1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Current v1.13 Development Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Canada
    It makes absolutely no sense whatsoever to make Scotland and Ireland foreign for the British.
     
  2. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Yes, they should be at least historical.
     
  3. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    Now statesmen from palace is gone, courthouse should provide 2 statesmen slots, like library and market does.
     
  4. char81

    char81 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.S.
    Scotland should definitely remain core, Ireland is good as historical. I still think it could be a good idea for a city to spawn in Scotland before the english spawn.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Vit20141012

    Vit20141012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Russia, Kazan
    Creation of the uniform Union State of Great Britain happened in 1707 (Acts of Union). In 2014 there was a referendum on independence of Scotland.
    In 1949 Ireland was proclaimed the independent republic. It was declared a republic exit from the British Commonwealth.
     
  6. Lokki242

    Lokki242 That One Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    As far as I know, Germany doesn't currently control the Congo, and the Netherlands doesn't control Indonesia or South Africa. Historical means just that. Historical. Not necessarily current. Not necessarily a happily ruled over region.
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    ^ my view on this.
     
  8. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    It seems a little problematic. This rule is to enforce player and AI recreate history on a degree. I suggest that historical area is the area you can settle. So historical and foreign tiles would be the same from stability perspective.
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    ^ not my view on this
     
  10. char81

    char81 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.S.

    For the purposes of this game it makes sense to keep Scotland core, there is no Scottish civ and Scotland has remained an integrate part of the UK for 300 years. Making Scotland historical or foreign would be like making Catalonia historical or foreign for Spain at this point. Ireland should remain historical, after all the British did control it for nearly 800 years.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. agentxorange

    agentxorange Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    Aren't historical and foreign tiles, by definition, different from a stability perspective?
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yes, however they also have an impact on AI settlement. Under normal conditions, the AI will never settle on an ahistorical tile. I suppose citis was suggesting to untie this relationship.
     
  13. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    I agree the idea of untying. Maybe we can try this.
     
  14. agentxorange

    agentxorange Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    Why would we want the AI to settle ahistorical areas?
     
  15. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    We don't. Historicallity of a tile is measured by AI's willingness to settle that tile.

    But yes I would like to see foreign and historical tiles be treated the same way for stability purposes. Obligating human to settle only in historical tiles is a good way to avoid exploitations in this scenario.
     
  16. cudfather

    cudfather Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Forbidding the player the freedom of choice when it comes to city settlement would radically narrow the scope of this mod, making it 'history-only'. There's loads of alternate-history buffs among DoC players, me included; don't kill our joy, especially since you have no gain from this (if you want to settle historically, nobody stops you from doing so).
     
  17. agentxorange

    agentxorange Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    That sounds very limiting and extremely problematic. None of the rules are in place to "enforce history" anyway. Why would we want to limit where the human (of all players) could settle?

    I'm actually very confused as to why there is so much discussion about stability and historical tiles right now. Those mechanics do not need a rework.
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Hey how about this, cities can only be founded at specific pre-selected plots. Better make sure they get founded at the right dates too so the pesky player won't get in the way. There'll just be a popup:

    Code:
    Do you want to found Boston?
    
    YES        HELL YES
     
  19. agentxorange

    agentxorange Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    You won't even have to build settlers anymore. You just obtain cities at specific dates. In fact, you don't even have to build military units anymore. You just flip cities at specific dates.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yes, but a little cutscene plays narrated by Nathan Fillion or whatever
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page