1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Expansion Speculation Thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by bite, Nov 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neirai

    Neirai the Forgiven

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Canada
    Fascinatingly, it appears that some time before colonization, the Apache, Navajo, and Dene people were all one uhhhh "empire" (Confederacy?) that was torn apart by some other nation in a war. The antagonists were so powerful that these peoples never managed to merge back together
     
    TahamiTsunami likes this.
  2. darkace77450

    darkace77450 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    915
    What else would it be? As much as I'd love to see another governor or two, the style doesn't seem to match those in R&F.
     
  3. Vahnstad

    Vahnstad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Low countries
    Maori is confirmed... Leaves only seven options over for basically other civs. Ottomans and Inca's are basically lock (imagine the "backlash if they weren't). Portugal and an African civ are also lock. African civ possibly Mali or Ethiopia, but possibly a dark horse like Ashanti/Ghana, Benin or in the South of Africa (Kilwa/Swahili/Zimbabwe/Madagascar/...). Asian civ is hard to determine, but possibly Vietnam. Canada could also make an appearance as it's a much requested civ (unfortunately), and than we will have a second European civ, which could be Italy?

    Yes, it is likely we won't get Maya's even in this game... We don't even have the Inca's after two years. It's ridicilous. I'm quite angry with how things are going. Haven't played civ in basically nine months... because i can't enjoy it anymore.

    Moderator Action: Please do not use the word "confirmed" when it is not. Others will get the wrong idea. leif
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2018
  4. Naktis

    Naktis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe I missed , but is there any leak or info that we getting only 8 civs this time around ? And also some alt leader will be too , well it has to be.
     
    TahamiTsunami likes this.
  5. Lord Lakely

    Lord Lakely Unintentionally a feminist.

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    I am not sure whether the Inca are locks... remember, that part of the world already has the Mapuche... I feel more confident about the Maya than I do the Inca, tbh (The presence of the Aztecs has never stopped Firaxis from adding the Maya before)

    Ottomans aren't certain either, because there are other Turkish options: The Seljuks are a viable option for a Transoxian Civ (the only other option for that region that I can think of are the rather gimmicky Timurids or the immensely unlikely Khwarazmian empire) and Turkey under Kemal Atatürk would be a very inspired choice as well

    Most Civ XPacs added no more than eight new Civs in one go, including the last one. I'd love to see more new Civs (12 is a really nice number :) :) :) ), but the safest is to assume Firaxis will stick to the 8 New Civs + 1Alt formula they used in R&F.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2018
    TahamiTsunami and CPWimmer like this.
  6. Vahnstad

    Vahnstad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Low countries
    Hmm, i'm really concerned about lack of representation from Central and South-America, especially if we only get one more additional expansion. Turkey under Kemal Ataturk is a possibility; it would really show that civ has shifted it's focus in adding mostly modern civs. Leaving Carthage, Ottomans Babylon, Assyria, Palmyra, Byzantium, Celts out, and adding Brazil, Australia, Scotland, maybe Turkey and Canada

    Do you think there is a possibility they'll add Muisca instead of Inca's? (since Mapuche aren't a mountain civ, or has Georgia occupied that position...)
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  7. Hans Castorp

    Hans Castorp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Hmmm. Guess the image I saw was something different. But, hmmm.
     
  8. Myomoto

    Myomoto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Eh... just call the capital Roma? They've had the same city under different names be multiple Civs' capital at the same time before (Istanbul/Constantinople).
     
    Bosque, TahamiTsunami and nzcamel like this.
  9. RohirrimElf

    RohirrimElf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    What if the new expansion comes out with about 8-10 new civs. Couple of missing features/mechanics from past games and some new. Couple of units for all leaders, new wonders, a district etc etc. Everything you might expect from an expansion like R&F.

    How many of you would still be dissapointed if the AI has not been improved?
     
    TahamiTsunami likes this.
  10. bbbt

    bbbt Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,739
    The Inca border on Mapuche territory but don't really overlap, and their capital would be a good bit north. Moreso, the conspicuous absence of Macchu Picchu as wonder in the game - or any 'gets additional bonuses from mountains' civ - would leave me inclined to say they are coming.

    Same with the Ottomans as the 'bazaar' is the most likely candidate for unique commercial district and they would be a good contender for it - though frankly there are a definitely a number of other civs they could add in with a bazaar.
     
  11. Leathaface

    Leathaface Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,699
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    I do hope Emergencies get addressed, they don't have much of an impact IMO. The AI rarely declares war on the Civ who triggered the emergency.

    I want there to be more situations where I could instigate an emergency, and for the AI to likely come after me. Though I like to play peaceful almost all the time, but still, am I COMPLETELY unable to instigate an emergency because i'm peaceful? It feels unfair Emergencies are only for Warmongers.

    Very. I want Immortal and Deity to be more than "survive until mid-game and then highly likely win" or where taking over other Civ's is easy. Plus with Civ VI on so many platforms i'm slightly doubtful as to whether the DLL source will be released. I hope i'm wrong.
     
  12. thecraftybee

    thecraftybee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Call their capital Roma?
     
  13. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    That would present problems for languages such as Spanish, Portuguese, and Italian.

    Imagine a United Kingdom civ with Londres as the capital!
     
    TahamiTsunami, Hawke9 and nzcamel like this.
  14. MisterBoomBoom

    MisterBoomBoom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Sounds like we might get natural disasters. Perhaps random events.
     
    TahamiTsunami, Leathaface and Cyon like this.
  15. jddods

    jddods Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Timurids, now you're talking.
     
  16. Alexander's Hetaroi

    Alexander's Hetaroi Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,375
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    If it's based off of Renaissance Italy there are plenty of capital options that aren't Rome based on who the leader would be: Florence, Milan, Venice etc. which would be the route I believe they would go.
     
    TahamiTsunami, Guandao, 679x and 7 others like this.
  17. Lord Lakely

    Lord Lakely Unintentionally a feminist.

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    Turin would be their Capital. Or Genoa :p
     
  18. Morningcalm

    Morningcalm Keeper of Records

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,704
    Location:
    Abroad
    Good point! But Aethelflaed's agenda is already in the game (likes wall builders).
     
    TahamiTsunami likes this.
  19. durfal

    durfal The Dutch Daredevil

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Capitals in CIV6 are based on the leader, thats why Germany's capital is not Berlin but Aachen (because of Frederick) and Russia's is Saint Petersburg in stead of Moscow (Because of Peter). But Berlin and Moscow are the number 2 city on their lists anyway.
    The same would be done with an Italian civ. Say the Italian leader is Lorenzo de Medici, than it's capital would be Florence and if no Roman civ was in the game the second city they found (or close after that) would be Rome. Other possibilities are Francesco Sforza (Milan) or Alfonso I (Napels) but there are many more possibilities.
     
  20. Leathaface

    Leathaface Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,699
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    I think I can remember before Civ VI launched people from Firaxis saying that after the capital that cities named are random, unlike in IV and V. I heard it was to keep people guessing where your opponents capital is even if you discover their other cities.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page