1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM1 (epic mod)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    jlvfr, with the Cruiser Project I wanted to give the players of CCM Betatest v1.8 a taste what will come with the next version of CCM. There is no description of that SW, as the descriptions at present are still lacking for the next Version of CCM.
    With the Small Wonder "Cruiser Project", avaílable with the tech "Marine Engineering", new lines of ships are introduced to the gameplay of CCM: Armoured Cruisers, Battlecruisers (WW I) and Battlecruisers (WW II).

    The SW "Cruiser Project" gives an Armoured Cruiser of the "Cressy Class" all 8 turns. This base-unit can be upgraded to civspecific Armoured Cruisers of many civs (p.e. for Germany to the Scharnhorst Class (WW I), France: The Gloire Class, Japan: The Yakumo Class, Italy: The Pisa Class, and so on.

    With the tech "Dreadnoughts" the basic unit can be upgraded to different WW I Battlecruisers and with the tech "WW 2 Ships" to different WW 2 Battlecruisers, amongst them the Hood, the Scharnhorst (WWII) and the fictive Lexington Class Battlecruisers.
     
  2. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Hi Civinator,



    I am not sure I understand you here (e.g. a horse doesn't have blitz either, but can still kill and enter a city in the same turn), but since you are aware of this behaviour that's fine.



    You are right, I forgot the points victory option. I would exclude Domination/Conquest for the AI though, at least in Huge maps, since we know very well that the AI is incapable for it.



    I think a good change would be to reduce the Tech Rate to 400 (for huge maps) + change to tradeable all the techs of the Industrial era as well. This would give at least a small chance to the AI to try for spaceship (although I still doubt it even with the changes).


    And a question about the Great Library in CCM: Is it supposed to work exactly like in the original game? Because in my last game, I had the library, eliminated my neighbours, and after many turns I met 2 advanced civs. BUT instead of getting from the G.Library all the techs known to them, the GL gave me only Chivarly, Alchemy, Navigation and it went obsolete :confused:
     
  3. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Gender:
    Male
    Drat, am not geting notifications...


    Ok, thanks :)
     
  4. clamel

    clamel Prince

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    A smaller Civilopedia error.
    Noting that British Artillery School can only be built in city with Military Academy.
    Well, it can be built in any city that has a British Flag.
    As you can see this city has the Flag but no Military Academy, and that is what one can see in the Editor.

    This is surely a great mod ...:goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    clamel, thank you very much for reporting that error. :)
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    Ray2, if the techs of era 3 all become tradeable, most Units of that era will become obsolete even before they are produced. I had early games with CCM and techtrading allowed until the end of the game and these games were no fun with nearly all becoming obsolete before it is produced. That´s why I changed it.

    May be I will introduce a late "Great Library-effect", limited for a very short periode, but at present I´m not sure about it.
     
  7. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47

    OK, I understand that. I hope that you can find a solution.

    Can you please answer my question about the G.Library? (see my previous post)

    Thanks.
     
  8. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    Ray2, there is no special setting for the GL in CCM. The GL in CCM goes obsolete with the tech Chivalry - and you received that tech early from the GL. There were some discussions, if the GL in C3C is bugged as many civers didn´t receive such tons of techs they hoped to receive:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=78394
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=99964

    There was also an explanation that the owner of the GL doesn´t get things automatically. The game waits for the next time someone else discovers (or receives from huts, stealing or trades) a tech the owner of the GL does not have, that at least one other player has. Then the owner gets it. If several other players have techs the owner of the GL doesn´t have, the owner wont get it until another player gets it somehow.

    These are some theories. I cannot say, if these theories are correct. I don´t know everything. :)
     
  9. Slimak81

    Slimak81 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Hi , what for is a supply shipment ? It spawns in great numbers and can disband them. What do they do ?
    thx
     
  10. Moosezilla

    Moosezilla Grognard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canton of Roaring Waste
    The Supply Shipment can move on it's own (movement rate 1) or be picked up and taken to your Palace city. I leave a unit there just to step out and "carry" it the last tile to get my 25 gold.
     
  11. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    Additionally to the post of Moosezilla, in posts 2 ff of the CCM-thread at CivForum.de there is an explanation of the most important new concepts of CCM: Under top 13 you can find the following:

    13. Additional Trading Possibilties for Random Maps:

    Since El Justo´s great mod AoI civers all over the world are aware that the "reverse capture the flag"-option can be used to generate additional trade in C3C. CCM tries to import this option to Civ 3 games with random generated maps but uses the "capture the princess"-option to achieve the same effect by escorting supplyshipment-units to the city containing the palace of a civ.

