Loyalty to specific civs.

JustinianIV

Warlord
Okay, so I've been playing civ for about 11 months with around 700 hours of gameplay. It occurred to me that I have only used a small fraction of the civs available. Some I have played only once, yet there are others that I have never played.

Civs I've played regularly (more than once):
Byzantium
Celts
Ethiopia
Egypt
Babylon
Mongols

About half of all my games have been with the first 3. I have some concern over this since there are many others that look amazing. I end up becoming so attached to these civs that I feel strange trying out new ones.

There are some civs that I don't play again because they feel like they were designed for beginners (i.e. OP), yet there are really unique looking civs out there.

I don't know why I haven't tried France, Polynesia, Maya, Inca.

Anyone else feel they might be too loyal to a specific civ? Perhaps it's something to do with role play.

EDIT: OP adjsuted text, deleted

Polynesia, China, Japan, definitely - all were easy victories for me.

Right now I'm trying to play with as many civs as I can. Currently playing Siam on a Fantasy map script (nice script, btw, generates some cool landmasses w/ interesting configurations) - not really a fan of them but I'm trying to play as civs I wouldn't normally play as to break out of my comfort zone.

In general I just put my civ on random - if I've beaten the game with them before I usually restart to try to get someone new, unless I'm trying out something specific. I feel you'll get more out of the game and also learn more this way.

There's nothing wrong with having favorite civs and a preferred way of playing, it's all just for fun. But occasionally using another civ' to broaden your horizons is never a bad thing.

I want to love Byzantium but the AI will get all the religions before I get a chance so often that I can't seem to get into her. I mostly end up swearing about the AI taking everything and leaving me with a couple UUs.