1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] FexFX--Bigger-&-Longer(v1.52.0) -=New and Improved=-

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by FexFX, Dec 28, 2005.

  1. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Here it is! The Latest version of my MOD!
    I have actually broken it down into three files.
    1) FexFX--Bigger-&-Longer(v1.52.0)
    ----Replaces all four game speeds, one new map size, and other modifications (details below).
    2) FexFX--Bigger(v1.52.0)
    ----Contains only the new map size and other changes but not the new game speeds for those wishing to play the larger map on the original speeds(details below).
    3) FexFX--PublicMaps(v1.52.0)
    ----Contains maps which will work with the new map size (details below).

    The next three posts will contain the "ReadMe"s for each file followed by the file itself!

    Enjoy and Happy Holidays!
    :cool:
     
  2. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    FexFX--Bigger-&-Longer(v1.52.0)
    ===============================

     

    Attached Files:

  3. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    FexFX--Bigger(v1.52.0)
    ======================

     

    Attached Files:

  4. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    FexFX--PublicMaps Map Pack(v1.52.0)
    ===================================

     

    Attached Files:

  5. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,822
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    I have it downloaded!
    Gonna give it a try tomorrow!
    :goodjob:
     
  6. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    If you have any Questions, Comments or Suggestions, dont hesitate to let me know, I always welcome feedback of any sort!
     
  7. Cropper

    Cropper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    I tried to get it to work and it won't. I unpacked the zip file as you said into the main mods folder (although I have tried both that one and the my documents one). The entry appears in the list under "advanced" options. It says its going to restart and load the mod. Then it shuts down, looks like its about to start up and just sits on the desktop without actually loading the mod.

    Something I'm doing wrong?
     
  8. Cropper

    Cropper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    I found the problem dude. The unpacked directory name from your zip archive is not being accepted by Civ when it tries to reload the game, must be some bad characters in there that civ doesn't like or something. I just renamed the directory to something nice and simple, in my case "FEXFX Custom" and the next time I tried to load the mod it worked. You might want to check this.
     
  9. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks!
    I am updating the files attached to this thread with simplified directory names!
    Meanwhile, for those who have already downloaded the mod...
    If anyone is have a problem getting the mod to run, simply change the directory name that the mod is installed in.
    ...or download the new files listed above...the only change is in the directory name.
    I did not have this problem with the mod when I tested last night and the only thing I did with the mod today was to write the "ReadMe"s shove it all into Zips, and then upload it, so maybe not everyone is having this issue.
     
  10. Cropper

    Cropper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    BTW, I forgot to mention, I've been using the new mod now for a bit now and it runs very nice. Great work, I'm sure I'm not the only one here who is thankful for all the work the modders put into their stuff.

    Thanks again!
     
  11. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks for the feedback Cropper!
    You are the second one to report this problem and the first to solve it!
    :)
    I think it was something about the (v1.52.0) that was throwing it because I had a report that FexFX--Bigger(v1.52.0) and FexFX--Bigger-&-Longer(v1.52.0) were both doing it...until I found that out I was looking at the "&" as the suspect...
     
  12. signal

    signal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Hi FexFX,


    I have used your earlier mod and have had many hours of enjoyable game play. In fact -- I play on noble level -- I have been steadily increasing the number of AI civs so as to acclimate myself to the game; the last game I played I faced seven or eight other civs.

    I played the longest game your last mod allowed and can happily report that the whole game kicked ass. I eventually won a domination victory in the year 2100-ish. The last great battle was truly incredible since it involved so many units, over a wide expanse of territory. There were so many fronts to the endgame war that it seemed a careful and balanced strategy was necessitated (of course I think my strategy was sloppy and capricious -- lost a few cities, etc... lol).

    The earlier games that I played without your mod did not seem to carry the same magnitude (in many areas) that yr mod delivers. You promised epic proportions and that is what was received. These expansive game-based situations, I think, are due to the effect of increasing the production values while trying to keep research values in line with the standard version of the game (as you previously explained)....

