1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Post your AI benchmark score

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by MrMorph, Feb 16, 2018.

  1. Krajzen

    Krajzen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Location:
    Poland
    I have a question guys, as I don't have time to do this yet, how does benchmark test work? You select it and launch normal game and check times, or is everything done automatically?
     
  2. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,663
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Automatically. It only tests a few turns late game. It's just like any other benchmarking program like Heaven Benchmark 4.0.
     
  3. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Done automatically. Select Benchmark and the benchmark test you want to run. The game auto-launches a late era game save and runs the test autonomously -- you just sit and wait for the results.
     
  4. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    Uh? I found it weird that the GS related AI results (bottom) were that high...

    Results(Benchmark_C6+GS).png

    The other (GFX) stats seem okay for this kind of PC;

    PC-HWinfo.png

    PS; Unless, it's the actual code that requires higher timing for the GS script!!?!

    PS2; Correction.. i had the Firefox browser (locked into this page!) running simultaneously to triggering the Benchmark testing ingame. DUH!
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
    Victoria likes this.
  5. Krajzen

    Krajzen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Location:
    Poland
    How is it possible that you guys have so much stronger machines than my PC and yet I get approximately 9 seconds average AI turn time in this benchmark? Is it because I test it on base game (no GS yet)?

    My PC:
    Intel Core i5-7300HQ
    8 GB RAM
    GeForce GTX 1050 iirc

    Or maybe turn time is impacted so much by hard drive tech? Because despite my not-that-powerful laptop specs it has particular type of very fast SSD.

    Or maybe its because I have quick move and combat? :p But such main menu benchmark test shouldnt be derailed so easily...
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  6. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    That's the new normal for non GS AI benchmark (6.5-9 secs). I get ~8 secs with an i7 4790 (used to be 14 secs pre GS)
     
  7. Krajzen

    Krajzen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Location:
    Poland
    Oh, okay. I am still very satisfied with those results then :)

    What are your results in graphics benchmark test? I get 29ms average on all settings ultra (13ms on lowest but still 1920x1080 resolution)
     
  8. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    That heavily depends on settings, but everything max I tested last Sunday and I got average 22 ms and 99 percentile 39 ms. Not bad for a GTX 760. From there I decreased settings to the point where I got excellent performance without noticing the decrease in quality; there I get avg 14 ms and 99 percentile 22 ms. Settled for those settings, don't notice any decrease in my 24 inch 1080p screen.
     
  9. Cymsdale

    Cymsdale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    396
    Does quick move/combat setting have an affect on this? I would think it has to based on some of these scores declared.

    EDIT: Doesn't seem to make a difference, must be graphic settings related.

    EDIT: Oh god, you're all talking about the non-GS benchmark. I get 30 seconds in the GS one and 7 seconds in the other. World's different...
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  10. pipi0404

    pipi0404 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    hi,gs benchmark has problem
    I can not finish the ai test benchmark with gs dlc,just showing please wait
    e3 1230 v3
    8G
    anyone like me?
    how can i do?
     
  11. BaronVonVaderham

    BaronVonVaderham Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    CPU Ryzen 7 2700x (have not bothered to overclock yet, it's been 1 day since upgrading after FX-9590 finally died)
    GPU GTX 1060 6GB
    RAM 32GB DDR4

    With graphics set to absolute max settings, I'm getting:
    Avg Frame Time: 7.976ms
    99th Percentile: 12.576ms
    AI Result: 7.75 seconds
     
  12. Tharayman

    Tharayman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First of is my little laptop. A Huawei Matebook X running windows10
    Intel I7 8550U
    16gb DDR4
    512gb SSD
    Geforce MX 150

    AI benchmark times:

    Average time: 9.19

    6.0512
    9.65765
    7.8938
    12.65238
    9.69159


    Then it is my old desktop running Ubuntu 18.10

    Intel I5 2500K @ 4ghz
    32GB DDR3 with aggressive timings
    256gb SSD drive
    Gtx1070

    Same test:

    Average turn time: 12.55

    I could not find the log file ;p



    So this means that my tiny, new laptop is faster than the old beast! This is kind of a shock to me... Could it be that Ubuntu is just very bad at running games? Or maybe Ubuntu is not as good at using the CPUs turbo function? Look into this I will...
     
  13. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,586
    Windoze has done a ‘dodgy’ job of managing threads is the likely answer.
    I do enterprise performance on something called SAP and the published benchmarks thrashing a high end server, same DB, same hardware, just different OS... Windows is outstripping Linux, especially with multi thread turned on.
     
  14. Tharayman

    Tharayman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    sounds like I will have to try setting up some dual boot arrangement then... I do not want to play on the laptop. The little fans inside go real fast and loud when it is pushed ;)
     
  15. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,586
    Dual boot is not hard and you then have the perfect test, I would be interested in the results, Civ may play a little different to SAP but SAP is still quite single threaded so ...
    The fans seems like an issue regardless... I personally think it’s the new particle graphics they introduced... Look at the @Zyxpsilon post above.. more meat, just not as spikey.
     
  16. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,908
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    About the "GS" benchmark being higher, it makes a lot of sense. Just look at the map between the two, one has just a few cities, 50 at most, the GS one has hundreds. One has the world in fog of war, the other fully visible. The GS is not working "worse", it's a new one they made for a more intensive test.

    Light AI test: 7.47 s
    Heavy AI test: 35.02 s

    RTX 2080
    i5 9600k
    32 GB
     
  17. Bagfran

    Bagfran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I was really interested to see this feature, as I've just bought a new gaming laptop and have installed everything up to and including GS (after being restricted to the base game + DLC on my iPad for the last month or so).

    Intel Core i7-8750H 2.2 GHz
    GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
    16 GB DDR4

    Light AI benchmark: 7.51 s (very happy with that - the AI turn times on my iPad were painful, even with a tiny map and a vanilla game!)
    Heavy AI benchmark: 44.17 s (interesting that it's a fair bit longer than Elhoim's result above, even though our light tests were comparable - probably due to my having less RAM?)

    I calculated an average of three tests for both benchmarks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  18. Haggbart

    Haggbart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Norway
    ASUS ROG laptop from 2014
    i7-4700
    16gb RAM
    GeForce 880m

    Light AI benchmark: 8,65
    Heavy AI benchmark: 59,23

    Just ordered a new MSI Titan laptop, with 8750 and GTX1070, should speed up things a bit.
     
  19. Bed

    Bed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Hi all, this thread is very usefull. I was wondering if i needed to upgrade my computer then i saw your benchmarks and i changed my mind and will keep my comp and upgrade later.

    Here is my conf : i5 3470, GTX 970, 8Gig of RAM and an SSD drive of course
    Graphic ultra :
    frame rate : 20ms (that's 50FPS)
    AI : 8,5 sec/turn
    Graphic minimum :
    frame rate : 8ms (that's 125FPS)
    AI : 8 sec/turn

    I was planning to upgrade to a i5 9600K with 16Gig of RAM but seeing Elhoim results i won't spend 500$ for almost nothing :)

    Great thread, thanks all.

    ps> heavy AI test is around 50 sec/turn on graphic ultra and 45 sec/turn in graphic minimum
     
  20. Basajaun

    Basajaun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Basque Country
    Hey there, just leaving here my little report

    Ryzen 5 2600
    2x16gb Kingston
    SSD Samsung 970
    RTX 2070

    Ultra settings overall running 75hz with vsync on @1440p

    Light AI test: 8,30 average.
    Heavy AI test: 37.53 average
     

Share This Page