1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

CivNexus6 1.2.6

3D Graphics Tool for Civilization 6

  1. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,548
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    I tried this and now it works - thanks Deliverator!!!!
     
  2. Wolfdog

    Wolfdog Unit Butcher

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Australia
    * Convert all .gr2 Files in Directory to .fgx/.anm can be used to batch convert Civ 5 .gr2 animations files to the .fgx/.anm pairs needed for Civ 6.

    Not sure if it was implied or was mentioned elsewhere, but I found you need to use NexusBuddy 2 to re-save all animations in the directory before this step would work.

    This animation conversion is cool it saves so much time. Cheers.

    EDIT: Had a go of importing the longswordsman but it does not seem to know what to do with the sword. May have to remove sword from model and create an attachment point and use a Civ6 sword.
    Attachments.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  3. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes, that is true. You basically need to resave the vanilla Civ 5 .gr2 files before you can do anything with them. I should write up a brief tutorial on the process.

    I think it should be possible to set up new attachment points in your .ast/.bhv file e.g.:

    Code:
                <m_attachmentPoints>
                    <m_Points>
                        <Element>
                            <m_CookParams>
                                <m_Values/>
                            </m_CookParams>
                            <m_position>
                                <x>0.000000</x>
                                <y>0.000000</y>
                                <z>0.000000</z>
                            </m_position>
                            <m_orientation>
                                <x>0.000000</x>
                                <y>0.000000</y>
                                <z>0.000000</z>
                            </m_orientation>
                            <m_Name text="WeaponPrimary"/>
                            <m_BoneName text="Inven_L_Hand"/>
                            <m_ModelInstanceName text=""/>
                            <m_scale>1.000000</m_scale>
                        </Element>
    ....
    
    What is nice about the attachment points is you can tweak the position, rotation and scale which I have been using a little bit to get things looking right.
     
  4. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    Awesome! Glad we figured it out! :)
     
  5. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
  6. hugojackson18

    hugojackson18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    London
    Thanks Deliverator, will try as soon as I can!
     
  7. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    I've written up a brief tutorial on the conversion process here.
     
  8. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    Deliverator updated CivNexus6 with a new update entry:

    1.0.1 Update

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
  9. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    Using the new 1.0.1 version of CivNexus6 it should be possible to make edits of the vanilla animations.

    This process only works with the older version of Blender - version 2.49.

    Civ 6 FGX Animation -> Blender 2.49

    1. Open you model in CivNexus6. This can a unit or a leader or anything else that has separate .fbx animation files. For example, open Hoplite_ArmorA.fgx.

    2. Press Export Animation to NA2 and select the animation you want to export. For example, Hoplite_PokeAttack.fgx.

    3. All being well a file should be created in the same directory as the animation called Hoplite_PokeAttack__0.000-1.333.na2.

    4. Also export the model to NB2 format by pressing Export to NB2 (There is only one model for a unit so it doesn't matter which of the two buttons you use All Models/Current Model).

    5. In Blender first import the NB2 model, for example Hoplite_ArmorA.nb2.

    6. Now import the NA2 model using the script, for example Hoplite_PokeAttack__0.000-1.333.na2.

    7. Now switch to an animation view that has the Timeline window open, and right click the skeleton of the model. You should see all the animation keyframes have been imported and you can play the animation.

    You are now able to edit the animation before exporting it to FBX.

    Blender 2.49 -> Civ 6 FGX Animation


    1. Export your model to .fbx using the relevant script making sure "Enable Animation" is switched on.

    2. In CivNexus6 enter the name of the mesh into the Node box on the Additional Actions tab e.g. "Hoplite_ArmorAShape#M".

    3. Now open your .fbx file and the FBX exporter should run and the file saved as a .fgx file. Note: ignore what you see in the FGXViewer at this point - the skeleton data will be screwed up/missing bones - we only need the animation data and that is intact.

    4. Use "Save Anim" to save only the animation data to a new .fgx file.

    Now we have an edited animation that should work fine with the original model (or any unit based on the original model).
     
