1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fallen Enchantress

Discussion in 'All Other Games' started by Kael, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. rhettrongun

    rhettrongun Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    TX
    I actually agree with where he was likely coming from here. He created the company, and people aren't held at gunpoint to be his employees. The last bit about the company's objectives is certainly factual.

    That said, he chose a poor way of getting his point across and comes off like an ass for sure.

    Regardless, I got FE for free and have enjoyed it thus far. They made up for the failure that was WoM from my pov. Including the beta I've apparently sunk some 70+ hrs into it, so they must have done something right with it.
     
  2. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer King

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    I have been playing it for about 2 hours now.

    So far I am extremely disappointed with it.

    The game is horribly slow (in pace), feels generic and bland beyond believe, and just makes me bored out of my skull.

    I have only played it for about 2 hours and yet I already don't feel any need or desire to play it again.

    Not the best 40 dollars I have ever spent :(
     
  3. Colin

    Colin Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Unfortunately, 'blandness' is something which always comes to mind when I play star dock games. I always think I should be enjoying myself, as I'm a 4x junkie, but something about the generic races, art style and writing always turns me off despite the things their games typically do well eg patches, ai, fan communication, etc
     
  4. rhettrongun

    rhettrongun Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    TX
    If you want to give it another go, try setting the "pacing" option in game setup to a faster setting.
     
  5. LDiCesare

    LDiCesare Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    France
    I feel the interface is clumsy (grouping units is not explained in the tutorial, among other things - the tutorial is rather bad, with the videos being quite useless).
    The yields (explained in manual but not tutorial) are hidden by the units above it in clothmap mode, which means you can't both see yields and cloth map at the same time.
    Lack of edge scrolling in tactical combat is very bad.
    Some items come with descriptions you can't read ("Against Az-Adoras": A lot of maybe good text pops up, but it's cropped and I can't read the beginning nor the end of it so all the lore part is lost!).
    In addition, running the "scenario" caused an immediate crash and the system stresses the graphic card a lot despite lowering the graphics as much as possible.
    In conclusion, the game is well-nigh unplayable for me.
     
  6. EddyGamerLP

    EddyGamerLP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    I feel that a lot of people are judging the game very harshly on first impressions.
    Overall I'm having a lot of fun with it but I did follow its development closely and so I knew the game before starting playing it. There is probably a learning curve to this game that is putting people off but I think this is one of these games that become more interesting the more you play and understand them.
     
  7. GAGA Extrem

    GAGA Extrem Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Gender:
    Male
    Regarding the learning curve:
    Is there any reason to pick conclave specialisation for your cities over towns or forts?
    Because except for a single one to add the unique buildings, towns and forts seem WAY more powerful...
     
  8. rhettrongun

    rhettrongun Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    TX
    Yes, in fact I will typically make my capital city a conclave unless there are some good resources (like a shards/crystal deposits) that fall outside my zone of control without the town bonus. Some of the conclave buildings are only useful if you have a decent essence # for the city though, so settlements with 0 or only 1 essence are best made into a town or fort.

    Basically conclaves are useful if you intend to use a lot of mana and you need to increase your tech progress. The combined tech progress modifier is +75%(+100% in 1 settlement/faction) from unlocked buildings like the library/college/etc, plus other percentage based/hard bonuses from city upgrades. And of course there are some conclave exclusive buildings that provide mana bonuses as well.

    Also, in my experience you shouldn't need more than about 2 fortresses for troop producing purposes. This is because of restraints like increasing wages and metal/crystal shortages. Sometimes it does make sense to go fort simply because a town is on the front line though.

    1 more thing I forgot to mention about having a lot of conclaves is if you were unlucky and find yourself with a very poor crystal supply late game, you can choose a crystal producing upgrade to your conclaves when they reach a certain city level.
     
  9. Takhisis

    Takhisis spells laser with an s

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,484
    Location:
    up yours!
    This sounds as if, like all civ games, this is an unpaid beta-testing scheme, doesn't it? I expect a patch to come in a couple months if people keep complaining…
     
  10. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer King

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    I decided to play the game for a couple more hours and it appears that I was a bit too harsh on the game.

    It still isn't amazing so far, but the game does appear to be more fun then I thought at first. I guess I just had a knee-jerk reaction because I suffered from some crashes and issues during my first 2 hours of play.

    I still haven't played enough of the game to come to a final conclusion, but so far the game looks like its at least a solid 7. It could better though.
     
  11. ddd123

    ddd123 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    yes usual meta is going conclave on capital since the buildings are much better and much more powerful early

    a fortress is needed too so you want to have 1 as second or third city
    town is the worst spec but even here you NEED one
     
  12. LostInTime

    LostInTime Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    You can feel the potential after a while once you get stuff. But there is still WAY too much annoying stuff going on sadly. The patrolling mobs coming from nowhere and wasting your cities and AI dogpiling makes the game less fun.

    This could be fixed in patches/mods though, and if they do this game will be awesome. I get some of the feeling I did from playing AoW. If they added some newbie friendly stuff in the start and more lore, I think this could be a very good seller actually.
     
  13. LDiCesare

    LDiCesare Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    France
    I played but one game, that was about 2h30. All the city building and research was meaningless. Early on, you get some research that you cant' use immediately. The ui doesn't help tell you anything. What do you mean, I can't build that because of metal? Where are the costs explained? Never mind anyhow, I just need to cruise my ruler with his domesticated umbergrowth (tame beast? way overpowered!) and slay everything I meet. Except the big indie monsters, which I ignore and let them take out my towns so I can concentrate on other channelers.
    I see little difference with EWOM. The ai still seems to have no clue, but admittedly I didn't play at a high level. Tactical battles must still be fought manually if you don't want to lose an unlosable battle.
    The wilderness is indeed dangerous, but the spawning monsters are more of a pain than anything. Some are jsut walking xp-baskets.
    I think there's a problem with the game because in Elemental, losing a city is never even an annoyance to me. All I care about is my champion, the rest isn't useful toward winning, so what's the point of it?
     
