1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Inquisition

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by bmarnz, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,723
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Again, i knew that, but i have NO button (at all) thats why i am asking for help, to see whats is wrong that i have done!! THX..:confused:
     
  2. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Nice! I'm going to cut and paste the changed code into my setup! thanks again!:goodjob:
     
  3. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    turn on logging. inspect logs. fix problem.
     
  4. revolution18

    revolution18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    California
    how can I edit the unit to remove ALL religions in the city? I want to make it in to a Secret Police unit.
     
  5. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    1. Edit the CvEventManager.py file.

    2. Look for def doInquisitorPersecution

    3. Find the 5 lines under comment "Loop through all religions, remove them from the city"

    4. Remove line that skips the state religion:

    if iReligionLoop != pPlayer.getStateReligion( ):

    5. Fix the indentations for the remaining lines.

    6. Remove the 3 lines under the following comment:

    Add player's state religion

    That should do it.

    Orion Veteran :cool:
     
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,723
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I still need someone to go over my python files and see why the inquisitor does not work correctly.
     
  7. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    first you need to turn on logging. once you do that, the errors become apparent.
     
  8. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,723
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Had logging on, no good.
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    hey guys,
    can someone help me to merge inqusition limited rel to bug mod? i can seem to succeed...
     
  10. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    i successfully merged this into the expanded mod using winmerge, even still i had a ton of indentation errors which i hunted down one by one with logging on. if it helps you can use my files as a reference:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=286739

    there were some references to cy.game that i had to change in some of the python files. (im going from memory, at work now so i cant check the actual files)
     
  11. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    thanks alot modifieda,

    ill check it out,
    what is the file game.cy?

    :)
     
  12. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    its not a file, its a object in one of the python files. the object was named differently in the expanded mod, so i had to convert the expanded mod to the naming that the inquisition used. im not a python expert, but it seemed to make sense to me to do it. using the logging feature and trying to understand what each snippet of code does helped alot to make sure i wasnt cutting and pasting inquisition code in a bad way. also, i made sure that the plain inquisition mod worked on its own before merging it.
     
  13. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    The next release will have limitted religions included. Specifically, If you have already founded a religion and have the holy city, you will not be able to found a second religion. Testing is going on now.

    I ran into a set back in Python, so this may take a while before I finally work out the problem.
     
  14. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    modifieda4
    thanks for the answer.

    OrionVeteran ,

    im really looking forward for that!!
     
  15. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    from the police thread:

    im still confused over your "It never seemed to work right" statement. it seems to be working for me, or am i missing something?
     
  16. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I should have been more specific. In the limited Religions version, rival Civ's don't seem to found religions as quickly, as they normaly would in the version without limited religions. I have definitely fixed that problem and I am now working on a way to stop the religious tech exploit mentioned earlier.

    V/R,

    Orion Veteran :cool:
     
  17. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    ahh yes, i noticed the exact same behavior from the AI.:( i must have missed your fix, did you post it?
     
  18. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    My new version is not posted yet, as I am still working on a fix for the exploit.
     
  19. modifieda4

    modifieda4 Chief Time Waster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Ahh, ok, keep up the good work!:goodjob:

    in the meantime, do you have any code snippets you can post for the AI fix?
     
  20. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Last night I completed coding for both the AI and the exploit fixes. Initial testing is promising. The AI fix is available: See post 16 on the following link:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?p=7161359#post7161359

    You would make these function changes in the cvGameUtils.py file within Orion's Inquisition Mod. That's all you have to do to get limited religions, but it still does not stop the expliot.

    The AI will found a religion as it is expected to do. In a small game, with only 3 or 4 CIVs, religion founding will appear to be a little slow, but it actually isn't. The AI will found a religion right on time, just not as many religions will be founded in the game.

    As I said, the exploit fix is being tested and will guarantee a level playing field for all Civs.

    Orion Veteran :cool:
     

Share This Page