1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

LK155 - CCM, Maya

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Succession Games' started by LKendter, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    4000 BC (0)

    UGG - I deleted my log by mistake, so no detailed report.

    It took ages, but we eventually found some civs by land. Several civs have only shown up with ships. I wonder if we have two land masses with a short gap between them.

    Buying writing Carthage was a great deal, as the later found civs also needed it so I got a lot of tech from it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    The north:
     
  3. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    The east:

     
  4. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    The west:

     
  5. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    It this our next city site? 2 deer should like us pump out ships to find the possible other land mass civs. IIRC the Dutch, Scandinavia and Carthage were all by sea only.

     
  6. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    ROSTER:

    LKendter
    Greebley (up)
    Jersey Joe (on deck)
    Elephantium
    Northern Pike
     
  7. Northern Pike

    Northern Pike Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,669
    Pink Dot looks good as our next city site.

    In the next turnset Chichen Itza, Copan, and Palenque should all build or mostly complete temples, so that we can start building Stoneheads (our religious communities).

    We need to clear the fog around the cow SE of Tikal so that we'll know how good a city site that area is.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
  8. Northern Pike

    Northern Pike Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,669
    LK, for the sake of the lurkers you might want to add a statement of our premise for this game--no enemy cities held ever, I assume--to your first post.

    We also need to clarify whether we have to raze every enemy city, or can retain them until the end of the turn for tactical purposes and then disband them. I strongly favour the latter rule, without which the conquest phase of the game will be slow and tedious.
     
  9. Northern Pike

    Northern Pike Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,669
    Oops, we have a problem. We're about complete Slaver's Hut in Palenque, which doesn't have a barracks, and SH isn't a barracks in itself. We don't want regular slavers, so we should switch Pal to a temple build (to be followed by National Symbol) before we hit Enter, and switch the capital from slavery to SH.
     
  10. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    The intent was to always raze. Don't even capture for 1 second. I don't think it will hurt the end-game to much, as we should have plenty of combat settlers at that point.
     
  11. Jersey Joe

    Jersey Joe Steadholder Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,412
    Location:
    Idaho
    Are we incorporating Greebley's suggetions about limited Conquest until the Atomic Age and switching to Governments that are not Monarchy?
     
  12. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    Nope - one variant is enough.
     
  13. Greebley

    Greebley Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,322
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Ok, I got it.
     
  14. Greebley

    Greebley Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,322
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    With speed 2 settlers, we don't need to keep cities as we can build cities to get within 1 of any city; Only a city with speed 2 terrain all around is not capture-able.
     
  15. Greebley

    Greebley Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,322
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Preturn: Makes the suggested switch to Slaver Hut in Capitol.
    Two of our towns can grow sooner without slowing down their builds, but one would require us to raise lux more so I only do the one.

    There are two tech we don't have, Iron Working and Sea Faring but trades are not possible for them.

    BTW, Slaver Hut is not as big a deal since we have a regular unit (jav) that makes slaves - we are the Mayans after all. We do like the free units though, so I will build it now.
    Copan will want a temple soon. I decide to build it now

    1620 BC: Have to increase Lux to 50% now.

    IBT: Solomon's Temple completed.

    1500 BC: Copan finished Temple so we can go back to 40% lux
    It is too bad, there are 4 tech out there that could give us a n-fer if we were richer. As it is we can get nothing.

    1420 BC:
    Trades:
    First we get Mathematics which is known by 2 civs for 15 gpt and 220 gold.

    The next trade we can't afford until I switch our cities down but we can barely do it: Math + 27 gpt + 36 gold for Seafaring.

    Final Tech we trade Seafaring and Mathematics for Trade and 13 gold. We then pick up cash from Canada (67) and USA for Seafaring(23?)
    Putting our towns back to normal and we are at 116 gold and -9 gold per turn. Copan and Palenque can start Markets now. Capitol would get Market in 5 turns but delay a 3rd temple to when Tikal gets it (about 10 turns)

    Notes:
    Well I will stop here (after 8) in case we do want the Temple first as it would be finished next turn. I changed to the Market in the save as that look higher priority at the moment.

    Netherlands is South of us and Canada to the Northwest on our island. Austria had a Scout visit so I think they are on our landmass, probably to the south.
    We are at 40% lux and a Scientist in Palenque.

    Second trade was more costly than anticipated and we could have just gotten Iron working, but I think the 3-fer makes running a deficit worthwhile. Note that we still can pick up Iron-working if Canada or USA can get it before Math and Trade techs.

    I roaded to Pink to get our next town up faster.

    You can see Red and Orange borders for Netherlands and Canada:

     

    Attached Files:

  16. Greebley

    Greebley Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,322
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    One thing I noticed was the AI had one more city than us. Does that mean this is a Sid Level game? We discussed playing one but I didn't know whether you thought the variant hard enough to go for Deity or to try Sid.
     
  17. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    This should be a deity level game. I did not pick Sid.

    ROSTER:
    LKendter
    Greebley
    Jersey Joe (up)
    Elephantium (on deck)
    Northern Pike

    I don't like they way the new forum software wants to add blank lines like crazy when I cut and paste stuff in. Already getting tired of cleaning up the formatting.
     
  18. Elephantium

    Elephantium Elephants think that people are cute, like puppies

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,966
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    @LK What do you use to write your turnlogs? I get a lot of blank lines at work when I copy-paste anything from email into my SQL tools...pasting and recopying into Notepad++ converts it to raw text without the lines.

    I also use Notepad++ for turnlogs...it autosaves any files you have open when you close the program. That's very handy for avoiding lost logs :)
     
  19. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,961
    I eventually take it over to Word so that I can spell check everything.
     
  20. Greebley

    Greebley Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,322
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    I use wordpad and it has the opposite problem; it can look ok in wordpad but when I use ctrl-c to cutpaste the text, it can have no lines between paragraphs.
     

Share This Page