ISDG 2012 - Server Announcements, Connection Issues and Questions

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Game Server: caledorn.no-ip.org (or 87.252.66.245) (Default port 2056)
Civstats: http://www.civstats.com/viewgame.php?gameid=2416
PlayYourTurn: http://www.playyourturn.com/?page_id=17&gameID=340 (Discontinued as PyT seems to be down)

APTMod: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6355677/WebMod1_0.rar
APTMod Website: http://www.aptmod.com

----------
Please remember to use Exit to Main Menu from inside the game, and not Exit to Desktop to avoid potential problems with logins
----------

This thread is a dedicated thread for me as the host, and the players of the ISDG, related to any server announcements or connectivity issues. I will make any announcement in regards to a temporary server takedown due to updates, weather, or whatnot in this thread.

Also, I would prefer if the turnplayers post in this thread if there is any issue with connecting to the server. I will have this thread subscribed, so I will receive a notification within 15 minutes of a post in this thread on my Android phone. (Obviously, if I am asleep, I will not respond until I wake up - go figure)

It would probably be a good idea for the turn players of the various teams to also subscribe to this thread, or at least check in here for any announcements from me if they are unable to connect to the game. If the server is unreachable, and there is no announcement here, then please post in this thread so I am made aware that there is an issue I need to resolve.

Please leave anything unrelated to the connectivity/hosting out of this thread to keep the thread clean. Thank you. :)

Regarding Civstats

As far as I can tell Civstats does not support unrestricted leaders. To get the colors correct on Civstats I chose to use the nations and not the leaders on the Civstats page. The leader name is as such obviously wrong. I hope everyone is okay with this. :)
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
I have registered at no-ip.org to make it easier for people to remember my connection info. So, you have the option of using the IP of course - or you can use this address instead:

caledorn.no-ip.org

(In the case that my ip should change, which is unlikely based on the fact that it hasn't changed from my ISP for the last 3 years, my router will automatically tell no-ip.org that the ip has changed)
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Edited a small tidbit about Civstats into the original post.
 

worker23

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
5
Hi, is there anywhere that non players can view one of the starts and follow a team?
 

Magno_uy

Warlord
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
273
Caledorn
the games shows Disconected. Its the game stoped or the aptmod client down?
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Caledorn
the games shows Disconected. Its the game stoped or the aptmod client down?

Both are running here .. Where can you see the online status of the game on the aptmod site?
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
I have added PlayYourTurn in addition to Civstats to the top URL for those who prefer that :) Unrestricted leaders function correctly there too.

Edit: Not sure why the score is registered as 0 on PYT. Also, for those who want to register their leaders there, the Passwords are the same as on the Civstats page.
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Hi, is there anywhere that non players can view one of the starts and follow a team?

The only way to do this would be to apply to one of the teams as a lurker. :)
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Some of you may have received new emails from the APTMod now, or may receive some soon. This does not affect the game in any way, but I am working together with the APTMod team to figure out why the mod disconnects from the website. There is a problem with it, and we're not sure what it is. It does not affect the game in any way for now though, so please just ignore those emails.
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
The game has been reloaded from turn 0 - the Civs have to be reclaimed
 

Lord Parkin

aka emperor
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
6,374
Location
New Zealand
The game has been reloaded from turn 0 - the Civs have to be reclaimed
By the way, just checking that you know it's possible to reload from the last logins of various players. Just mentioning this because if the mistake only happened recently, it's not necessary to reload to the very start of the game - you can reload partway through the turn, before the mistake but after some of the other turns were played. :)

Anyway, not so important now as long as people play quickly (easy to repeat moves)... just worth keeping in mind for the future, if you didn't know about it already.
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
By the way, just checking that you know it's possible to reload from the last logins of various players. Just mentioning this because if the mistake only happened recently, it's not necessary to reload to the very start of the game - you can reload partway through the turn, before the mistake but after some of the other turns were played. :)

Anyway, not so important now as long as people play quickly (easy to repeat moves)... just worth keeping in mind for the future, if you didn't know about it already.

*smiles* Yes, I do know. But several logins by the various teams, in addition to the mistake happening two days ago, makes it difficult to find the correct savegame in this case, so it was easier to do it this way rather than ask the teams to log in to see if the correct save was loaded. As you say, it is easy to repeat moves, and I expect all the teams want the game to progress as quick as possible. :)

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
 

DaveShack

Inventor
Retired Moderator
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
13,109
Location
Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
Many if not all will already know this, but just in case we have someone who does not:

For future reference, if you suspect that your team will need a reload from your autosave, do not login again with the same player name. Doing so overwrites the necessary save.

Also for future reference, as someone who has hosted and admin'd several of these I can say it makes a huge difference if a request states a time stamp of the login to reload from.
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
Please be adviced that because of my mishap I had to reload the game. It has been reloaded to the state it was in before I logged in with the admin password.

Again, I apologize very much for this.
 

Moineau

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
44
No apologize needed, this pitboss wouldnt have started without all the help you and many other guys are giving. Thank you guys.
 

Caledorn

Emperor
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,884
Location
Arendal, Norway
apologize nothing , you owe us a beer!! :beer:
No apologize needed, this pitboss wouldnt have started without all the help you and many other guys are giving. Thank you guys.

To both of you, and all the rest of the players: You guys are great! I am honoured to be able to host this game for all of us! Thank you again :)
 
Top Bottom