  14. EddyGamerLP

    EddyGamerLP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    As far as the few bugs and balance issue go I don't think we'll have to wait two months for a patch knowing Stardock.

    As far as better clarity I'm not sure. But they already announced that they will include some form of a tree detailing the city improvements for each types of cities so let's hope they continue in this direction.
     
  15. Takhisis

    Takhisis spells laser with an s

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,484
    Location:
    up yours!
    Sounds good. Now, how do I get 40 dollars?
     
  16. Heretic_Cata

    Heretic_Cata We're gonna live forever

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,587
    Location:
    Romania
    Wow, reading this thread, you'd think the game is some horrible, crap, excuse for a game. But reading reviews, it seems the game is not bad. Maybe you guys just had very high expectations.
     
  17. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer King

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    No, in fact I started playing it with a fairly cautious state of mind. The reason for why I am so far a bit angry with it is that there are some very sloppy design choices here and there that really make the fun suffer at times.

    For example, a couple of hours ago I had 2 armies located on the same tile (an army can contain 9 units at most) and I wanted to combine them because the second army only had 2 units and I wanted them to simply be a part of the bigger one. However I was not able to figure out how this is done since there doesn't appear to be any obvious way to do this. After doing a bit of googling I found some thread where other people were complaining about the same issue and someone said that it wasn't possible to combine armies. I don't know if this is actually true or if the devs merely made it so stupidily difficult to figure out that people haven't yet, but in either case it doesn't reflect very well on the game when such a basic feature that I would have taken for granted is either not obvious,or perhaps not even in the game.

    Another example of the game feeling sloopy and unfinished is the faction creator. The game allows you to create your own faction which is cool, but there is one big problem with it: After you have created a faction you cannot edit it afterwards. In fact as far as I can tell you can't even delete it in-game.

    I started working on a faction (that I named "Empire of Evil" as a joke) and after having made a few tweaks with it and written the faction description I pressed the save button to save what I had made so far and then thought that I would be able to continue working on my faction, but instead I just got a message that said "faction is ready for the game" or some stuff like that and then I got taken back to the main menu. I then went back to the faction creator but there was no load or edit button, so the only way to make the faction in the manner that I wanted to was by creating it all over again completely from scrach. Besides being annoying, its also extremely frustrating since it means you can't make a faction and then tweak it and change it a bit after your first playthrough with it in case you want to make some changes.

    And on top of that I had to call it something different because like I already mentioned I can't find any way to delete factions that have already been created in-game. To me this design just feels very sloopy and unfinished. Not to mention annoying.

    Those are the kinds of moments that make me angry at the game. This feeling of either not knowing what I am doing or the feeling of the game being unfinished.
     
  18. Hawawaa

    Hawawaa Prime

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Michigan
    Here some people that can help you decide

    Maddjinn- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVKECd8YLzM&feature=plcp

    Das24680- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nf0RKPSHrzQ&feature=plcp

    This is Stardock, are they perfect nope, do they learn from mistakes, take feedback, and crank out updates... yes. Frogboy has private builds, then betas, then patches get kicked out. First its bugs and then quality of life issues will be improved. Lots of updates with small features and ai updates too. Post you games against the ai and Frogboy will work on making the ai more difficult. Its not the end of the world.

    You know you can go into your FE folders and delete the custom faction right. (maybe in the coming weeks or so you can delete them in game)

    Did you research all the army size upgrades? You start at 4 units per army. You should be able to combine armies.

    Also in game Hiergamenon- like civilopedia. Also tutorial.
     
  19. GAGA Extrem

    GAGA Extrem Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Gender:
    Male
    Ayeup, that is indeed a bit wacky.

    You can delete (or edit) factions, units and sovereigns manually, they are stored at UserName/Documents/MyGames/FallenEnchantress (race and unit subfolders). You can change everything in the XML files, even traits and other stuff (so in theory you could create a faction or unit that violates the point cost limit).

    You can also change appearance (etc.). I, for example, have turned two of my henchmen into henchwomen. :)
     
  20. LDiCesare

    LDiCesare Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    France
    You are talking about the guy who banned people from his forums during EWOM beta because they were rightly telling him the game was going to be crap. They don't take as much feedback as you'd like.

    You don't understand the issue. Suppose you have 10 heroes in a tile. 6 in one group, 4 in the other. These are two 'armies'. No research will help for anything. Do you want to move one hero from a stack to the other? You can't. The only way to achieve this is to bring them all to a city, to separate some heroes from each stack, stuff them into the city, and then move them out. Then repeat with the other units.
    Considering there is no 'undo', if you misclick and separate one unit from your stack when far away from base, your only solution is to reload. This, to me, is a showstopper. It's beyond lame.

    Seriously? The hiergamenon is rather weak. The tutorial is a joke. It doesn't even tell you how to form stacks, nor that there's a limit of 9 units in a stack.

    Also, tactical combat is flawed. If you have for instance 2 moves, misclick and click one move short of where you wanted to go, you don't have 1 remaining move. That's annoying to say the least. It's also impossible to order a unit to Wait in tactical combat, meaning the units will stand in each other's path and will have too pass/lose a turn in order to be able to move. Since you don't control troop placement at the start of a battle, this is rather bad.
     

Share This Page