1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Poor interface

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by anatoliy, Oct 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. anatoliy

    anatoliy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Another annoying decisions:
    • Wonder movie cannot be closed neither by Esc, right click or Enter. Hunt for X button instead!
    • Over centrist and long trivial Diplomacy cinematic conversations. Just shut up and get to the point. Pressing Esc just makes them shut. But after a sec ONE button "OK" will slooooowly and fashionly emerge )))
     
  2. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    You probably got the boost from a tribal village reward.
     
    need my speed likes this.
  3. ond_magiker

    ond_magiker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I find the lack of keyboard shortcuts to be disturbing.

    (Looks for the Force choke-shortcut)
     
    narmox likes this.
  4. Giorsoine

    Giorsoine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Yeah I really miss the center on unit shortcut key. Every time I press C now I get the civics tree. Annoying as hell.
     
    aggri1 and comatosedragon like this.
  5. PendragonWRB

    PendragonWRB Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    My list of UI shortcomings so far:

    - Tribal huts are all but invisible
    - No notification of city growth (I want to micro manage that)
    - Map scroll is unusable due to interaction with menus (it should not scroll if your mouse is anywhere near the menus)
    - Font is WAY to small, there should be larger version available at all resolutions
    - Hardly any right click to Civilopedia links
    - Please don't play the leader introduction EVERY time I load a game, just the first time I start the game
    - Tile growth status and next tile targets completely missing (THIS IS A MAJOR FLAW)
     
    grandad1982 and comatosedragon like this.
  6. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    I mean, the alternative is just a boring loading screen. Is that really better?
     
  7. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    Yes, because it'd have no voice narrating words again and again when I'm trying to do something else.
     
    Nathair likes this.
  8. Jeckel

    Jeckel Great Reverend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    No. A good GUI designer would tell you to put all related data on the same screen. Yes, organized data is better, but that is kind of the point. Having related data hidden behind multiple clicks isn't organized.

    ^ This. This right here. I don't know if the professors and teachers aren't doing their job right, if it is the influence of mobile popularity that is causing the loss of basic desktop practices, if the drive to look fancy is overriding common sense, or a combination of those and other factors, but interface design has gone to the dogs this decade. It is all sliding panels and fade in/fade out popups with things buried behind multiple clicks when one full screen or dialog box would be much cleaner, clearer, and real estate efficient. Fingers crossed that the pendulum swing reversal only takes 5 years and the pendulum doesn't simply fall off and continue on this downward spiral.
     
    narmox, need my speed, genyl and 3 others like this.
  9. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
  10. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Okay. Overall, a much better experience than the CIV V launch. But I still agree with most posters in this thread about the following negative things:

    * No Unit List :nono:
    * No UI Upscale for 1080p :undecide:
    * No 'back' button in the civilopedia :nono:
    * Civilopedia not accessible from main menu (just like civ V launch) :nono:

    and a couple other minor (so far) things also. But the game does so much right (IMHO), that I am able to overlook these small issues, as long as things are fixed in a future patch(almost no doubts there).
     
    Nathair likes this.
  11. Grotius

    Grotius Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    409
    I agree with most of the UI complaints, and I agree that they're mostly minor annoyances.

    My top complaint is the general lack of hotkeys. My #2: more links in the Civilopedia.
     
    Nathair likes this.
  12. beorn

    beorn Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Albion, NY
    Game is certainly fun, I have a very positive first impression.

    But scrolling will not work at all for me, not at the edge of the map, not at the edge of the screen. This is very annoying.
    I've seen many of the other things listed above, but the only one I don't think I can get used to is the lack of notification that a city grew. Seems important to me.
     
  13. skyclad

    skyclad Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Beorn make sure you have the scroll enabled. For me it was disabled by default. Still doesnt work that well as you can read in this thread though :)
     
  14. RedRover57

    RedRover57 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,014
    I don't know if this has been mentioned already, but the unit movement is making me nuts. In addition to the auto-cycling issues (which is stress-inducing) it's also a pain to have to click on the move unit button in the lower right in order to plan out your best travel route. Plus, it will often show that you can move to a spot in one turn and after clicking your unit stops midway because some other factor wasn't taken into account with regard to your ability to move that distance. And it's annoying to have to click an additional button to end your turn for a unit when it can't move further (like onto a hill after already moving one tile). Maybe I can hotkey some of these things and I don't realize it yet, but right now I seem to be having to use way more mouse clicks per turn than in Civ 5.

