1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by Thunderfall, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    25,978
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    Your password was reset yesterday, based upon the PM you sent, and an email was sent to your registration email address. As soon as we know you can use your original account, this one will be merged with it.
     
  2. Lefty Scaevola

    Lefty Scaevola Moderatus Illuminatus Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    9,795
    Location:
    San Antonio TX USA
    I have now copied the message by PM in case the email did not get through.
     
  3. Arjav Jain

    Arjav Jain The CIVVER

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    India
    Thanks leif and lefty for helping me with this problem. Thanks a lot.
     
  4. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,536
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I hope this is an appropriate place, at least in the 1st instance. I got the attached advert, with appears to be for bondage toys though I did not click on it. Considering the general tone of this site I thought it could be considered inapproprate but did not obviously see where to report it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Double A

    Double A wak

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14,175
    Location:
    NC
    So does that mean we just switched from Atomic Empire, or is this why they're closing down?
     
  6. Arjav Jain

    Arjav Jain The CIVVER

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    India
  7. Synsensa

    Synsensa Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    17,870
    That would be the ad that is placed between the header bar and the forum. Do you have something that disables ad image display?
     
  8. Arjav Jain

    Arjav Jain The CIVVER

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    India
    No. Everything is enabled and nothing stops images from being displayed.
     
  9. Lefty Scaevola

    Lefty Scaevola Moderatus Illuminatus Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    9,795
    Location:
    San Antonio TX USA
    Sounds like something on your browser, maybe a security setting, is partially block the doubleclick scripts.
     
  10. hth

    hth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    I can't use WIYSWIYG post editor features. Completely, both in quick and advanced modes. Then I click buttons (include smile ones on right) it just do nothing. I think it's may be a browser issue, so I installed latest Chrome, but nothing changes. Please help, because I wish post quite long game logs in GOTM forums, and formating using manual BB codes will take ages.

    Nevermind, solved. Kind of adblocking via HOSTS file side-effect. Looks like the forum use some external scripts for the editor.
     
  11. hth

    hth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Is where a way to fix PRE bbcode to prevent it to place html BR tags inside PRE one, which looks quite stupid in result, as they are duplicates preformatted line breaks?
    [pre]<pre> - ----- <br />
    ----- |-----<br />
    ||----| ----|| <br />
    ||----- -----|| <br />
    ||-----| |-----||<br />
    || ----- ------||<br />
    ||- ----| |------||<br />
    ||---||-- -------||<br />
    ||--|| --| |-------||<br />
    || -|| |-- --- - --||<br />
    || -|| --|-|--| - ---|<br />
    |---|| |-----| |-----|<br />
    |---|| |---- |-----| <br />
    |----| --- |-----|<br />
    |----- ------| <br />
    </pre><br />[/pre]
     
  12. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,607
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Let me know if I understand your concern: Using the PRE code inserts additional blank lines into a post. Is that correct?

    I'm not sure that I see the need for the PRE code. Supposedly, it preserves some formatting, such as spacing. Perhaps this was needed at one time, but consider the following example:

    This is line 1.
    This is l i n e 2.

    This is line 4.

    This renders exactly as typed, with no added bbcodes. If I surround the text with the PRE code, all I get are additional lines:

    [pre]This is line 1.
    This is l i n e 2.

    This is line 4.[/pre]

    Can you provide an example where the PRE code is needed to preserve formatting?
     
  13. hth

    hth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    I have troubles with formatting of some lengthy game log like this:

    CODE bbcode:
    Code:
    	bc 4000		wrk to SE; Beijing founded. 
    			research set to Pot (16t)
    {s}	bc 3950		wrk I+R plains
    	bc 3800		1st warrior, goto N (later seen solid jungle then turn to W, and if this string becomes more than 80 chars long, it causes a hScrollbar appearance)
    	bc 3750		wrk goto S, then I+R flood
    	bc 3600		2nd warrior, goto SE
    
    ---
    PRE bbcode:
    [pre] bc 4000 wrk to SE; Beijing founded.
    research set to Pot (16t)
    {s} bc 3950 wrk I+R plains
    bc 3800 1st warrior, goto N (later seen solid jungle then turn to W)
    bc 3750 wrk goto S, then I+R flood
    bc 3600 2nd warrior, goto SE
    [/pre]

    Looks not very bad at first look... But what if this log will contain a several hundred rows? It cause a some perception problem for a reader then.

    ---
    Without spaces alternative (as it is now):

    bc 4000 wrk to SE; Beijing founded.
    research set to Pot (16t)
    {s} bc 3950 wrk I+R plains
    bc 3800 1st warrior, goto N (later seen solid jungle then turn to W)
    bc 3750 wrk goto S, then I+R flood
    bc 3600 2nd warrior, goto SE

    - perception problem of another kind appear... :(
     
  14. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,607
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I was surprised to find that the same issue came up nine years ago, with no fix or workaround being known. I couldn't find any newer information. I suggest you either use the CODE tag and live with the scrollbar, or use PRE and live with the extra lines. Sorry we couldn't be more helpful.
     
  15. hth

    hth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Thanks for reply anyway.
     
  16. Takhisis

    Takhisis is it fall yet

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44,481
    Location:
    up yours!
    Maybe you could use a table&#8230;?
     
  17. the reverend

    the reverend AKA KThomas14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hello, can an admin or moderator help me recover my previous account or transfer my previous information to this account? I first joined CFC in 2008 and would rather not have to restart from scratch. I've tried using a couple different methods last week and haven't received any emails. Please send me a PM for details. Thanks.
     
  18. Lefty Scaevola

    Lefty Scaevola Moderatus Illuminatus Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    9,795
    Location:
    San Antonio TX USA
    I have PMed you to get the information on your old account.
     
  19. Matasaga

    Matasaga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Italy (With the U.S. Army)
    I'm new and was wondering how to make a group, I can't find any sort of option. Do I have to meet certain requirements. Thanks!

    P.S. What's a story? (I know what a story is, but in terms of Civ and this site.)
     
  20. Takhisis

    Takhisis is it fall yet

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44,481
    Location:
    up yours!
    What kind of group?
     

Share This Page