1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fall patch discussion thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Skulbow, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. CaiusDrewart

    CaiusDrewart King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Barbs are definitely an issue. I have no idea what kind of combat bonus the AI gets against barbs now, but whatever it is, it needs to be cranked way up. I'm finding Deity AIs plagued by barbs camps way into the Medieval and Renaissance Eras. I'm totally fine with Deity AI units getting +10 or +15 combat strength against barbs if that's what it takes for the AI to develop properly. Barbs are in the game to challenge the player, not to cripple the AIs.

    I've also noticed that in addition to not expanding enough, the AI is having trouble growing the cities that it does have. AI cities should pretty much always grow faster than mine on Deity, but I'm seeing size 6 and size 7 AI capitals while I'm at size 10. I'm guessing the housing system is the problem here. Again, I'm fine with the AI getting +4 housing in the capital and +2 housing in all other cities, or even more if necessary. I just want an opponent that can deliver a reasonable lategame challenge.
     
    Olleus and c4c6 like this.
  2. GhostSalsa

    GhostSalsa Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I like how much work they put in already, and releasing an incomplete patch suggests an intention to keep up that level, which means I'm optimistic for a good game eventually - so I finally paid for my own copy of VI

    It's still too boring to play even from turn 1. Not being able to produce anything, not even 80% of the things you research in the very first eras — excruciating

    These terrible tech quotes, just kill my vibe. Sorry you hate history, Civ VI! Haha my mistake for wanting to feel like it's the past!
     
  3. CaiusDrewart

    CaiusDrewart King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The tech quotes are a real bummer, and that's one thing that's very unlikely to change in the future. All they needed to do was hire an intern who had studied history or literature--pretty much anyone with a decent amount of knowledge in either subject could have done ten times better. I did a bit of investigating and it's clear that for a lot of quotes, they just googled "[tech name] quote" and took the first thing that came up. A lazy effort and it really shows. Oh well.
     
    Karmah, Fierro and qadams like this.
  4. jonpfl

    jonpfl Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    385
    Weird, I do not see any tiles that are a different color. I have a few mods running, I am guessing that it is messing something up :-(

    Thx
    jonpfl
     
  5. skyclad

    skyclad Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Haha that kind of reminds me of how in civ 5 all the tech images were taken from google searches, horizontally mirrored, and had cartoon filter applied.
     
    CaiusDrewart likes this.
  6. jblank

    jblank Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    The AI is STILL not upgrading units. I am in 1200 with Russia and the three civs around me are still full of Warriors and Slingers. Why is this happening??????????? What can be done????? It just sucks all the enjoyment out of the game.
     
  7. ThERat

    ThERat Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,380
    Location:
    City of one angel
    ok, so I fired up a game and having unclicked the tech and civic table on the left upper corner, I find that every turn they come back and you have to untick them again. I don't want them to clog my screen, far too big. Tech was never displayed that big before.

    Anyone else having this new issue too?
     
  8. Jabulani

    Jabulani Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    How and where pls to check how many peace turns remain before being able to declare war against a civ ? thx
     
  9. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,399
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    There's definitely going to be a patch when every Civ VI player gains access to the Aztecs, not just those who pre-ordered.
     
  10. isau

    isau Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,071
    I don't know if this is a pre-patch issue or not, but one thing I've noticed is that the AI is causing its Settlers to pace back and forth instead of walking to a position. I used the Reveal All cheat to watch how the AI handles its Settlers, and it seems to be struggling extremely hard with narrow terrain. Settlers will walk back and forth in place or just sit in the capital for turn after turn doing nothing.

    To push things even further, I experimented with a mod that gave every single Civ the "Expansionist" trait that Trajan has. It worked... sort of. Everyone built lots of Settlers. But the Settlers often didn't get where they needed to go. As long as at least one Settler is out there, the AI won't build another. So they just hang and never expand. This definitely needs another look.

    On the plus side, I'll release a mod tomorrow with the Expanionist for Everyone trick. It does at least make the game somewhat better, in that AIs who aren't tricked by terrain do expand.
     
  11. aguliondew

    aguliondew Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I just realized that you can not sell the extra great aritist/writers/musicians back :p.
     