    Each civ can build the cheap SWs Tradingcenter (Silk), Tradingcenter (Ivory), Tradingcenter (Furs), Tradingcenter (Incense), Tradingcenter (Spices), Tradingcenter (Gems), Tradingcenter (Wines) and Tradingcenter (Dyes). Each of these trading centers needs that special resource in its city-radius and each of these trading centers autoproduces a supplyshipment-unit every 15 turns.

    These supplyshipment-units can move for themselves, but at least for their last move to the palace of a civ, the supplyshipment must be escorted by another unit of that civ what happens by moving that other unit over the supplyshipment-unit and pushing the "escort-button" for that unit. When this escorted supply-unit arrives in the capital of that civ, the civ gains 25 gold to its financal budget.









     
  12. FromRussiaIam

    FromRussiaIam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Hey Civinator,

    I registered just to say thank you, for an amazing mod that you created :D

    Since I have downloaded beta, I have found some minor issues, which I think I have to report to you.

    From the top of my head:

    - The Japanese MG had a wrong file path to German MG.
    - Kongo Class WWII was missing, so I found and put from this forum
    - Italian Rifleman Missing.
     
  13. clamel

    clamel Prince

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Much less important, But anyhow

    some smaller stuff in the Civilopedia.txt

    Concerning DRAFT.

    Opening Game concept Draft, doesn´t say anything about Theocracy can draft 2 units,
    it´s correct in BLDG_drafting, but you missed it in GCON_DRAFT.

    Then it says a population of 7 or more to draft a unit, but playing it´s probably 11 or more in your mod. However where is this changed in the editor,
    and also the standard turn for citizens mood being affected of a citizen in that city being drafted is 20. Can this be changed ??
    Where ?
     
  14. FromRussiaIam

    FromRussiaIam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Just to add to clamel's point, I have noticed this as well but with different govs. In civpedia it says population 7 or 8 but in reality it is from 11.
     
  15. HHJericho

    HHJericho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    CT
    When will the new update be put up?
     
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    FromRussiaIam, welcome at CFC :band:[party] and thank you very much for your kind words about CCM. :)

    - I will have a look into the Japanese MG path.

    - Concerning the reported missing ships I made a patch that can be downloaded at the CCM download site, but as far as I remember it was the Kongo WWI that was missing.

    - As far as I remember, the Italian rifleman in the betatestversions up to 1.8 was the Italian rifleman from the PTW \extras \WW2 folder (what in reality was a WW I unit).
    In the next Version of CCM it will be a unit made by Imperator.

    As it seems, that you don´t have the PtW WW2 extra units, you can download them here at CFC.
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    Drafting is explained somewhat poorely in the standard Civ 3 civilopedia as it doesn´t explain the factors behind the mechanism of drafting. I will have a look to a better explanation in the next CCM civilopedia (what is really a huge, massive work - what you can see here at the small top of drafting). So here comes my quick try to explain the modding concept of drafting:

    1. A tech is needed that enables drafting.

    2. A government is needed that allows drafting (in the government menue you can also select the number of units, that can be drafted each turn),

    3. Drafting can only happen in a city with size 2 or 3 (in CCM there is no size 3).
    This means, in the General Settings of the editor, where you also set the number of population needed, that a town grows to a City or a Metropole, you also set the minimum size that drafting can happen:

    City size 2 = Drafting allowed in that City.

    In standard Civ 3 you need a population of 7 to become a city, in CCM, I set the size to 11.

    The number of turns for drafting-unhappiness is set in the General Settings of the editor.
     
  18. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074
    Gender:
    Male
    :lol: When it is ready for it. :lol: Here a lot of work is still needed, especially with the texts. I will first upload a version in a nonpublic forum, so rhodie (and may be some others) can start the work on the civilopedia - and here we speak alone about some thousands of unit-entries). These many units must be chequed in a first step, if they are working well, including texts, garphics and sounds.

    There must also be done some tests with updating and running the new extended mainfile and mainbiq with systems like Win8, that I don´t have.

    So please understand, that I´m not able - and I also don´t want to give here a date, as this would be complete nonsense. :)
     
  19. HHJericho

    HHJericho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    CT
    I understand completely I was just curious :p
     
  20. FromRussiaIam

    FromRussiaIam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    thanks, now I got it. Did not know about the different sizes of cities in CCM, that explained everything.

    - Also, I have a Swedish friend that suggested Grippen as a last fighter for Scandinavia. ;)
     

Share This Page