1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Reports and Technical Issues

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I know this is old, but nothing happened to me when ending a couple of turns from this save. My commit is d742908.
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    It eventually finishes for me, but I will try to find out what is taking so long.
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I think it's mostly related to the fact that this move also kills Austria, which requires the game to update a lot of the game state. This still shouldn't be as expensive as it currently is, but profiling the code doesn't turn up anything unusual. It should be possible to optimise the routines here (actually it's mostly related to trade connection calculations which are one of the most significant contributors to long turn times anyway!) but that's beyond the scope of a simple fix and something where I do want to check if K-Mod already addressed this.
     
    h0spitall3rz and 1SDAN like this.
  4. TJDowling

    TJDowling Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    I already resolved this but just trying to figure out exactly what I did right. When accessing a new branch (that you have never accessed before) do you have to do a pull after a fetch? I had trouble with just "fetch" then "switch". Nothing happened, but then when I did a "pull" on the new branch and it worked? Is that the standard procedure?
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Not sure how the Tortoise client does it. What happens if you only do a fetch/switch?
     
  6. TJDowling

    TJDowling Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    It would immediately say "success" without anything loading... and I guess predictably no files seemed to change. So I guess with tortoise you have to fetch and pull for a new branch. If anyone knows better please correct me.
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    After the fetch? Because that would be normal. Or even after the switch?

    It does not hurt to make a pull after you're already on the right branch, I just want to make sure you actually are. The switch to a new branch should either fail or your files should change when switching to it.
     
  8. Vectors

    Vectors Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    502
    No matter what I do, it seems to crash after the turn ends, this is on the latest version
     

    Attached Files:

    Leoreth likes this.
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I get a stack overflow, but I can't investigate further, sorry.
     
  10. TJDowling

    TJDowling Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    If I recall correctly after the fetch and switch no files changed. Then after the pull the files finally changed.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Strange. Maybe it wasn't a new checkout after all? I don't know how else to explain this.
     
    1SDAN and TJDowling like this.
  12. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    From my understanding, a fetch does not download the changed files. It only "informs your local git" that a new remote branch is present and provides the path from which future pulls should get the updates. A pull action should be preformed to download the changes.

    If you do a fetch to get a new branch, always do a pull afterwards.
     
    TJDowling likes this.
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Okay, that's not how the git client itself behaves though.
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I did not notice this when I first read your post. The reason you see this is because your unit graphics settings are too low. Lower settings are not completely supported because doing so would create too much additional work. On current computers, even low end ones, there is really no reason not to set the unit graphics to the highest level. They have no perceptible impact on the overall game performance.
     
  15. Zaddy

    Zaddy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Is the AI not affected by the wonder limit? Russia has built 6 wonders in Moscow and 7 in Kiev. Both cities have refined culture. Meanwhile, I can only build 4 wonders with refined culture. Save attached if this is a bug. This save is a few revisions old.
     

    Attached Files:

    Leoreth likes this.
  16. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Only wonders that are not obsoleted count. Maybe some of the wonders in Moscow and Kiev are already obsoleted.
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    They are intended to be affected, I will verify if that's the case.
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  18. alexey795

    alexey795 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    after the end of the turn the game collapses
     

    Attached Files:

    1SDAN and Leoreth like this.
  19. Rodnok

    Rodnok Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    Prague, Holy Roman Empire
    Spanish Heavy Galley attacked my Heavy Galley sitting in the islands SE from Barcelona. They lost and the Combat log shows the odds were 5.00 (Spanish Heavy Galley) against 7.25 (Combat II 20 % + islands defensive bonus 25 %). There should be a bonus for the Coast attack of the Heavy galley, right? Islands are Islands/Coast.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,585
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I think attack bonuses for terrain types require there to be no feature on the terrain.
     
    Rodnok likes this.

Share This Page