  12. spfun

    spfun King

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    1) The AI spams joint wars now. Every game post patch I'm in a constant state of defensive war. ( As i like playing with 5-6 cities only, I don't take there cities ) This is worse than release version.
    2) AI doesn't escort settlers better now - This patch note is false
    3) I haven't seen much improvement with the AI, one game they sent over an inquisitor and just sit it in my land for 10 turns while I grew frustrated i couldn't improve the tile until it moved... In an immortal game Spain managed to have around 400 tourism by the end of the game which I haven't seen before. America had early cavalry one game... Still along way to go. IMO the AI in civ6 is worse than it was in vanilla civ5, at least there the game was easier to play for the AI. It didn't need as huge bonuses to play...
    4) I finally used some planes and noticed the animations are the same awfully long flying animations as they did in civ 5, something i complained about to no end! Luckily the animations are terrible in Civ 6 so i have them turned off after the first few games. ( I liked civ5 animations, had them on for like 1k hours! )
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2016
  13. Marlowe65

    Marlowe65 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Agreed. I thought the quotes in Civ IV were far more atmospheric. Though maybe it was just Leonard Nimoy. While I have nothing against Boromir or Ned Stark, I've loved Mr. Spock since I met him in September 1966, a week before my thirteenth birthday.
     
    Tech Osen and CaiusDrewart like this.
  14. CaiusDrewart

    CaiusDrewart King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Played another post-patch game. After reading that Great Generals bonus stack (???), I had to try it out as Rome. Sure enough, they do, and with 2 classical era great generals you can conquer an entire map with 4-move, 54-strength legions. Kinda fun.

    Anyway, in my first post-patch game, I had a pretty isolated start and didn't observe the AI too much. In this game I observed closely, and I regret to say that the patch has clearly not fixed the main AI behavior problems.

    --The AI still doesn't protect its settlers. The patch claims it's better, but I was seeing unescorted settlers all over the place. Firaxis, the game has an escort feature! Program the AI to escort settlers 100% of the time. If there's no unit available to escort a settler, the settler should wait inside the city until there is. There is no reason for AI settlers to ever venture out alone.
    --The AI still sometimes refuses to expand. Norway sat at one city! A Deity AI that can't get to two cities! This might have had something to do with Norway failing to clear a barb camp that was literally four tiles away from their capital, and thus being flooded with barbarian horse units. Just sad.
    --The AI still doesn't always maintain a modern military. The last AI I had to conquer was Russia. It was about 100 BC or so by the time my Legions got there. They encountered... one knight and about five or six warriors. This should never happen on Deity! Arabia and Japan were able to pose bigger challenges by very quickly teching to Mamelukes and Samurai respectively. (Arabia had Mamelukes before I had Legions, even though I beelined Iron Working from the start!) But if there's no unique unit, the AI doesn't seem to bother.

    The only thing I can say the patch has definitely fixed is city-state militaries. Those look much better. But the AI civs are still a mess, I'm sorry to say. :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  15. Japper007

    Japper007 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Played to a religious victory on Diety, the AI is still dumb as a brick sadly.

    AI still doesnt expand, at all, nor does it build any of the useful districts (it does build a lot of Holy Sites and Encampments though:rolleyes:). So it ends up with a handful of cities without any yields. You can give the AI massive yield boosts, but even a 100% bonus on nothing... is nothing.
    It's tactical skill is still pathetic, I wiped Russia with 3 slingers and a warrior.:lol: Then I spent the rest of the game watching England ineffectually smash units into Brazil, gaining one city in 100+ turns, and this was with her having Redcoats and him still at ancient/classical units.

    On the brighter side; the religious game is much improved. But because the units are now stronger but more expensive the AI has gotten worse at defending itself. Had 4 Diety civs fully converted before 1200...
     
  16. GhostSalsa

    GhostSalsa Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Settlers settlers settlers. Why don't they just make AI settlers behave as combat units when attacked. There's no step-on mechanic in civ that doesn't lead to self-destructive AI behavior so there's no step-on mechanic that should be in the game.
     
  17. BlackWizard

    BlackWizard King

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    AI gets extra settler only on deity not on Emperor Moderator Action: <snip>

    Moderator Action: If you can't post in a respectful manner, don't post.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2016
  18. AppleDumplingHead

    AppleDumplingHead Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,171
    I'm happy with the update, many steps in the right direction.
     
    Thorburne likes this.
  19. Onii-chan

    Onii-chan King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    AI gets an extra settler on Emperor and Immortal, 2 extra settlers on Deity. This isn't Civ V, sorry

    Though if you use the "Smoother Difficulty" mod, then it'll be true again (and replaced with higher resource yield bonuses instead)
     
  20. Sascha77

    Sascha77 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I haven't done the math, so I'm purely stating my observations:

    In Civ V I can easily run a deficit in the early to mid game - before I get things like markets, city-connections, a wonder like Machu Picchu or certain policies online. Especially if I decide to/am forced to build lots of military.

    In VI I haven't seen my income dip into the red *once* so far.


    S.
     
    CaiusDrewart likes this.

Share This Page