1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FfH2 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. souven

    souven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I thought I was running n but I'm running j... weird. I'm sure I DLed/installed n.

    Kinda annoying... save games are probably incompatible. Hate losing games that way.
     
  2. Opferlamm

    Opferlamm Prince

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Oldenburg, Germany
    :crazyeye:

    thats what he played ;-)
     
  3. souven

    souven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I don't understand this post. Isn't that what I said?
     
  4. Opferlamm

    Opferlamm Prince

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Oldenburg, Germany
    when I looked you had just edited your post to ...........
     
  5. Xentax

    Xentax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks! I can repro this with a new game fairly consistently (if it's interesting - not sure what goes into that kind of repro).

    Slightly related and probably noobish question - what does WoC stand for? I get the gist from the context, but can't guess what it literally stands for.
     
  6. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    WoC = Waiting for other Civilizations
     
  7. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    Sorry about the jargon Xentax. WoC stands for 'Waiting for Other Civilizations'. When you end your turn and the computer (AI) plays each of the other civilizations in the game, you get a message flashing on your screen saying 'waiting for other civilizations'. On a normal turn, the AI finishes and it is your turn again.

    If the computer goes into an infinite loop,then the 'Waiting for other civilizations' mesage flashes forever, and we call it a 'WoC bug'. The other main bug is a 'CtD', a crash to desktop. You can look at my buglist, I classify the WoC and CtD bugs by type.

    Of course, it is a lot easier to type in WoC than 'Waiting for other Civilizatiosn' so it is a convention that is used a lot - this isn't one of my inventions!

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  8. Xentax

    Xentax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    No worries - I work at a company that LOVES TLAs (Three Letter Acronyms), I just didn't recognize this particular one. Thanks for the explanation.

    TTFN :)
    -X
     
  9. *Yvain*

    *Yvain* Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Hi,
    wrong forum.
    @mods: Please delete this post.
    Thank you.
    But my problem still persists. Click on the link when you might be able to help (and also are willing to do so)
    *Yvain*
     
  10. yiumlaien

    yiumlaien Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    hi,
    My current game always crashes when I continue to the next turn.
    It's very annoying because I was about to start an extreme war against my biggest neighbour which has build up a very large army over the centuries, and each turn takes up to 10 minutes (real-time) to calculate the others moves, so I spent quiet some time to get up to that point ;-)

    Can you please take a look and try to debug it, so I can try my luck with that war? ;-)

    Thx!
     

    Attached Files:

    • st8.zip
      File size:
      892 KB
      Views:
      42
  11. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    Can you attach the game as a 'standard' save file, instead of a zip file? If you do I'll take a look.

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  12. yiumlaien

    yiumlaien Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    great, you can find the original save file attached to this posting.

    Inbetween I tried to change things by declaring war, but it still crashes during next turn ;-( So, that doesn't help...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm sorry, this is a 'Waiting for other Civilizatons' bug, not a crash. Your file is just too big for my machine. Maybe one of the programmers can fix it?

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  14. yiumlaien

    yiumlaien Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    oh no... hm... if that's just a resource problem, is it possible to somehow assign more memory (or whatever) to the Civ programm? any trick, configuration, ...?

    thx for checking anyway ;-)
     
  15. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    I doubt it. I'm pretty computer illiterate so I don't fool around too much - but you have to remember that I fix games by doing a manual binary deletion routine, and rechecking. It is time consuming.

    Your file is so big that when went to delete the Hippus, for instance, deleting their capital (Altherial - ta - Methial or something like that) alone took the computer 3 minutes or so. Other cities are a little faster but just the time to load the save file, enter the worldbuilder, delete cities, exit the worldbuilder, and test it is quite considerable.

    WoC bugs are harder than 'crash' or CtD bugs, because CtD bugs at least put you onthe desktop. For resource hungry games, sometimes to get out of a WoC I have to manually turn off the computer's power, and then take the time to turn the machine back on.

    Your game is very large because you are playing on a large map, there is very little water on the Erebus map you chose (more land means more units and cities), and you are very late in the game so there are a lot of units flying around.

    I doubt I could fix the game in less than 5 hours and that may be optimistic. Sorry, that's just too much for me right now.



    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  16. Terxpahseyton

    Terxpahseyton One. And many.

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,368
    Gender:
    Male
    yiumlaien you can look for the bug yourself by simply doing what Breunor would have done. Which is systematically delete cities and units until the problem is solved. The last city/unit stack deleted before your turn is not stuck anymore will tell you where the source of the loophole is.
     
  17. Emptiness

    Emptiness []

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,922
    There's no adjustment that you can make to your computer to prevent these WoC errors. They are not caused by insufficient processing power or memory or storage space. They occur when a bug causes the game to enter a processing loop that takes a longer to complete than you are willing to wait (including the possibility that it may never complete).

    Although it is theoretically possible to find and eliminate the cause of a particular WoC error, there is no way to prevent another one from occurring. If a turn goes 10 minutes without completing, or if the wait between each turn starts averaging more than 3 minutes (which is the most I care to tolerate) then I just make a judgment on who I believe would win eventually and then start a new game.
     
  18. Terxpahseyton

    Terxpahseyton One. And many.

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,368
    Gender:
    Male
    -.-
    Those infinite loops are one hell of a pain in the ass. Just got one myself in my first FfH game since a while, when the fourth unit of Armageddon arrives.
    Are those loops not going to finish never? I thought their were a result of some flaw in the calculation of unit movement which once it occurs will let the turn never ever finish.

    This is especially frustrating as my last Civ game, playing the HotK-mod, got caught in a infinite loop as well. But this one at least was almost finished. Now I am close to the peak of the game. Grrrrr... Well hopefully I'll find a fix.
     
  19. Emptiness

    Emptiness []

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,922
    A "true" WoC error is an infinite loop and will never finish. The trouble is that there can also be bugs that cause excess processing to occur, which can cause turns to take a very long time. Unless you let the game continue to process the turn until it finishes, there's no way to know whether you've got a WoC error or another bug that is masquerading as a WoC error. There have been some reports of people who have allowed to continue processing a game that is apparently hung on a WoC error and found that after 20m/30m/1hr/whatever the turn finally ended. The problem is that there is no way to know whether there is any point to trying this resolution, and also no way to know how long you will need to leave the game running. Practically speaking, unless one's time is genuinely worthless, it is best to simply treat any failure of a turn to end within what you consider a reasonable amount of time as if it were a WoC error.
     
  20. souven

    souven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Not sure if this counts as a bug or not but I think it should.

    Profanes (Ashen Veil High Priests) can summon Balors. The Inferanls have the Summoner trait so they stick around for 3 turns.

    Things is, those summoned Balors count against the National Unit limit of 4 that the Infernals can build. Balors replace Berserkers. It seems to me you should be able to build Balors independent of any summoned Balors. You can certainly summon 4 a turn and have 8 or 12 running around with the 3 turn lifespan.

    Just now I got a "You cannot continue constructing..." message when I summoned Balors the previous turn.
     

Share This Page