first to to discover Contract." I checked and no, I wasn't the first. How did I get a missionary, then?

    So I reloaded Turn 120 (most recent autosave) and proceeded. Again, I hit Turn 124, discovered Contract, founded Confucianism, converted, got a missionary. I looked closer at Zhongdu, where it had founded. No Ancestral Shrine -- it had disappeared -- but no Miao, either. And then I looked at the alert: My citizens had "abandoned" their Ancestral Shrine instead of converting it to a Miao.

    I tried it again, but tried something a little different. I advanced my tech rate by one turn, so that I discovered it on Turn 123. It founded Confucianism in a different city, I converted ... but did NOT get a missionary. My citizens still abandoned their Shrine, though, without replacing it with a Miao.

    So, two questions:

    First, the latest bug fix means that the pagan temple (for Confucianism at least) disappears. But it's because the people in the Holy City abandon it instead of converting it. Is this now the intended behavior?

    Second, I don't think I'm supposed to get a missionary when other civilizations get Contract before I do. And on the Turn 123 save, I don't. But in the Turn 124 save, I do. My question is, Buh-whaaaa?

    I've uploaded the saves from Turn 122 (for founding Conf. on 123) and 123 (for founding on 124). The behavior should be replicable just by ending the turn. Don't trade techs with India when they barge in to ask.

    Oh, also, the game tells me that Persia, Carthage, etc., have between 135 million and 150 million slaves available for trade. This strikes me as implausible.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Malchar

    Malchar Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    Make sure that you read the DoC civilopedia entry on stability. Happiness stability is rather complicated. Just because your city has more happiness than unhappiness doesn't mean it's actually happy. I forget the exact requirement, but you basically need to have some amount of surplus happiness, and it depends on the average happiness of all your cities. Myself, I made an excel spreadsheet to plug in all the data to determine how large my cities could grow while still maintaining the happiness stability.
     
  16. Lost King

    Lost King Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    The only case where it doesn't work is when you finish one of your first 4 techs on the same turn that you complete the Oracle. And in that case the bug is only for the second tech from the Oracle. In all other cases it works as intended.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    When the holy city is created, Confucianism is not your state religion yet, correct? So according to the rules, the pagan temple is abandoned.

    I don't think I ever said you need to be the first to discover Contract to get the missionary. The requirement to found Confucianism is to discover Contract and control a city in the Confucian religious core. I you are the first to meet the requirement, you founded the religion yourself and get the missionary.

    Heh, yes. Is that also in the saves you posted?

    Alright, will recreate and try to fix.
     
  18. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,194
    I guess his point was that camel is only useful to the Arabs.
     
  19. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,304
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Well that's true.
     
  20. Cosmos1985

    Cosmos1985 King

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    There's an issue with the TC events when there is no current city on the relevant spot, but it is already covered by culture from nearby cities - in that case the present culture is not converted, even though the new city is built correctly, leading to weirdness. In my latest game Portugal founded Malacca from their TC event, which did not exist, but was covered by Indonesian culture, so after the city was founded they only had 2% culture there, and was completely "boxed in".

    Castles does not obsolete by any tech, so they last forever and still provide XP boni to machine guns and other modern siege category units.

    Finally, what I'm sure is the most insignificant bug I'll ever report, the icon for statesmen specialists (both settled great ones and the regular ones) in the bottom left corner of the screen - when you hover over a city - shows the citizen specialist instead of the statesmen specialist.
     

Share This Page