1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Post your AI benchmark score

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by MrMorph, Feb 16, 2018.

  1. Larsenex

    Larsenex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    Ventura CA
    I7 8700K OC'd to 4.7
    32 Gig PC 3200
    GTX 1070 8 gig
    Samsung M.2 256 gig <windows
    Samsung 850 evo 500 gig < games

    upload_2018-4-5_20-21-41.png

    upload_2018-4-5_20-19-38.png
     
  2. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,590
    Well they do have processing power and GPU's have come a long way. When I ran the graphics utility GPU Z it was showing the higher levels of RAM were not being used.
    Seems most of the benefit is CPU and RAM speed once you are over the thread limitation. While the test runs with 30 or so threads they are not all thashing CPU at once I guess due to the turn based nature of the game so needing 8 threads seems more important than needing 30 and then its about speed.
     
  3. blackbutterfly

    blackbutterfly Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Interestingly, the benchmark for turn time has (almost) exactly halved since last year. Performance has basically doubled, which as you may know is quite rare even for threading apps. (Few real world applications scale linearly with the number of CPU/threads: graphics rendering being one).

    Coincidence?
     
  4. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,590
    Well its understanding what the threads are doing and appreciating that threads are not cores. My job is performance in the world of SAP and sometimes turning off hyperthreading makes things work faster but thats more due to single threaded actions.
    as for the coincidence ... yes ... also mine has not halved (I posted my old values with my stats)
     
  5. caperjoe

    caperjoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    1800X @ 3.9
    16GB DDR4 3200
    XFX 7970 and Gigabyte HD 7950 Crossfire
    Water cooled custom loop (on CPU)
    Windows 10 64 bit

    AI - Average Turn Time 12.83
    Graphics - 22.437 ms Av. Frametime
    26.741 ms 99th Percentile.
     
  6. LuckyAC

    LuckyAC Immortal

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    569
    i7-2760 at 2.8
    8 GB RAM
    NVS 4200m

    40.63 - but I had some browser windows running, with a streaming video, and was also watching a video in VLC - don't know if that has any effect
     
  7. GrimSk

    GrimSk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    i7-8700k @ 5
    16 G RAM @3000
    GTX 1060 3G

    Average Turn Time : 12.97

    Average Frame Time : 6.764
    99th Percentile : 9.062

    It seem that my "bad" graphic card doesn't slow the game too much.
    I'm waiting for the new gtx 2080 to be out, I'll try it again.
     
  8. leckig

    leckig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    hope to get more Ryzen scores.

    My intel 2500K:
    16.8 on DX 12 and 18.8 on DX10

    My Dell XPS 13 laptop (2018 model) is 31 dx12 and 30.5 (dx10)
     
  9. 3 EMS

    3 EMS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NC
    This thread has me wanting to replace my 4790.
     
  10. PostConsumerWat

    PostConsumerWat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I'm trying to find more benchmarks comparing my 4670K to the newer processors as it sometimes fills the void of boredom...how much smoother could it beeee??? ;p
     
  11. 3 EMS

    3 EMS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NC
    Honestly I don't think an upgrade would do much for me. Unless my needs change. The cost would be expensive as heck since I would need a MB and new kit of RAM. I am anxious to see if the 9900 series offer much. I just don't think they will. 5ghz is as fast as it's going to get. Then again, I don't want to fall too far behind in tech.
     
  12. cooltronic

    cooltronic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    MOBO:
    MSI Z170A PC Mate (MS-7971 with modded BIOS for Xeon CPU)

    RAM:
    4GB DDR4 2400 Micron
    8GB DDR4 2400 Crucial Ballistix

    GPU:
    MSI AMD HD 7770 1GB (R7770-PMD1GD5)

    SSD:
    Intel 535 480GB SATA3 (Windows & Game)

    CPU:
    QuadCore Intel Xeon E3-1240 v5

    AI Bench:
    From 14.9 to 15.0

    civ_6_ai.png

    GFX Bench:
    Average frame rate 20.379 ms
    99. percentile 24.645 ms

    civ_6_gfx.png

    My recommendation is to install Civ 6 on SSD, because load of big save game was about 2x-4x faster.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2018
  13. Civ Miers

    Civ Miers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    A little more Ryzen data for ya!

