1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fall Further 051 Bug Report Thread

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by xienwolf, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Nothing to do with patch B. This is how it's always been. Barbarians can spawn in any tile which is any of the following.

    a: Owned by nobody
    b: Owned by the Barbarian State
    c: Owned by a civ which is at peace with the Savages

    Whether you can see the tile or not is irrelevant. And how close it is to your borders is also irrelevant, so long as it's not IN your borders.
     
  2. Alneowyld

    Alneowyld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I see, I wasn't expecting that. Imagine my surprise when I have four unowned tiles, completely visible and enclosed by my borders and three wolf raiders spawn in them, right next to my workers.
    Guess I'll just have to keep escorting them whenever they get too close to any tile I don't own, oh well.
     
  3. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    My experience indicates the spawning is the last thing done at end of the turn (after barb movement is done), so you'll always have the opportunity to move the workers away and/or move units to protect. So, escorting isn't strictly necessary.
     
  4. Alneowyld

    Alneowyld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I've been seeing that too, but the first time it happened, the area I was working was far from any of the other borders so I didn't really have any troops close enough to react to them.

    As for bugs however, I don't remember if it was mentioned, but the Grigori horse archer is showing up as a red blob in my game.
     
  5. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    civilopedia says you need military strategy to make a command post. But a great commander can make them before you have the tech.
     
  6. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    That's the difference between a "bug" a "user error". ;)

    Seriously, this doesn't bother me. It may be a change, but it doesn't seem bad IMHO.
     
  7. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
  8. Pohlmann

    Pohlmann Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    with the addition of goblins the chislev totem of the old enemy is rendered almost completely useless. goblin slaying should be included to this effect not just orc slaying
     
  9. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    How exacly is it rendered almost useless? Goblins don't get any stronger than archers and wolf riders. The main point of it is fighting against the Clan of Embers.

    But I think it would be fine to add a bonus vs goblins to the Orc slaying promotion anyways
     
  10. far_wanderer

    far_wanderer Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    454
    The Clan of Embers has large numbers of goblins

    Bug - Wolf Riders should be goblins (they're specifically set as Orcs still)
    Bug/Balance - For the Horde doesn't affect Goblins
     
  11. Alneowyld

    Alneowyld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I know, it doesn't bother me now that I know. :p Just means I have to be more careful from now on.
     
  12. Neomega

    Neomega Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,261
    Here is a strange sight bug. Open the game, and there will be a severed soul, press w to wait, and it will cycle to the next unit, and w again, you will see 2 of the units left to cycle through are lost in the dark or something, and cannot be selected except when cycled through. I noticed this at fist at the citadel near by (ancient citadel, I didn't build it), so I think it has something to do with the line of sight of that citadel.... maybe.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Darksaber1

    Darksaber1 Secret Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,220
    Location:
    Where you least expect me
    That means the unit ran afoul a Diakonos. Or, it's a threasure chest. (Ithink, I didn't check the saves)
     
  14. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Daikanos inflict BLIND status, which makes the unit impossible to select if you cannot see their tile. There was a relatively frequent occurence of tiles becoming visible when they shouldn't, or losing visibility when they should be visible quite some time ago. Could be rearing up on us again.
     
  15. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    Following up on the great commander / mounted issue, I've run into a related concern. One of the Jotar's big advantages is being able to walk over mountains and ignore terrain (and this will also apply to dwarves, elves, and others). However, when the GC can't do the same, it pretty much makes an army not able to use those benefits. In other words, the entire army can walk over the mountains or ignore terrain EXCEPT for the single person, the general.

    So, it's two related situations... mounted, and ignore terrain / impassable. Somebody suggested making the GC able to attach. That seems to me to be a big hairy mess, programming-wise. But it might work. Giving the GC the "race" of the civ will work for some of the situations (but not mounted). So maybe it needs some all-encompassing solution (such as "attach") or maybe a partial solution will be better than nothing.
     
  16. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    patch B, something fishy happens when you end turn in this savegame, possibly related to amelanchier casting his worldspell. lots of python exceptions, then a WoC.
     
  17. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Great Commanders being able to move with their armies belongs in the balance thread. It sucks, but it ain't broken :) I really need to keep this thread as clean as possible for the next month or so since I can't do much programming for that time period, so want to have minimal sifting work required to find actual bugs when I am unable to even check the forums for any extended period.
     
  18. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    agreed. Sorry about that.
     
  19. Kjara

    Kjara Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Minor bug: mend nature(scion's shadow lands creation spell), removes forests, but leaves lumbermills.
     
  20. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Fairly major issue (unless it's intended, I hope not) which I can't fix myself.

    It seems that teams, or at least human teams, share a great person count. When one member of a team gets a GP, the required amount for the other team member to get one increases as well. Discovered this much to my frustration, when I finally started to settle down and get a great engineer on Turn 157, only to be shocked at a 97 turn time, because my cousin had gotten several sages already, and we're on a team.
     

Share This Page