1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Development thread for 1.5

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by AbsintheRed, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    copernicus does not give free civil!!! in none of my cities.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Force44

    Force44 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    The Low Countries
    Play for another 10 turns and the problem will fix itself.

    Copernicus gives a free civilian for every town (cottage t4) . Not every cottage (cottage t1) , Hamlet (cottage t2) or village (cottage t3).

    Reval has one village and no towns, so copernicus will yield relatively little for this town, but in ten turns that is about to change (1 village will become a town).

    You can check it by cheating in a town with the worldeditor on one of the forests.
     
  3. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,278
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    No, it does work correctly.
    It's not a free specialist in all your cities, but a free specialist in that city for each town improvement.

    Having said that, at one point I was thinking about changing it to worked imprevements. Would that be preferred?
    Currently it gives a free specialist for all towns in the vicinity of your city, even for ones that are not actually worked on by the city.

    EDIT: crosspost with Force44
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2017
  4. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    way out west
    That could end up way OP with up to 20 freebies, I suppose.
     
  5. Swarbs

    Swarbs Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082
    With every worked improvement would make it massively OP imo. Not only would that be a potential 20 specialists in inland cities with good food (Paris, Frankfurt, Poznan and pretty much anywhere from France to Kiev), it would also mean it was very easy to build in cities with a load of hills nearby, each of which could gain production and a specialist from a windmill.

    I like it as it is at the moment, as you have to balance choosing a city with lots of towns, and hence poorer productivity, or a city with lots of production where there will be fewer towns and thus a lower reward. Similar to the wonders giving bonuses to sea tiles like Torre de Belem and La Lanterna. You are best off building them somewhere like Rhodes or Crete with loads of water tiles, but they have poor production so you need to strike a balance. I don't think it would improve the game to take that balance away from Copernicus' Observatory.
     
  6. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,278
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Ohh, sry for the confusing wording. I meant changing it to worked town improvements. Wasn't talking about a buff, but a nerf. Harder to reach the potential maximum.
    Now it is all town improvements near the city, I meant changing it to only the actually worked town improvements.
    Then again, I'm not so sure if it is needed. Cottages have to be worked on for a while to become towns after all, and it does not feel that unrealistic that specialists appear in the big central city even from unrelated nearby towns.
    If the human player wants to micromanage the city population and/or use close cities to grow towns and then switch them to this city, so ending up with a couple more towns (and also earlier) for the wonder than the actual population, maybe it's his/her reward for the effort.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2017
  7. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,278
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yeah, abolutely. I would never take away meaningful decisions from the game :)
    At least not intentionally, mistakes of course happen sometimes :crazyeye:
    I try to add/balance for as much meaningful decisions as possible.
     
  8. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Ok its my bad i thought its gives a free specialist in every city :(

    About lanterna, a great engeneer built it in visby and belem could be built after it.
     
  9. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    I have no idea how hard this would be to implement, but one thing I'd kinda like to see with Copernicus is something that allows plague-reduced towns to still give the specialists. I was running Genoa as a heavily-towned burcap with Copernicus giving me two engineers and about six priests. Then the 16th-century plague hit me, every one of those towns became villages, and cut something like half of Genoa's hammers.

    I understand the reasoning behind reducing hamlets/villages/towns when plague hits, it makes sense... but that one hurt :sad:

    Would it be possible to have Copernicus have a bit of a grace period when it comes to towns getting reduced? Like, still get downgraded to a village and lose that commerce, but keep the specialist?

    That's a different Wonder that becomes available around the same time as Copernicus... off the top of my head I can't remember which one.
     
  10. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    I hoped there is 2 such wonder :p
     
  11. Swarbs

    Swarbs Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082
    Palazzo San Giorgio with Renaissance Art.

    On the subject of wonders:

    1. Should Marco Polo's Embassy not require a later tech than Literature to stop the Byzantines from grabbing it early?
    2. Maybe Bibliotheca Corviniana should only give free techs from the same age to stop it being an easy rush for Astronomy
    3. Should Notre Dame not require Catholicism, as it's a Catholic cathedral?
     
  12. Force44

    Force44 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    The Low Countries
    To reduce the impact from plagues on Copernicus Observatory its bonus could be:
    1 bonus citezen for every (worked or unworked) town (cottage T4)
    and 1 bonus citizen for every worked village (cottage T3)
     
  13. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    I want to see Westminster being nerfed!its way too good to have RT so early!
     
  14. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    some feedback.
    AI use a lot of missionaries, maybe too much now. They always have +2 just in case.

    It used to happen: a forced respawn. The most annoying type of it. When you are not unstable, but the game decide that somebody hase to respawn. Like on the screensave, its no reason to their emerge just makes me more problem. (i had a cathedral there....+stability buildings ect.) But if you reload a last autosave from a few turn afar, it might be somebody else! (seems stupid)

    BTW, Norway is now one of the best civ around, to have a fun game. They are very versatile in many ways. I encourage everybody to play with them till 1320, and show us what he did!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    That makes sense to me (and would solve my problem, anyway). Is this doable from a coding perspective?
     
  16. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,278
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I'm not interested in doing it for the main mod. If nothing else (as they are way less deadly for units nowadays), plagues should be devastating to your economy/production.
    But if you want to change it for your current game, it's very easy to do it:
    (this is a very lucky request, you want to reach for a vanilla effect after all :))
    In CIV4BuildingInfos.xml search for the entry of the wonder. BUILDING_COPERNICUS most likely. There is an ImprovementFreeSpecialists entry somewhere for that building, which can be used for all kinds of improvements. Currently it's set to add 1 free specialst for each town.
    If you make another very similar entry there, adding 1 specialist for each IMPROVEMENT_VILLAGE, then you are good to go. Since village and town are mutually exclusive, you will only have 1 free specialist from a given tile, but you will get it both from villages and from towns.

    EDIT: Note that XML files are loaded to the game on startup, so you have to restart the game for your changes to take effect.
     
  17. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    Fair 'nuff. Thanks for the workaround :thumbsup:
     
  18. El Bogus

    El Bogus Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Cordoba starts with Decentralization instead of Trade Economy. Is that intended?
    Also you get a diplo penalty when asking for techs etc. as a present from Pleased civs.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2017
  19. El Bogus

    El Bogus Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Two other things: You can connect timber to your empire by building a fort on it before researching Replacable Parts.
    And a suggestion for for the UHV goal notification: Instead of "Rejoice! Goal 1 of your historical Victory has been accomplished!" maybe something like "Rejoice! Thanks to your hard work the first [written out] goal of your Historical Victory [either both capitalised or both lower case] has been accomplished!" would look better.
     
  20. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,278
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Kinda. Not really sure how historic it is, but I though they were not as trade focused as Arabia.
    That's vanilla Civ IV behavior AFAIK.
    Also vanilla Civ IV. Settling on resources also connect resources earlier. Or did I change that for RFCE some time ago? I'm not really sure atm :crazyeye:
    It's currently using the UHV ID, passed in the same variable. Well, I can convert it to a separate string for each UHV if it's preferred.
    EDIT: btw, it's both lower case right now
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2017

Share This Page