1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Corruption Solutions Thread

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Lefty Scaevola, Nov 8, 2001.

  1. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I usaly plays at Monarch and Emperor, mostly Monarch.

    Now I'm playing on the GOTM 3, it should be a standard.

    I hate the corruption problems... why is it favorable having a small empire?


    The should add a 3rd palace when having 50 Cities, a 4th when you have 74, and a 5th when you have 100 or so... (map size should matter though)
     
  2. MrFrodo

    MrFrodo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    In the last few games I've played I got a leader right as
    I *really* needed to reduce corruption because I had
    just conquered new territory away from my capital. So
    I used the leader to build an Imperial Palace and instantly
    made those newly fought for regions useful. Or, if I already
    had an imperial palace I made a new Palace that better
    centralized my corruption coverage. Actually, I made a second
    palace in a nice centralized city I capture with coal and
    iron because I wanted it to be a mega-productive city with
    Iron Works (eventually got to 226 shields per turn).

    I actually think corruption is a good strategic factor, but is
    just a little overdone. To offset it I changed all the governments
    to have one step lower corruption (except communism cause
    I'm not sure "communal" corruption eliminates the ranged
    aspect of corruption or if just being communist does it). I
    also have temples, libraries, cathedral and universities
    reduce corruption.

    What would really make sense to me is that tech advances along
    the way would reduce corruption, or factors in corruption.
    For example:

    printing press, radio, computers - increases range that capital reduces corruption

    nationalism?, space flight? - reduces effect of population on corruption.
     
  3. artax

    artax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    Grey Fox, it looks like your Core Area Radius is down around 4 or 5, which is more of a drop-off than I would have expected just going from a large world to a standard size one. (BTW, does anyone know if corruption gets worse at higher difficulty levels?)

    The first thing I would suggest is that your city arrangement doesn't appear to make very good use of the corners of your Core Area. If you went with a 3x3 grid of cities instead of a hexagon you should at least get 9 productive cities instead of 7 (or 18 instead of 14 after you build the FP). There would be a bit more overlap between your city radii, but you'd be able to work more overall territory so your overall production would be higher.
    Beyond that, maybe you're just building too many cities outside your core area.
     
  4. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well you have to have a lot of territory to get a hight score...

    66% of the map, if domination is on...

    so I need many cities... I can't settle for 32 on HUGE, which is the low corruption border on HUGE maps...
     
  5. artax

    artax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    You can control the same amount of territory with fewer cities if you space the cities outside your Core Area farther apart. If you space them about 6 or 7 squares apart, by the time you have enough cities to hurt you you'll already control so much of the world that you'll be unstoppable. See my file civ3_corruption.txt if you haven't already. I explain it in there.
     
  6. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've made an picture based on artax text-file on corruption solutions. It should illustrate the Core Area he talks about. That is the area within 10 squares from "the capital / forbidden palace city" every direction.

    You can find artax text-file on page 7 on this thread

    Heres the picture anyway, hope it's like you mean artax


     
  7. artax

    artax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    Actually more like this. See, you want to make better use of the territory on the fringes of your core area. You can utilize terrain that's 11 or 12 squares away from your capital if you do it from cities that are 10 squares away. I like to have each side of my core area bounded by a line of cities 10 squares away from the center and spaced 5 squares apart from each other.

    Of course in the real world you'll have oceans to work around, and part of your core area will initially be occupied by opposing civs, which will influence your city placement. Also strategic resources and luxuries come into play, and if there's cattle or wheat in a square, you probably don't want to plop a city right on top of it. So there's all sorts of comprimises you have to make. This is just a hypothetical ideal arrangement.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yea, but the image has to be rotated to match the civilization map...

    the tiles ar no squares, te grid goes diagonal
     
  9. artax

    artax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    I know, I was just able to get a smaller jpg doing it that way.
     
  10. defacto_ruler

    defacto_ruler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Earth Sphere
    ok heres my situation:
    Huge map
    Regent
    uhhh...83-88 Cities :D
    i control all N. America, S. America, and have cities in greenland and australia.
    resaerchin nuclear power, but can build nukes, ICBM's (afdter manhatten project gets done).
    Cap in Rome, western US. (where S. Francisco is)
    I can build mech infantry, Modern armor (i alwayts hussle to m. infantry and m. armor.)

