1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Post map requests here

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by strategyonly, Nov 7, 2006.

  1. The_Mess

    The_Mess Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Heh if only the game engine could be hacked to use multi-core CPU's...

    Thanks for the answers :)
     
  2. el_hidalgo

    el_hidalgo Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Would a cut-down of the standard (Rhye's) earth map work? I can do this for you. I'd also be willing to make a new map, but it would take me a long time, so you'd have to have patience.... I can do a cut-down in a day though.
     
  3. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    No,sorry,Rhye's map is way too small.
    I already started trying making the map myself (along with a new,secret project),but I'm not great at making maps.
    If you want to make that map,I would really appreciate that.
     
  4. el_hidalgo

    el_hidalgo Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Let me see what I can do. It would be about 100x70 in size, same scale as my Europa Ultima map. Would that work? Actually if you look at my Europa Ultima map you can see exactly what the Caspian region would look like. I would use that as a starting point and build east from there.
     
  5. Kublai-Khan

    Kublai-Khan Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Argentine
    Could it be that there is no east asia map for civ beyond the sword? I couldn't find any
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,703
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    The maps are not really version dependent, so you can use the east asia map for vanilla ;).
     
  7. Kublai-Khan

    Kublai-Khan Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Argentine
    I bought Civ 4 from Steam but only downloaded BTS, do I have to download the first version in order to be able to get that map? or can I find it here. Thanks
     
  8. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,703
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Ah, sorry, no, there's no such map in the game included, but we have some maps for the base game here, that's what I meant.

    Please check this or this map.
     
  9. Kublai-Khan

    Kublai-Khan Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Argentine
    Thanks a lot!
     
  10. PopeGeorgeRingo

    PopeGeorgeRingo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    This is pretty simple, but MapView is giving me trouble. Would somebody be able to cut down Rhye's bigger Earth map (The one in RFC, not the one in the regular game) to the image enclosed?



    18 players, for BtS. No wrapping.

    Thank you.
     
  11. el_hidalgo

    el_hidalgo Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I've never had luck cropping maps with MapView or any other map-making program. I find MapView very useful for creating a new map of a given size, but after creating a blank canvas, so to speak, I then switch to World Builder to do the actual tile work.

    I can tell you how to crop this map in Notepad++ if you don't already know. It's not hard, just tedious. It would probably take less than an hour to do it (I'm guessing, I've never timed it!). I have some regular expressions I use to make it easier (but still tedious).

    It would kind of take a lot to explain in detail, though, but I would be happy to do so if you want/need me to.
     
  12. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    Somewhat specific request;

    I'd like to get a Huge Europe map, usable in Realism Invictus. This mod can't use other custom made maps, perhaps because it contains special resources I haven't seen in other mods or vanilla BTS.

    Ideally, it would be nice to find a map at least 100 x 150. If I could just get an outline/coastal map w/rivers placed, I'd be happy to fill in the terrain features.

    RI is a well-made, historically accurate mod, and with a good map, some quality scenarios could be created pretty easily. As for what constitutes "Europe," what I'm aiming for is a map that contains the British Isles, the southern parts of scandinavia, a good portion of European Russia, the entire fertile crescent, and only the most northern parts of north Africa.

    If there is one out there already, or someone is up for this effort, please contact me via PM and I'll relay an email address.
     
  13. Jabarto

    Jabarto Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,025
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    Tell me, would a projection like this work for you?

    Spoiler :


    Because if so, I might be able to help you. I cropped this picture some time ago planning to make a map with it (with dimensions similar to yours). If nothing else, I could probably make an outline+rivers fairly easily.
     
  14. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    JBarto, The map projection you displayed is excellent, and the uncanny thing is, I'd given up on trying to find a map with the kind of "tilt" that is in this map; the east-west axis is tilted to the "left." I very much like this map, and its tilt, because close cropping of north Africa can remove a lot of area that was not historically active, i.e. the Sahara.

    The stumbling block that I've encountered in attempting to create a useable map for RI is the number of "teams." Hope that helps.
     
  15. kensington888

    kensington888 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    does anyone know of any maps with todays civs?i dont mean a world map with all cities.i was looking for something like earth 18 civ map with the likes of maya,aztec replaced by brazil or argentina.just an example.thanks again.
     
  16. freethink

    freethink Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Great Light House
  17. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,703
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Not sure what you mean, but if it's just about maps, then one similar to #1 can be found here.
     
  18. freethink

    freethink Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Great Light House
    it is (or was) right here on the English Forum.

    And there were three civ maps I believe that had cities and civilizations added to them ready to play
     
  19. deep64blue

    deep64blue Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    I've been searching but can't find this anywhere - is there a script that will guarantee you will get the resources you need for your UU? E.g if you're the Egyptians you have Horses nearby, if .
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    That would be a mapscript thread you need to ask that question in, thx.
     

Share This Page