1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization V: The Mobile Game!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by NeverMind, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    Visiting their site with an Android phone, I'm redirected to a page with android products, and I was unable to find any sign of Civ anywhere via the mobile version of their site. So I'm not going to take the chance unless someone confirms that they were able to run it.
     
  2. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Looks like a game that would be at home in the later 90s; the sprite art is kind of sparse and very detracting. iPhone games look way better than this now, even the ones with no 3D models and just plain art.

    But this looks like its made for the lowest denominator of phones.

    I'd like to hear more about how this games plays from someone who has it. One thing I noticed from the video is that the barbs actually attack the cities. That's new.
     
  3. cavvy

    cavvy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, Ca - USA
    too bad it isn't offered on my android :(

    probably a good thing to I'd never get any work done in the office!!!
     
  4. gladoscc

    gladoscc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Kinda obvious... 2k doesn't want gameloft competing with them for civ rev. So I'm sure it's in the contract gameloft can't make it for ios
     
  5. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    Canada
    BB OS 4-7 are Java based, the Playbook uses QNX's Neutrino OS as the core with Adobe Flash(via Adobe Air SDK) as the UI. The Playbook will run Android apps via a special player app that will prove the Java VM for the Android apps. And sometime next year the first QNX superphones will arrive and mark the beginning of the end of BB Java based phones.

    CS
     
  6. sav

    sav Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Since Civ5 itself requires so much juice to run, how is this even possible? Surely the AI must be pretty dumb...
     
  7. PreLynMax

    PreLynMax Your Lord and Master

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,325
    Location:
    In the depths of computer hell...
    Is it possible to turn off that god-awful anti-productive immersive breaking grid off in the moble version?
     
  8. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,852
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    I've sent them an email asking if there will be any Android and iPhone version as well.
    I wonder if they'll reply..
     
  9. Furycrab

    Furycrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    893
    AI scripting is usually not processing intensive. They might have limits on map size and such, and the obvious limitations on the graphical end.

    Don't have a smart phone sadly, but looks cool, love the idea of spending "one more turn" on the bus.
     
  10. magzhi

    magzhi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Gameloft cut out some parts of the original civ 5.
    There are no spearman, pikeman, rifleman.
    Swordsman, longswordsman, knight(this one is strange because horseman need horses while knight doesn't) requires no resources.
    There is no diplomatic victory. Science victory was shortened to make one part of the spaceship called "spaceship" lol.
    There are only 3 diplomatic terms: war, peace or pay/demand tribute.
    AI is really bad. Example: he sent lonely artillery to take my city while he had 5 infantry and 4 artillery defending his homeland against my 1 infantry(he successfully killed it after 3 turns).
    Tech tree was cut down however I don't think that was a huge problem.
    Game mechanics were almost the same. Culture policies were simplified.
    That is all what I can tell you about this game
     
  11. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,852
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Thought as much.
    Sound perfect for my commutes actually. A quick 15 to 30 minute game of Civ 5 :)
     
  12. Inception7

    Inception7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Uh yeah, if my 980x with GTX 580 chugs between turns I can't imagine how dumbed down this is going to have to be.
     
  13. NeverMind

    NeverMind Proud to be Russian

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Options -- Tiles:Off
     
  14. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,852
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    And they have replied. And quite soon as well.
    Unfortunately it's a hollow reply with no information whatsoever :(
    :dunno:
     
  15. narmox

    narmox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Canada
    Saying "java" can be a bit problematic.. Java is 3 different things:

    1 - programming language
    2 - programming API
    3 - bytecode interpreter aka Java Virtual Machine aka runtime environment

    Typical Java includes all 3 items, and this (well a mobile-optimized version of) is what runs on "java" phones, and it's called J2ME (Java2 mobile edition)

    Android's Java is quite different... It includes #1 above, the language.. but uses a different API, and a runtime environment called Dalvik. So it can't run actual Java java apps, only Android java apps.

    There -is- an actual J2ME interpreter for Android, but I think it's pretty much defunct or unmaintained and may or may not work properly on today's devices/modern Android versions.
     
  16. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Well, I don't know, I have a Samsung Monte (not Android), and I can say this game is AMAZING! This is the best game for mobile ever!

    I have only one problem: too aggressive AI. If it wouldn't be to aggressive, I may enjoy playing without always think about the "cold-war-stylish" gameplay, which is absolutely not enjoyable. Another problem can be the extremely bad diplomacy. Almost 2 options??? It is laughably few! I need 10, or more options, hey!

    Except these, I love this game. Absolutely civ-ish. Buildings, units, graphics, etc., all are just perfect! But it is my opinion, and please don't try to say "you're wrong" and sucha. ;)
     
  17. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    Canada
    I would try this out, but sadly they do not have a version yet for my hires screen on my new BlackBerry 9810, though they do offer a version for the older 9800 :(

    CS
     
  18. Yoshiegg737

    Yoshiegg737 Jungo Jungo

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Canada
    Yep, I believe yeah. CiV Mobile looks like an upgraded version of the iPod's Civ Rev and I was absolutely hooked on that game.
     
  19. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    I didn't have CivRev Mobile (as I don't have iPod only the Samsung Monte) but this is amazing, they released on Java! I was a bit afraid when they announced it will be for Android or Apple, but no, I read forward and Java! But I'm sad they didn't do on Android, because many people can't use it now. But at least I can. :)
     
  20. Sephlock

    Sephlock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    So wait, this is out, but not for the iPhone? Even though it's been about a year?!

    What about this? What happened? They even dropped the price of revolutions for the iPhone to 99 cents...
     

Share This Page