1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    Ha..good question really. I don't know the details of the culture/tile mechanics, but I do know they get a bit more complicated or better convoluted with sea tiles. It appears that you have two Greek cities possibly culture pressing that particular tile. The Greeks must be really emphasizing culture at this stage, and have been for quite some time, to overtake that tile. Otherwise, I really don't have much to explain to you on my end.

    If you want to win by culture, then you should be in full culture mode. Doing so, should shortly get you back that tile as well assuming you have culture modifiers in Bombay.

    I would check the victory screen though to see where the top AIs stand in terms of achieving a victory. Like the Greeks may be very close to culture win, unless another AI has gone culture and doing better than them.
     
  2. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9,573
    Location:
    Chicago
    Also hover the mouse over the tile to see the % of each civ's culture of the square.
    Then increase your culture slider for a few turns and see if the % has improved in your favor.
    If not, then you can really assume they are in full culture mode.
    On tiles that I figure will be in conflict (or are important,) I'll check them every few turns to see which direction the % is moving to see if I have to change my strategy on keeping it.
     
  3. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    181
    I noticed if you go into your city and hit "1" you can cancel whatever you're building, and also store overflow before alphabet or currency. Is that supposed to be like that? I could see it being pretty useful if you're whipping a settler like 1-2 turns before pottery is done or something. Tried searching the forums but couldn't find anything about it.
     
  4. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    Finland
    Oh, that's pretty neat. All :hammers: built during "no-build" are lost though, but indeed that tactic is useful under some circumstances. Say very early game, your are putting your 1:hammers: into barracks or something because you have nothing useful to build. With no-build you can finish chops or store that settler whip overflow until you want to put it into something. Thanks point pointing that out!
     
    earthy likes this.
  5. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Just to let you know, all the number keys store a building queue. So if you have say barracks then axeman queued up in a city, you press cntl-1 then "barracks then axeman" will be stored in slot 1, and you can make any city build barracks then axeman by pressing 1. You have not stored a queue, so pressing 1 loads an empty queue.
     
    earthy and sampsa like this.
  6. TruePurple

    TruePurple Civ wanna B

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,110
    What are the hot keys for getting city placement grid with bug?
     
  7. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    181
  8. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    181
    does abstaining from a vote make a difference in how many votes are required for it to pass? like let's say four of us each have 50 votes and something would require 100 votes to pass. If I abstain with my 50 votes do the remaining three only need a total of 75 votes for it to pass?
     
  9. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    I don’t think It changes the vote parameters - just decreases likelihood of a candidate (edit: or resolution) getting requisite number of votes. Could be wrong. You could test it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2020 at 11:57 AM
    earthy likes this.
  10. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    It doesn't, it's just a way to vote No without getting any diplo bonuses/penalties for voting for/against someone. If Abstaining did reduce the votes required than diplo victory votes would be very broken indeed.
     
    SS-18 ICBM, earthy and lymond like this.
  11. SS-18 ICBM

    SS-18 ICBM Oscillator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15,230
    Location:
    Here and there
    Just like in real life. :lol:
     
  12. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,155
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    Here's a combat question - or maybe it's more of a scenario, or something I just don't understand. I've seen it happen many times - here's an example.

    I'm in the last stages of assaulting an AI city. I've bombarded the defenses down, suicided a bunch of Cannons/Artillery. Before the battle started, the AI had 30 defenders, I had about that many attackers (plus siege). 27 defenders are dead now.

    There are 3 defenders left: A Cavalry, damaged but still at 9/15 STR, and 2 badly damaged Riflemen (down to 2.4 STR each).
    I have 3 attackers left: One is a healthy Infantry, and the other 2 are Crossbows (yeah, I should have upgraded them... just ignore that part).

    If I attack with a crossbow, the Cavalry will kill it. But if I attack with the Infantry, trying to take out the top defender, one of the Riflemen will defend... and then my Crossbow(s) will lose to the Cavalry.

    Why, in this situation, does the top defender not defend against my Infantry? Does the AI know that no matter what defender it uses, the Infantry will kill it, and therefore it saves its best defender to fight my weaker attackers in the subsequent rounds?

    If the AI's combat logic is programmed this way, why doesn't the worst defender defend all the time? In most situations like the one I described, my top attackers - the Tanks, CR3 Infantry, etc - are getting 95% odds in the early rounds of the assault. Why wouldn't the AI save its top defenders against my weaker attackers, if they don't have anything that could stand up to my top attackers?
     
  13. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    AI always puts up its best defender against your selected attacker. It's not thinking about the next fight. Based on Cavs no defensive bonus, it still probably works out that the rifles mathematically have better odds against the Infantry, especially given whatever promos they have like possibly city garrison. Xbow vs. 9 strength Cav is poor odds but the Rifles may still be tough fights for the xbows. Regardless based on what you describe it seems obvious to me that the Cav would be selected against your Infantry.

    Anyway, some factors may not be readily apparent when AIs are on defense and select their defender each round, but it is always the best defender against the attacker or what the AI perceives as best based on defensive bonuses.
     
  14. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,155
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    That's what I thought too - but given that Infantry is +50% against gunpowder units, and that the Riflemen in question were just regular CG1 defenders and not Winnie/Toku Drill4/CG3 monsters, the math doesn't add up.

    I'll take a screenshot next time it happens.
     
  15. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9,573
    Location:
    Chicago
    While I have no proof, I've always thought the AI did consider the next one. Like when you're facing a healthy pike and an injured musket. If your mounted attacks, the pike defends but when your gunpowder unit attacks, the injured musket defends even though the pike is the stronger of the two left.
    I've seen this type of thing so many times that I refuse to believe that it's not part of the programming.
     
  16. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,155
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    I’m not one to believe that the AI “cheats” or that 99% battles are lost far more than 1% of the time. I’ve just seen this particular scenario happen a LOT. Usually it’s something like Cannon (immune to collateral damage, so at full strength) defending against Cuirs, instead of a redlined Rifleman doing the defending. Then when I’m down to my last few attackers – one Cuirassier and 2 Horse Archers, say – one of the redlined Riflemen will suddenly defend against the Cuirassier, so that the healthy Cannon defends against my next attack with a Horse Archer.

    And frankly, it would be brilliant programming if the AI did select defenders this way. I just want to know how it works. Has anyone found anything like this in the code?
     

Share This Page