    There were, however, some anachronisms i.e. some technological developments occurred late in the like flight, modern armor units, etc. These situations may have been borne out of the type of game/scenerio that I payed and perhaps are not typical for every game, but it still was fun.

    In the later part of the game, I encountered some global warming issues... 'global warming near yr capitol'.... After my second message of global warming I thought oh **** this game is going to sand; but, global warming did not seem to ruin the game since it occurred rather infrequently after that point. I am just pointing this out in case others have encountered any global warming problems. It looks like it will be okay though....

    So all in all great work. I am definitely downloading yr new mod right now.

    As for what I will be doing next:

    1. playing it on one of yr mammoth (is that the word you used?) maps with maximum civs

    2. perhaps trying for a culture victory since that is the only victory I have never tried for


    I just wanted to let you know that your work is appreciated and any further improvements/additions are always welcome.

    peace in the middle east,
    signal
     
  13. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks for the reply Signal!
    I always enjoy hearing from people who are playing my mod and enjoying it so thoroghly!
    :)
    This time around I am myself in a Mammoth Marathon game...
    I think I may have slowed tech down a bit more than expected, but we shall see...
    :)
    I may have goofed in not accounting for their "rebalance" of the tech chart itself. :p
    In any event Its taking me longer to get techs and therefore I have definitely solved the "space race in 1400" problem and the "Gunpowder in 720ad" problem!
    I defy anyone to do that now!
    Hehehe!
    My only question is will things work out in a timely fashion or be too late now?
     
  14. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Had a little time to play this morning, and I managed to enter the medieval tech level...Its the first half of the 11th century...this is perhaps a bit late, but I got kinda screwed on my starting position (jungles like crazy!) and then got swarmed by barbarians that wiped out most of my hard earned tile improvements and then just as the barbarians chilled out, I got hit by Montezuma who was having a bad hair day and declared war on me for no good reason.:eek:
    At this point however my empire is stable at ten cities, I am producing workers like mad, and Shall beat back the jungles soon! I just wish Firaxis had not raised the early costs so high because I am having trouble getting my research level to stay above 30%!!! :mad:
    Well we will see what's what soon!

    One thing is for sure, I wont be winning a space race in the year 1400ad!
    :)
    The only question is will I still be waiting for flight in the year 2000ad?
    :confused:
     
  15. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    1152ad...all seems lost...the romans and the japanese have both decided I need to be exterminated even tho we had had no unpleasant relations up to this point...

    Firaxis did not lie...the AI is quite a bit more agressive and hostile!
     
  16. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    1168. I have given up. The Roman hordes line the horizon as far as the eye can see.
    Three cities have fallen.
    It is mere a matter of time.
    The hemlock I gave my staff has done its job and now I sit staring down my own goblet of oblivion.
    May the gods grant me peace.


    Wow...over 500 turns and I had to concede!

    Watching the replay I was very stunted.
    Also 14 civs may be just a tad too many for me to deal with until I get the feel for my own mod and the new patch...
     
  17. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,458
    Location:
    israel
    hi fexfx

    im playing your mod - combined with composite mod,
    its great, you did a hell of a job.

    thanks

    keep up the good work.
     
  18. FexFX

    FexFX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks!
    I appreciate the feedback!

    I am playing through again, this time I got a good start...Man those barbarians are insane in the new patch! I cant imagine playing Marathon with them set to the level Firaxis chose! Geesh!

    This time I am in the 8th century and I made a line-drive for War Elephants early on...good thing too because they are all that saved me from the evil barbarians! I am on the cusp of the Medieval era and I think this feels just about perfect to me in pacing!

    And I see above that I have broken 100 downloads already!
     
  19. linjon1

    linjon1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    HI/ I love this mod. I played the previous one, slow and real big. Couldn't finish though, kept crashing.
    tried 12 civs, 875 turns/terra.
    am doing quite well, but my lap ( 256 mb ati card) crashes if i scroll too much.
     
  20. serdna511

    serdna511 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Where should I download this if I want to combine it with other mods? Sorry, I am a noob at modding.
     

Share This Page