1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Westward Ho

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by TC01, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    I agree with Kailric. I really like the names, they sound cool- but Oregon and Utah are more "common", and would probably be less confusing.

    (Of course if we had civilopedia entries for each of the civs, some of this problem could be avoided... anyone want to volunteer to write pedia entries?)

    Actualy, I have another idea:

    Maybe we could make it so that on revolution, your civ name flips? So you start out as Utah Territory, but when you revolt you become Deserets? I know that this is doable in Civ 4 on civic flip because it's been done. Probably there's similar SDK code enabling it on Colonization? Perhaps on winning the "Statehood" victory your name would change similarly?

    Would require SDK but I think it might be cool to add.
     
  2. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    In unrelated news, Cybah has reported in the Civ 4 SDK and Python forum that:

    Note that this is the script Flintlock wrote to limit railroads (before I fixed the bug where you couldn't move into a city), meaning it should apply in Westward Ho as well. So I'm wondering if we should create a boolean tag in CIV4UnitInfos.xml called "bIsTrain"? It would do the code above, just in the SDK.

    Can anyone confirm that Westward Ho runs a lot slower then normal Colonization? Adding a lot of units via Worldbuilder might help.
     
  3. Kailric

    Kailric Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Marooned, Y'isrumgone
    What I always like to do is if I have a problem liks this is instead of haveing to edit every unit in the XML I just create a Global Definition in the GlobalDefinesAlt, for this instance it would be for CLASS_LOCOMOTIVE.

    Then in the SDK function "canMoveInto" I just add something like:

    Code:
    If class == (UnitClassTypes)GC.getDefineINT("Locomotive");
         if plot != city || !plot->hasfeature(RailRoad)
               return false;
    In my privateers mod I have like nearly 100 global defines this way. That saved me a lot of time haveing to edit all those XML files. I do edit the XML some also, just depends on what the varable is doing. And of course you can make it Modular so you don't have to edit so much in the XML but then again not all the XML can be made Modular. Like Promotions causes all kinds of errors if you do. The unit infos seem to work just fine being Modular though as I have it that way in my mod. Just my thoughts on it.
     
  4. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    You wouldn't have to add it to every unit- you could set the schema define like this:

    Code:
    		<element type="bIsTrain" [COLOR="Red"]minOccurs="0"[/COLOR]/>
    Then you'd only need to add it for the units you wanted it to have a value of 1 for (you'd need to define 0 as the default value, though).
     
  5. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Westward Ho is now at 77 downloads, with the patch at 24.

    Anyone have anything else that should be immediately added in the next patch? Graphics, background text, ideas, bugs? Otherwise I'll release tomorrow or on the weekend.

    Also, over the weekend I'll send another PM to Thunderfall about the mod forum... I've seen posts by him between the time I sent the last PM (a week and a half ago or so), I'm wondering if something's wrong with the PM-ing system?
     
  6. Flintlock1415

    Flintlock1415 Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    MN
    I'm sure Thunderfall probably gets a lot of PMs, so maybe he missed it. Maybe try sending a PM to Padma and Ainwood, since they are also admins.
     
  7. Kailric

    Kailric Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Marooned, Y'isrumgone
    Here is two more buttons for Mounted Ranger and Mounted Veteran. Are those two pistal units in the game yet as there is no profession I can choose to change to their graphic? Also, is the US Rifleman unit in the game? They should be in the game as "Regulars" right?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Flintlock1415

    Flintlock1415 Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    MN
    I think the pistoleer units are just colonist forms of the Veteran Soldier and Regular, iirc.
    And yea, the US Rifleman is the Regular.
     
  9. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    We're going to need new graphics for the different yields like Cattle, Beer, etc, and presumably new buttons for their specialists?

    Anyway, master_akura proposed a yield update in the Ideas Thread and I thought I'd bring that here:

    -Rename Rum to Beer
    -Bring back Cotton, Cloth (or bring back Cloth at any rate)
    -Move Cattle, Leather to Fur, Coast
    -Make Cattle tiles also able to be worked for Beef (graphical version of food, kind of like how Fish and Food are two seperate things but are both Food)
    -Add Oranges and Gold somewhere (maybe replace Tobacco, Cigars?)

    I'm already doing the Rum to Beer in v.22.


    Also, finally, we need a new background image for the mod (to replace the vanilla Col one). Not too high a priority, but something on the list of things to do.
     
  10. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Sorry, but I'm a little confused.

    Which does mountedranger.dds go to, and which does VeteranMount.dds go to?

    That's the only thing holding up the next patch, which's final changelog is:

    Code:
    -Renamed Rum to Beer
    -Added Santa Anna Leaderhead art for Mexico (European) by Ekmek
    -Made Mexico parent civ of California as well as Texas
    -Made America parent civ of Cascadia as well as Deserets
    -Added in Mounted Ranger, Mounted Veteran button art by Kailric
    -Renamed Deserets to Utah Territory, Cascadia to Oregon Territory
     
  11. Kailric

    Kailric Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Marooned, Y'isrumgone
    The mountedranger is the Dragoon Unit like when you put a Ranger on horse back. and the Veteran Mount is when you place a Veteran Ranger on horse back. When in the game I didn't see the US Infantry unit listed on the World Builder menu for units? So I will have to manually add the art to the game to get a screen shot, thats how I do the buttons.
     
  12. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Thanks Kailric.

    With that, v0.22 has been released! You can get it here. It includes everything from v0.21.
     
  13. Flintlock1415

    Flintlock1415 Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    MN
    Okay, I sent a PM to Thunderfall about the Development Forum. Hopefully he will see that one, or else we will have to PM Padma or Ainwood.
     
  14. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Uh... I already did, sorry, forgot to mention that (contacted Padma). It was about that and stickying the Tutorials Index in the forum this one's part in).

    Oh well, it can't hurt.
     
  15. Flintlock1415

    Flintlock1415 Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    MN
    It really can't hurt at all, because we got it! :D here is the link

    I'll let TC01 make the first thread. :)
     
  16. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    First thread is made. Have fun!

    I said this there, but basically we now have three places to post:

    -The Forum: I expect most ideas discussion will probably move over there. That way we can open a topic whenever we need to, rather then cluttering up this thread.
    -The Topic: (That's here): Releases will be announced here, changelogs, etc. This topic isn't being abandoned.
    -The Ideas Thead: This is being abandoned, since now we have a forum to do it's job.
     
  17. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    For the next patch, a new mapscript is planned. I announced this in the forum but I'm posting it here, too.

    You can download a beta of it here. Please give feedback in that thread.
     
  18. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    I've released patch 0.23. It's probably going to be the last patch for v0.2, with the next version being a full download of the mod.

    I zipped it using 7-zip, a program whose link you can find in the first post.
     
  19. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Updated first post with final changelog for v0.3. Everything's done save merging in master_akura's founding fathers and some of the SDK stuff (new train commmands and renaming on revolution).

    Also, v0.2 is now at 185 downloads. (updated that too).
     
  20. master_akura

    master_akura Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    TC01, I didn't know you guys were going to use the Founding Fathers I came up with. Thanks a ton for using those. I'm eager to see them in action.
     

Share This Page