Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    43,575
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    Ok, I've received my computer back. Worked fine for a while until I receive some problems.

    Sometimes the screen goes black and then comes back telling me that my ATI driver had stopped responding and has recovered.

    Sometimes the screen stays black and gives me a god awful looping sound as if the video card failed

    Other times it gives me a BSOD error with a 0x116 code relating to atikmag.sys

    Some days, there are no issues while others, I get plagued with these errors out from the ball park. Any ideas for a solution since I am contemplating on getting new video drivers for this thing before I ship it back to Best Buy (Again. And why I am sending it there is due because I have a warranty on it and bought it from them).

    (To be honest, I'm starting to warm up to the idea of returning back to Nivida)
     
  2. Quackers

    Quackers The Frog

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10,282
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Well maybe I was wrong about my own situation :lol: I have to move it when I go to UNI on the train and I can't transport it on the train when I come home for christmas/easter.
     
  3. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    47,152
    Location:
    US of A

    Decide how much you can transport, and see if you can find a PC small enough. Maybe a microATX case. http://www.xoxide.com/thermaltake-armor-a30-sff-case.html

    If that doesn't do it, then you likely are stuck with a laptop.
     
  4. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    43,575
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    I looked at my computer's properties. Is it normal for my installed memory to read "8 GB (3.96 GB useable)"?

    (And yes, I am running a 64bit OS)
     
  5. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    How about the X-Cube? Shoebox sized, packs up to a i7-2600k and 2xGTX580s or 2xRadeon6970s. You can also get up to either 6x3.5" or 12x2.5" (hypothetically you could have 2.88TB w/ 3.33GB/s reads)
     
  6. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,964
    Gender:
    Female
    I accidentally encrypted a PDF (hit the wrong checkbox as I'm stupid). I googled how to remove the encryption but I got all sorts of shady-looking payware. Is there a free solution or should I just recompile it (which would take some amount of time)?
     
  7. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,767
    Location:
    Canada
    No, something is wrong.

    Remake it.
     
  8. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,767
    Location:
    Canada
  9. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Just out of curiosity, which company for computer processors is the best?

    I can think of AMD and Intel off the top of my head, not sure if there are any more. I'm relatively certain that AMD is cheaper, though...
     
  10. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Depends on the budget and the use
     
  11. SeekTruthFromFacts

    SeekTruthFromFacts King

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    My friend is unable to access the Web on his computer (Windows 7 64-bit).

    He can access the Internet: Avast anti-virus updates; ping and tracert shows connections are being made.

    But neither Firefox 5 nor Internet Explorer 8 are able to bring up a web page. They try to load some very normal pages(Google, MSN, Baidu) but they're so slow it never loads.

    Any ideas?

    My best guess is a proxy involved somewhere. I've turned proxies off for both Firefox and Internet Explorer.... is there some other low-level mechanism in Windows 7 that would set up proxies for both Firefox and IE?
     
  12. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,921
    Location:
    Toronto
    The information on this page might be pertinent:

    Source: http://www.daniweb.com/hardware-and-software/microsoft-windows/windows-software/threads/303371
     
  13. SeekTruthFromFacts

    SeekTruthFromFacts King

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    Thank you, Shadowplay.

    Your Google-fu clearly exceeds mine!
     
  14. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,921
    Location:
    Toronto
    *crane stance* happy to help :p
     
  15. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The use would be for gaming, I don't actually know how to explain more than that...

    And as for budget, I'm interested in which one gives you more bang for your buck.
     
  16. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Depends on how much you have to spend, if you plan on gaming on the cheap like around $450 (post tax) you can build a decent AMD APU system with 4GB RAM @2000MHz (CAS 9)
     
  17. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,964
    Gender:
    Female
    Is there a free way to rotate an upside down PDF?
     
  18. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,240
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    Rotate your display with your NVIDIA/ATI/Intel control panel. Can't think of another way off the top of my head.
     
  19. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,964
    Gender:
    Female
    Thats kind of awkward to do, lol. I mean modifying the PDF itself.

    Question: Is it just me, or is Facebook taking over the entire world? I just got really disgusted because I saw a Facebook URL on a freakin' milk carton.
     
  20. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    43,575
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    No comment about twitter? :mischief:
     

Share This Page