1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Current v1.13 Development Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,529
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    The exact resolution I was comfortable with was 1024 X 768 btw. It was perfect. The text was in nice big letters, all the screens (tech, military advisor etc.) fit perfectly, with nothing cut off and the entire screen still covered, I could comfortably see the entire BFC in a city screen, it was beautiful. But the new civics screen ruined it. I went through every single possible resolution, and not a single one was comfortable in every situation. I could live with the various screens not taking up the entire display as long as they just aren't cut off, but who could play with these teeny tiny letters for ants? A mod which makes me wear my glasses and remind me of the inferior quality of the eyeballs that came with this shoddy meat and bones construction I'm spending my life in is not a good mod.
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,997
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I recommend contacts.
     
  3. cudfather

    cudfather Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    About the recent commit: I understand this fixes the crashes I was experiencing. Sad it breaks save compatibility - is there a way for me to use WB to finish those games? If so, what should I remove?
     
  4. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,529
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    You know the animation of Napoleon when he is annoyed? That is exactly what I have been looking like for days now.
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,997
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Actually, that fix was in response to the crash reported by NoShameD. Since your games proceeded without problems for me, I could not identify anything that would help you finish them, sorry. I suspect the problem is with your local machine.
     
  6. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,529
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    Behold, efficient use of space with the new civics screen:



    Just look at the entire right half of the military advisor screen in one of the few resolutions that doesn't cut off the civics screen, there is so much room for activities!

    Also Babylon keeps ruining my Egypt games with their constant Sphinx and Pyramids stealing. Like, it's not even funny, every single time they build one or the other when I am moments from finishing it myself, and they can still somehow waste hammers on a settler! What in Anubis' name am I supposed to do? Sacrifice a lamb to the Gods in order to make the RNG give Babylon the idea that maybe he should build Ishtar Gate or the Hanging Gardens for once instead of constantly stealing my wonders? Am I to train a bunch of War Chariots and pillage Mesopotamia? If I do that too early I can't possibly win the first UHV, if I do it too late my Chariots only arrive at their border two turns before they finish one of my wonders anyway.

    Why do you hate Egypt so much? You can't argue that they were communist!

    Ceterum censeo Central Planning buffam esse.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,054
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    Maybe you could argue a palace economy was ancient communism. :p
     
  8. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,529
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    What about the centralized grain allocation system in Mesopotomia then?
     
  9. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,381
    So I finally got the git, pulled the entire mod again, loaded Argentina from 3000 BC -- and old problems are still there. Argentina starts 1 SW of Spanish size 20 Montevideo on Spanish culture, at peace. Spain even willing to sign a defensive pact. 2nd UHV means one has to settle in place, which is impossibly close to Montevideo and forbidden. So my Argentinians declare a war, and against all the rules do not get teleported from Spanish culture, they loose all the horses but one of them keeps reappearing again and again (against all the rules) until I have captured Montevideo, very mature city, which I have to raze after all these losses, if I want culture in Buenos Aries.

    Why do I have to go through this? No more elegant way to start a revolution? Without breaking regular rules?

    Second re-run, this time on Monarch, different Montevideo but similar issue:

    Spoiler :
     
  10. Alpaya

    Alpaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I meant use those random events and quests which Civ4 and mod already had, just make them appear in the game more often. Maybe in far future add more of them.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,997
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Oh sure, I can look into that.
     
  12. mitsuko

    mitsuko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Why is that communist brony always giving you such a hard time? Also, where can I download 1.13 I only see the link to download 1.12.
     
  13. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    You can use Git to get access to the latest version.
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,997
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Regular update will be available soon as well. If I didn't have to waste so much time on communist bronies ...
     
  15. Shadow Warlord

    Shadow Warlord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    272
    Why would you need to raze Montevideo? Culture shouldn't be an issue once you conquer it. Plus you can just draft a whole bunch of troops out of it to buff your army (better than letting it starve).

    I'm more perturbed that the Dutch insistently settle the southern part of Argentina when they don't even have city names there for most of the spots.
     
  16. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,381
    Because you need to settle in place, and during the first run Montevideo was 1W from the other Montevideo you see on that pic.

    Even with the situation on that picture you still need to kill 4 Riflemen and raze the other city. Sub-optimal.
     
  17. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,529
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    Excuuuuuuuuuuuuse me for trying to help this mod become the best it can possibly be. I'll be out of your hair once 1.13 is out or I understand how this Git thingy actually works and enables me to easily keep a modmod up to date with the main thing, and then I will show you, I will show you all, I will create the bestest most perfect mod you have ever seen, and then you will come crawling back to include all my brilliant ideas in DoC! MUHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!

    ...

    Provided you still continue updating DoC and do all the actual coding seeing as I can't be bothered to do more than XML changes. Don't view it as leeching, view it as socialist market modding!

    Ceterum censeo Central Planning buffam esse.
     
  18. char81

    char81 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.S.
    It could be worse, at least you don't need to contend with Fascist furries.

    Also as a small suggestion, could the settler maps for colonial civs be made to be more flexible?

    So for example Britain might colonize in Colombia or Argentina sometimes instead of the east coast and Canada or the Dutch might actually colonize the east coast or even Canada. Spain and Portugal would probably need to be more deterministic considering that they usually reach the new world first and that the land they colonized irl was the best land available at the time.

    My main motivation for this is that if a civ collapses (like Portugal or the Dutch) places they would normally colonize (*cough* Brazil) often end up untouched (I've seen Brazil be completely empty for centuries if Portugal collapses). Basically my idea would be to make the AI prioritize certain historical spots IF the spots are somewhat decent and then non historical spots if the spot is really great or important/strategic, then the poorer historical spots and finally then the poorer non historical spots.

    I'm not sure if this is practical but I think it could make the game more interesting and more dynamic.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  19. Shadow Warlord

    Shadow Warlord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    272
    I see what you're saying. In that case, Argentina needs to have any cities adjacent to Buenos Aires autoraze when they spawn, like the Dutch do for Amsterdam (alternatively, you can try the 1700 AD scenario where everything is pre-placed).
     
  20. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,060
    Location:
    Canada
    In my experience the Dutch like settling northern Brazil if Portugal doesn't get there first, France too occasionally (both historical by the way). I think most areas already do have at least two civs that will settle it - for example, both France and England will colonize Canada, and the Dutch, Spanish, and French will sometimes go for the US East Coast.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page