    Edit: I was able to hotkey away most of these issues. It's not as smooth as Civ 5, but tolerable. The auto-cycling is a pain however, particularly when the screen jumps to the next unit before the previous unit was finished with its move.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
    comatosedragon likes this.
  15. genyl

    genyl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38

    I develop front end and take pride in building functional applications. I have been using computers for 30 years and my knowledge comes from experience.

    In the recent years there seems to be a new job called "User Experience designer" and probably something more strambotic and pompous like "UX master facilitator"

    Then your boss eats the bullfeathers and calls one of this "experts" to improve the UI. It doesn't matter that the users are happy with the app, the important thing seems to be creating a beautiful , albeit unusable, app to show it to the big bosses in meetings. As important of destroying the usability of an application is to drop as much buzz words as possible: breadcrumbs, user path, colour pollution, hicks law...ffs they are talking about "pinkies" now

    All this being delivered by an "expert" who is a young girl that has read a few books and uses whatsupp to chat with her mates.

    End result: massive efforts done in a massive development project like this being massively let down by the decissions of an unqualified junior
     
  16. Sic

    Sic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Are you kidding?

    It is several orders of magnitude better. Not only is it better in terms of not hearing the exact same soundbite over and over, it is better because it won't make the start of a new game tedious even before it starts. The opening screen is supposed to be an event. Right now, it is getting watered down by being shown every single time you load a game.

    It's not a bad idea to have the "features and abilities" of a civ listed when you load a game, but the rest should not be there at all. Not the "start quote", and not the "leader quote". It's extremely tedious.
     
    Nathair, narmox, Jeckel and 2 others like this.
  17. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Just realized/noticed two other things to add to my list:

    * No Hall of Fame (that I can find. Do you have to finish a game first?) :nono:
    * Can not adjust the number of City States (actually, the whole 'Advanced Setup' screen is lackluster) :shifty:
     
  18. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Overall I think the UI is pretty damn good. There's lots of info (nearly on par with the better UI mod for 5) and it's unobtrusive (I like how dealing with cities isn't a major transition for ex).

    But I do have issue with:
    - WASD is now pretty much standard for moving the camera and should be in the game.
    - the unit cycling is brutal, particularly how it cycles after you click on a unit that has movement/actions available, and the fact that it cycles seemingly randomly instead of to nearby units (most annoying when warring)
    - lack of 'w' wait key is annoying (I unbound whatever screen was tied to 'w' to preserve sanity)
    - tooltip delay, inconsistency in tooltips popping up, and lack of an option to change tooltip delay is annoying
    - ESC key behavior is unintuitive at times (popping game menu when you think it should close a popout/popup)
    - City State popout is less smooth than I think it could be or I'm using it wrong (would like that clicking something on the list would put the bonus summary at the bottom without having to fully click into a full city state info panel that has no quick way back to the list)

    None of this is even remotely game breaking to me as the game is pretty damn amazing overall, and some things me and/or others will complain about is personal taste.
     
    comatosedragon likes this.
  19. Gin-san

    Gin-san Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    - When you Press "M" to see the the movement costs, pressing "M" again doesn't close it. You have to click on the tile you're standing to cancel the arrows. very annoying.

    - There's no keybind for "Show/Hide Yields". You have to do it every time manually with the mouse.

    - Too many clicks needed to open citizen management. First you have to click on the city and then the management button.

    Not trying to be picky, but those were all features that were in Civ V and made the game a lot more comfortable.
     
    grandad1982 likes this.
  20. Esperr

    Esperr King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Users beware, if you attach to units together and then upgrade one of them while garrisoned in a city, the game will tell you a unit still needs orders but wont show you where. This confused me for a while, had to restart and reload the game several times before I figured out it was referring to an awoken battering ram that had been sitting idle for thousands of years.

    Also, edge scrolling man. Its 2016. Other then that, great, awesome game.
     

Share This Page