1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    The Timeline for blitz use to be almost perfect and now since a recent SVN its gone back to going to fast in the years. In the faster game modes you need to have the time line go by months earlier and in the 1900's should go by days at some point. It use to be good. Can you guys check the timeline settings for Normal / Quick / Blitz. Right now its 1975 in blitz and I am just getting gunpower as the most advanced civ. My wife and I play these modes a lot. I know it was close before on some of those. Im not talking about the building speed or science or anything else just how fast years turn over later in the game. Thanks.
     
  2. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    I have not touched Blitz at all, so that's not a 'new' issue. It is highly recommended that you only play on Epic or slower, as this mod is HUGE, and anything faster just doesnt cut it.
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Well right now i am thinking about deleting Quick/Blitz, its just way to fast for this mod, even for testing purposes. I was even thinking of Normal being gone also???:confused::crazyeye:
     
  4. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    If there are actually people that use it, I'd say leave it as it does not really hurt and we can add more speeds. We might want to rename them all though.
     
  5. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    That sounds interesting, but i just dont want any of the guys right now, even thinking of redoing the timelines for these three, "right now then." Hows that;)
     
  6. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,777
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I want to say this, Epic plays Just Fine for this Mod. It needs no adjustments from my point of view and the 'timeline" is a-okay. (Don't be messin' wit purfecttion ya hear?! ) :D

    JosEPh
     
  7. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Tried to delete
     
  8. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Well. Last time my wife and I played Blitz on this mod a few weeks ago and it used monthly increments later in A.D. and worked out pretty good. Now it does not. So therefore something has changed. Not saying it was you. It was just a simple request and if its too much a pain then don't worry about it. My wife and I are in a blitz again and everything is fine except that the years are off.All one would need is just months instead of years and later days instead of months as time goes on. I know in Civ 3 you can calibrate each game speed to do such things. I am just not certain how to do that for civ 4.
     
  9. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    @civmatrix please avoid doubleposts, better edit last post

    @strategyonly I think you are right, its a good idea to get rid of the crazy speeds, which cannot really work as units are not being able to be used as when produced they are already outdated again. The speeds mess up the idea of the game and don't represent it well. Everyone who wants them still, could be instructed by a tutorial to do so by himself. For new players the option is just messing up their judging of the mod if they try to have a "quick" look at it and are disappointed.
     
  10. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    In reply to the below

    The majority who play this mod do it on slow. So it is nice to see someone other than me use the faster speeds.

    As to this reply:

    I also dont mind faster game speed because of the multiple production. I pump out 4 guys a turn and get to use them fast before they expire in being too old. Also buildings build faster in the Q on fast game speeds. I like that when I dont have much time to commit to a game. Some people don't like the fact that there is faster speeds because they believe it hurts the presentation of the mod in that it is not meant to be played at high speeds. But simply putting a disclaimer that the game is recommended on snail would rectify the problem of getting the wrong impression of the mod at high speeds. I don't seem any harm in keeping it because it does allow for some versatility.If it is overly complicated to adjust the timeline for the faster game mods then we will just have to live with it. But please dont delete it.
     
  11. Fanatic Noob

    Fanatic Noob King of Noobism

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Poland
    @ls612 : 1: hm, at some point it have sense. 2: Hm, now I see..

    @Hydromancerx : yes, and I still have modified version of ROM with your mod, and Polish Empire mod added by me, still C2C is bit better, so I would try to add Polish as civ later for my games

    Epic speed is still not perfect for this mod, at 2019 AD (and multiple research per turn sometime occur) I still researching Electronics... xd, when I played it on faster speeds was even more bad...
     
  12. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    I used HAND at one point, but it crashed so often that I abandoned it. :rolleyes: That's how I found C2C originally.
     
  13. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Well I am glad C2C was made since its a much better game than trying to build on top of someone else's game while they are making it. For the most part we all have collaborative control over things. Heck even the players have some control over what features get changed. Which is really cool since when their ideas get put into the game they are more likely to have a personal investment into the game. I know I sure did when Afforess made my requests.

    Of course not everyone will agree on everything but I would say for the most part the positives out weigh the negatives of C2C. And we keep improving and adjusting thing much faster than say RoM/AND ever did.

    I think its mainly from the power of the SVN and an active team. You can build, test and fix things so much faster. I mean look at even the amount of stuff that is included every month. Each could be their own mini-expansion since they almost always include new features and new or improved multiple modules.
     
  14. Fanatic Noob

    Fanatic Noob King of Noobism

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Poland
    Hydromancerx, your mod was adding a much in ROM, maybe was bit not balanced, but now I see your part in C2C is huge, and now things more balanced, but still I think some tune-ups would be wise ; ] I like how power works in C2C (with lines and multiple powerplants in one city - power usage would be next step if that would be possible)

    By the way, is there much troubles with animated 3d leaderheads on 3GB (or more) RAM machine? I not experienced it was a problem in ROM (with add-ons), and in previous relase of C2C, so maybe there could be some option in mod to turn them off and on? ; ]
     
  15. dima1980

    dima1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    UA
    can be added for each period of its setting ? - iResearchPercent, iBuildPercent ....

    file CIV4GameSpeedInfo.xml
     
  16. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    I'm sorry, but I'm not quite certain what you are asking.
     
  17. dima1980

    dima1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    UA
    I mean a step change of time - 20 years, 10 - 3 - 2 - 1 year

    is it possible for each of these periods, set their own coefficients ?


    who do not understand - see the file - CIV4GameSpeedInfo.xml
     
  18. rightfuture

    rightfuture Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Hey guys, could you also create a sub-forum for Eras, that includes just threads for each era (including alternative ones). That way everyone can make suggestions as they come up, and the eras don't disappear in thread history of the forum.

    Like:
    C2C Eras sub-forum:
    Prehistoric
    Classical
    Medieval
    etc.
    Transhuman
    Galactic
    etc.
    Steampunk
    Golden Age
    Post - Holocaust
    etc.

    Also could you create a sub-forum to organize major C2C working ideas, so people also can keep up with them.
    C2C - Major Ideas sub-forum :
    Subdued animals
    Crime and punishment
    Extending the generic property system
    Flammability
    Unhealthiness mod
    Progenitor civs
    Events
    etc.

    That way types of threads are more organized.

    Another idea is to have a sub-forum with improving Civ IV specific features
    C2C - Civ Feature discussion:
    C2C -Units
    C2C -Technologies
    C2C -Specialists
    C2C -Terrains
    C2C - Improvements
    etc.

    Just an organization tip, It might encourage more ongoing and spur of the moment feedback/discussion, as well as keeping major features in the spotlight. Keep you from bumping threads. :)
     
  19. CapA2040

    CapA2040 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Indiana
    Sorry to ask because I'm sure they've been addressed before, but:

    1. Can I disable the static leaderheads? I kind of like the animated ones. Is it as easy as deleting the "static" folder from the modules folder? If not, what should I do?

    2. If I wanted to add a new civilization to C2C, is there a tutorial on how to do it?

    Might be worth creating an FAQ thread for this mod, since I'm sure these have come up.

    Awesome mod!
     
  20. Aevum

    Aevum Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Why is the forum being messed up so much lately?....The important ones were at the top, and the most recent on the first page....Now it looks like a new york phone book. :(
    Not that I'm complaining too much, just didn't think things were that unorginzised in the first place.
     

Share This Page