    CORRUPTION IS ASS!!!


    No really, i got a serious corruption problem. HELP!!!

    I had the greatest expansionist/military stratiez, but it doesnt work in civ 3.

    :nuke:
    Help
     
  11. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Produce everything in your Core cities.

    Try to make every citizen happy in your 1-production cities. (To boost score :))

    Build Marketplaces in those cities by Hurrying with your money, if you think it's worth it.
     
  12. Cyril

    Cyril Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    :crazyeyes
    Corruption is going to be a problem in this game-the designers made it that way.. it is too bad in my opinion. I have played on huge and tiny maps and all in between, and they all have their corruption problems. Once i get to the modern age i draft mechanized infantry in my large cities and disband them in my corrupt cities to help me build harbour, marketplace, courthouse, and police station. If courthouses and police stations are built in a radial pattern from the center of my civ, the corruption reduction seems to be increased. That is a courthouse in an outer city will perform better if courthouses etc are already in effect in closer in cities. Corruption is a pain in the a**, i wish the effects would be diminished especially on huge maps. The effect the civ3 team has come up with is unrealistic-its only effect is to make the game go on longer when in effect you have already won.
     
  13. Syndrome Zed

    Syndrome Zed Wanna see my quad laser?

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    The Heavily-Armed City of San Diego
    I've noticed a large drop in other continents' cities' corruption after building courthouses, but it takes a rather long time to reach that point.

    I was Greek on an island - took over a few Egyptian cities on another island after getting galleys. I rushed the courthouses soon after. Around the time I jumped up to industrial age, I noticed the Egyptian cities were producing 4 out of 8 and 6 out of 10 possible shields and only losing about 40% or so to corruption, when they started out producing the usual 1 shield/gold each.

    So it takes a while but apparently courthouses do help.

    This was large archipelago map with the patch, btw.
     
  14. GTCiv

    GTCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Brasil
     
  15. muppet

    muppet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Igloo
     
  16. msrsb

    msrsb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Just wondering if anyone has asked why Firaxis chose corruption to be so high? Remember that they claim to have tried to balance the game as much as possible.

    My theory is that corruption means that you can't simply spread out so much anymore and have superproductive cities to simply overwhelm your opponents with tanks/high attack units. If you could do this, you would end up with an end-game which inevitably ends up like Civ II - overpowering your opponents with stealth bombers and tanks.

    Personally I think corruption is fine. My solution, on Monarch level, is to change to 100% commerce when I get the chance, and buy courthouses, policestations and possibly factories for all outlying cities. This brings their production up to acceptable levels, acceptable being that they might produce an odd improvement/unit now and again. WLT* days also help, and are easy to implement in the usually small outer cities.

    Think of how boring it would be if they were super-productive! It'd be non-stop blitzing with 100's and 100's of units...
     
  17. eyrei

    eyrei Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    9,162
    Location:
    Cary, NC USA
    Resurrect!
     
  18. BillChin

    BillChin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Hey Eyrei, what happened to your March GOTM? Zachriel did an excellent job, though did have 40% corruption in an outlying city even with a space victory and near optimal placement of the palace and Forbidden Palace.

    I am wondering how your game went because you posted that you would try it. You posted notes about a finished Emperor level game, so obviously had enough time to play and finish a small map Monarch level game. Just curious and following up.
     
  19. eyrei

    eyrei Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    9,162
    Location:
    Cary, NC USA
    I have til the 31st right? I just really do not relish playing the Americans. There are so many other civs that are much cooler. Thanks for the reminder though.
     
  20. GTCiv

    GTCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Brasil
    >overpowering your opponents with stealth bombers and tanks.
    my path was by stealt MIG and paradroper ... hehehehehehe

    >My solution, on Monarch level, is to change to 100% commerce
    > when I get the chance,
    how can i do it ?

    >WLT* days also help, and are easy to implement in the usually
    >small outer cities.
    what do you prefer to use ??
    luxuries by taxes or specialized citzens ??

    tnks for your help,
    GersTree
     

Share This Page