1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Firaxis: Patch coming next week

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Snackwell, Nov 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zertez

    Zertez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    If they would have posted last week, that the game had problems and they were working hard on a patch, I dont think as many people would be as upset. Tech support hanging up on people and quiet designers leads people to believe they dont care and have been ripped off. A simple post last week would have gone a long way.
     
  2. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Go ask Firaxis, they're the ones that made the game. And if I'm being rude, it's because of my frustration with people who refuse to see the connection when it's so glaringly obvious to me.

    Another one to add to my ingore list.
     
  3. Venger

    Venger Give it a tumble, sport

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    783
    Childish post of the month nominee. Anyone second this nomination?

    Venger
     
  4. logical_psycho

    logical_psycho Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    To me it sounds like someone put itching powder on his tampon.
     
  5. Daelda

    Daelda Peleahn Viran

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Idaho/USA
    I played a Huge map, Epic speed from 4000BC to 1909AD (when my wife dragged me off to bed) and as far as I could tell, I suffered no slowdown. Of course, I was too busy playing to really monitor it for my FPS or anything, but the only real problems I experienced were the choppy movies - oh, and that the French are still refusing to convert to Hinduism!:D
     
  6. franlato

    franlato Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    yay! it give me hope for the patch... :p

    and I understand why french refuse to turn to hinduism, i'm frend myself and I never would turn to such a religion! nah! :lol: :king:
     
  7. HounddogLGS

    HounddogLGS One Sick Puppy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Last time I checked they either put the acitivation codes on a sticker on your computer case or on a card with something to the effect of "DON'T LOSE THIS NUMBER" in big bold print.
     
  8. Justin13099

    Justin13099 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2

    NOW he says "go ask firaxis" , all of the sudden he doesnt have ALL the answers.......interesting.
    Can anyone shed some light on why these scenarios operate properly if the video card is the problem?
     
  9. nextgenciver

    nextgenciver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    It will never run well on 256mb. I had that when I bought the game and it ran extremely slowly. I then got 256mb more and it ran al least 10 times faster.
     
  10. MERV GRIFFIN

    MERV GRIFFIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I had a bunch of problems. Assets in a city were eliminated for no reason. Got physically stuck in place after (trying) to make a turn around a mountain edge (over and over again at that spot). Units just disappear for no reason. Momentary displays of units that are not earned (graphically and in the table list).
     
  11. MERV GRIFFIN

    MERV GRIFFIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I had a bunch of problems. Assets in a city were eliminated for no reason. Got physically stuck in place after (trying) to make a turn around a mountain edge (over and over again at that spot...not an impassible area, nor should it have been). Units just disappear for no reason. Momentary displays of units that are not earned (graphically and in the table list).
     
  12. MERV GRIFFIN

    MERV GRIFFIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4
     
  13. MERV GRIFFIN

    MERV GRIFFIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Forgive the triple message. The software made me think I was still doing it the first time. WEBMASTER: I tried to delete the first two duplicate messages, but could not locate how to do it. I must say that this is some out-of-date software you're using if I can't figure it out. Should be right up front if a messager wants to delete his message. Standard nowdays.
     
  14. Shakes

    Shakes Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Civ IV runs on hardware older than Civ III did when it was released. This argument is complete poppycock.
     
  15. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Just tired of being attacked for putting in my two cents worth. I didn't ask to be jumped on here, but it seems to be coming from all sides for no good reason.
     
  16. rob.derosa

    rob.derosa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    i think its cause people with non T&L cards whine their ass off when the game doesnt work properly lol
     
  17. CitizenCain

    CitizenCain Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Cut them some slack... people probably got hung up on, disconnected, etc by tech support because tech support was getting a hundred calls an hour from people who didn't meet the minimum requirements (T&L, not enough RAM, I bet even people with win 98, etc...) or people who thought thier game was savagely bugged because it didn't work exactly like Civ III. And the designers probably don't want to have to handle the vast hordes of internet morons either... I mean look at some of the posts on here... irate threads started by someone who wants to know why it takes 22 turns to build a warrior on epic (not working any hammer tiles, dumbass!)... complaints about this being the buggiest game ever by people who obviously can't figure out how to get thier pirated copy to work, and threads about how they've "obviously" found a game bug because their capital city won't grow (with a settler in the build queue, duh).

    Tech support gets calls from all these people too... which makes it harder for people with legitimate bugs and issues to get a word in edgewise after 30 minutes on hold. It may be easy to blame tech support, but it's usually more accurate to blame the idiots in front of you in line waiting to ask tech support why Civ IV is borken because it won't run well on their 800 Mhz, 128 MB RAM, integrated video card, win 95 rig... and why *does* it take 22 turns to build a warrior on epic speed anyway?
     
  18. upstart

    upstart Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    heh yeah its funny theres been dozens of times over the yrs where ive been forced to upgrade my system to even be able to decently play a particular game without so much as a peep of complaint. either these ppl are not real gamers or else they have some fascination with outdated hardware like its a classic car or something. and its not like this is the first civ game that will not play on an outdated laptop...i remember civ3 slowing down to an absolute snails pace on later eras with a two yr old laptop...i didnt consider it playable at all on it and was this the developers fault? not really....it was the price to pay for the better ai and improved graphics and interface and all that. anyways if ppl cant spring for a 50 dollar video card(or less) then they should stick to classic games and leave the prettier newer games to those who will.
     
  19. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Just makes you lucky :)
     
  20. doggiedaddy

    doggiedaddy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Oops. Were you not done borrowing it?

    ---let's just stick to the topic..eh?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page