    Nutty and Wolfdog like this.
  10. Proclo

    Proclo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Spain
    1) Does CivNexus6 work for you? (Yes/No)
    No
    2) Which version of Windows are you running?
    Windows 10
    3) Do you have a 64-bit processor?
    Yes.

    Thanks in advance for all your work and help Deliverator!

    I have the latest version of the Civnexus6 but I still haven't been able to launch it. I downloaded the CivNexus6 1.0.1 ZIP; unziped and try to launch the civnexus6.exe. Nothing... the fgxviewer.exe works fine.
     
  11. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    @Proclo: Have you done this bit?

    To use it you will need to have the Windows registry key

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Firaxis\Tools

    ToolAssetPath value set to any directory that contains two directories one named "Assets" and one "Resource".
     
  12. Proclo

    Proclo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks Deliverator. However, I've opened the regestry editor an the only folders I've found there are Civilization6_ModBuddy and Projects. In this last one there is a file/registry?!? named CurrentProjectName type: REG_SZ and data: CivNexus6.

    As you all can see I have no clue of what I'm doing here. Any tutorial for dummies to make this run will be much appriciated!!!
     
  13. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,095
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    That registry key is created only if you've used the Civ 5 SDK. No need to install it, though, you can just create the key yourself manually ("right-click, New > Key" for "Tools", and "right-click, New > REG_SZ" for "ToolAssetPath", then double click ToolAssetPath to give it the path entry.)
     
  14. Proclo

    Proclo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Spain
    Nutty, thak you! Up and running right now!!!
     
  15. CivilizationAce

    CivilizationAce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Gender:
    Male
    Under Windows 10 Windows Defender stops me running it. Anyone know why please?

    I've run other downloaded .exe files without specifically installing them before without any problems.
     
  16. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    You could try running it as Administrator or making an exception in Windows Defender perhaps?
     
  17. vectorplexus

    vectorplexus Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey @Deliverator , when trying to export Montezuma (the rigged one, LEAD_AZTE_Montezuma.fgx) to NB2, CivNexus 6 gives an unhandled exception:

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at NexusBuddy.GrannyWrappers.GrannyMeshWrapper.getMeshInfo() in E:\mod\CivNexus6\NexusBuddy\GrannyWrappers\GrannyMeshWrapper.cs:line 286
    at NexusBuddy.FileOps.NB2Exporter.exportNB2Model(IGrannyFile grannyFile, Int32 modelId) in E:\mod\CivNexus6\NexusBuddy\FileOps\NB2Exporter.cs:line 209
    at NexusBuddy.FileOps.NB2Exporter.exportNB2(IGrannyFile grannyFile, Int32 currentModelIndex) in E:\mod\CivNexus6\NexusBuddy\FileOps\NB2Exporter.cs:line 154
    at NexusBuddy.CivNexusSixApplicationForm.ExportNB2CurrentModelButtonClick(Object sender, EventArgs e) in E:\mod\CivNexus6\NexusBuddy\CivNexusSixApplicationForm.cs:line 1038
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

    Any chance you could see whats going on there?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  18. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    @vectorplexus Thanks for reporting this. This is a bug that will be fixed in the next release of CivNexus6. :)

    Monty imported to Blender:

    monty.jpg
     
    vectorplexus and S3rgeus like this.
  19. vectorplexus

    vectorplexus Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Yay! I was starting to think it was not possible at all, because I cant seem to be able to preview it on the Asset Viewer either! Kudos! <3

    Oh and btw... do you think you will ever be able to offer us a way to import those curve WIG files? I'm slightly familiar with how curves work, from a end-user PoV, and would love to be able to use Fibermesh/Blender Hair Particle System to "craft" hair parts. I have baked some Fibermesh already to use, and even though its surprisingly easily handled by the game, I'm sure curves would be optimal
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2017
  20. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have no idea really about how the hair works - it sounds like you have a lot more expertise that I do in this area! I think it's quite unlikely I'll be able to extract any data from the .wig files, unless there are are classes/functions for doing it in the Firaxis C-sharp libraries, even the it is probably unfeasibly complicated to the data into and out of Blender then back into .wig.
     

Share This Page