1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback: Maps and Terrain

Discussion in '[MAC+WIN] Civ4 - History Rewritten' started by Xyth, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Assuming you're on Windows, check the Troubleshooting & F.A.Q thread - there's a link to a compatible DLL there. You can just drop it in HR's Assets folder and it'll work.
     
  2. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Sweet! That'll make things a lot easier. My thx kind sir.
     
  3. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Ok, little confused on the 40 civ DLL. Do I place the entire folder in the /Historyrewritten/assets folder, or do I place the contents of the 40civ DLL folder into the /assets folder.

    Reason why I'm asking, is I did the first item, and I'm still only able to 18 civs. My thx for any input.
     
  4. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Just the file CvGameCoreDLL.dll, placed in /History Rewritten/Assets/.
     
  5. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Ahh! my thx.
     
  6. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Unfortunately, I have to say that I won't work on any other maps, because I don't have as much time now, and I don't know geography good enough (I've done the Earth map with the help of RFC's CityNameManager.py).
     
  7. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    I've found another problem with the Huge Earth map. In the region of central Canada, there are some lakes with a river running *next* to them (instead of through), which is not normally possible. This has some odd effects, such as the tiles on the other side of the river not getting the usual commerce bonus, but the most serious is probably that the adjacent Gas resource *cannot be used*. Even with a well and a road, it simply will not connect.

    I wonder what effect building a city or fort on it would have?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Added to my 'to-fix' list.
     
  9. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    That river problem got me thinking. The resources on that map were originally balanced for RFC. Now we've got more civs in the areas which were never meant to have civs.
    I'm going to completely re-do the resources for that map, as well as add more wetlands. I'll edit this post with the finished file.
     
  10. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Perhaps you could add a Horse resource near the Sioux and (possibly) Brazilian start locations? Both of those civs have mounted UUs that they will have trouble making without getting really lucky with a pasture. It's particularly bad for the Sioux, since theirs is a Horse Archer replacement, and will thus be obsolescent (verging on outright obsolete) by the time they can start importing horses from the old world.

    Oh, and a minor update on that Gas resource: Once I had linked up another Gas elsewhere, the first one *then* showed up as an extra. Very odd.
     
  11. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Got it.
    So far, I've added wetlands to Siberia, Australia, Indochina, South America and northwestern North America and, going from the very first resource, I'm on wheat incense. I'll put two horses in the Americas, more to represent the ones that went extinct rather than the ones that were introduced.
    I'm going mostly by wikipedia — where things originated, where modern day production is and my memory of the map. I'll balance it after I've placed all of the resources in good general locations.
     
  12. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    It's not balanced. For anything which I could not find data for, I just guessed. See my earlier post for a file with resources and a file without.
     
  13. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Tried the "with resources" version, but there were only two options for leader available. Also, it brought up the screen shown even when I tried to use the "custom scenario" menu option.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Oh, sorry.
    Remember to change the name of the original huge earth map and then rename this one as that.
     
  15. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    A few minor things jumped out at me on my first perusing:

    Since you can't settle on Ice in HR, the two Crabs in the first screenshot are almost useless.

    The Whales in the second and third screenshots aren't in the BFC of any possible city location.

    Aside from those, it looks pretty darn good to me!
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    I got a bit crazy with the water resources. I'll remove the extra ones. Also note anything regarding the balance — are some areas really strong, while others are really weak?

    Edit: I remember now. The American one is a mistake, but the South American one is meant to reward someone who gets a lot of culture.
     
  17. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    I just noticed that there is absolutely no copper in North America. Is that intentional?
     
  18. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    I used a map of global mining activities to place metals, and that's what it showed.
     
  19. Ixor_Drakar

    Ixor_Drakar Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    These are some nice changes. Especially the two areas I saw as the weakest, Congo and West Africa. Though I see copper was removed from Mesopotamia. Here are a few suggestions. Top left is the Zagros Mountains for Persia. Top right is the Timna Valley, can be moved or ignored. Bottom represents the richer areas of copper in Anatolia. The right one replaces the wheat while the left one replaces the mountain.
    Spoiler :


    Edit: Also I saw some nice map changes to Morocco and Iran in the Rhye's DOC map thread, perhaps they could be used here as well.
     
  20. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male

Share This Page