    CPU: Ryzen 5 2600X - Stock clock

    RAM: Crucial Ballistix (1x8) DDR4 2666mhz

    GPU: Gigabyte GTX1060 6gb - Stock clock

    SSD: Gigabyte 512gb

    DX12

    AI test; average of 5 runs: 14.2 sec/turn
    GPU bench: clippy'd Sid Meier's Civilization VI (DX11) 11_9_2018 4_50_45 PM.png

    Almost wanna try it on my fiancee's A8-9600 r7 APU setup :D
     
  14. alumarventrue

    alumarventrue Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    AI Benchmark
    CPU:
    Ryzen 1950x Threadripper @ 4.05ghz on all cores
    GPU: Nvidia GTX Titan V 12GB HBM2
    RAM 64 GB
    Result 11.53

    Running Video Result - peak fps 131
     
  15. Bocelli

    Bocelli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    i5-8500
    16GB (2x8) 2666Mhz DDR4
    AMD 7850 2GB

    A whopping 18.54sec on the AI benchmark.

    ....which seemed horrible given this CPU's reputation. So I set the graphic sliders to the left and...

    13.34sec.

    Makes sense of course since the graphic engine is running. The flip side is that comparing results requires much interpretation.

    Interesting is that during benchmark none of my 6 cores get pegged. They all load roughly 50%.
     
  16. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,590
    It runs about 36 threads. A thread for each civ so things like thinking can be done more in parallel,a core logic thread seems the busiest overall and threads for certain graphics by the looks of things. It’s this multi threading that spreads the load. More civs would mean more threads and a graphics slider difference shows you get GPU bound.
     
  17. ggalindo001

    ggalindo001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    234
    I download the patch, but not GS yet.

    Quickly ran AI Benchmark.

    Went from 13.6 ish sec/turn to 7!

    It looked a lot faster and crisper.

    Well done Firaxis. Hopefully this carries forward in GS.

    Either that, or maybe the kitty cats are speeding things up in the system.....
     
    Noble Zarkon and DWilson like this.
  18. AmtrakQuebec

    AmtrakQuebec Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    You know that place by the other place...
    It must be the cats, they are so much more awesome than dogs...

    Smithers: People like dogs, Mr. Burns.
    Burns: Nonsense, dogs are idiots. Think about it Smithers, if I came into your room and started sniffing at your crotch and slobbering all over your face, what would you say?
    Smithers: Umm...if you did it, sir?
     
  19. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,903
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    According to the patch notes there have been several optimizations to the Graphics and AI so I thought it'd be worthwhile to run the benchmarks again. There's also two new benchmarks specifically for GS.

    CPU:
    i5-4690k (4.5GHz o/c)
    GPU: GTX 1060 SSC 6GB
    RAM: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
    API: DX12
    -----------------------------------------
    Average Turn Time: 7.26 (Down significantly from 13.57)
    -----------------------------------------
    Graphics Settings: High
    Average fps: 59.59 (Marginal improvement over 58.76)
    -----------------------------------------
    Gathering Storm Average Turn Time: 38.71 (What the frak! I need to look into this more 'cause that's just insane.)
    -----------------------------------------
    Graphics Settings: High
    Gathering Storm Average fps: 46.82 (Ugh, I think I'm definitely going to upgrade to a 1660 Ti now.)
     
  20. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,740
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I have a similar experience on my MacBook. I don't remember the exact numbers, but GS turn times where 60ish, which I couldn't believe at first. So I started the old civ VI AI benchmark and forgot what it showed as a result, but it was only a fraction (12? 15? 17?) and I was somewhat relieved. Similar situation for the Graphics benchmark, although the gap wasn't that large in this case (~80 to ~60 I think). Also, the GS benchmarks took a long while to load (the whole text was read on the loading screen) and even when the game was finally loaded, it took like a minute until it actually started to play.

    Anyway, that means that for a mac laptop player like me, future era will be the most tedious civ experience ever. I expected that, but still a bit sad that it got confirmed. Not blaming anyone besides myself and Apple though, certainly not Aspyr.
     

Share This Page